We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position and comfort”
Review of Hotel Aquila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aquila
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good position and comfort”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in agood position. It si central But it is well accessible also by car. We took advantage of a convenient group rate for a summer week so we apreciated the very good quality of facilities (food, spacious room etc) for the price. The old fashioned style might not fit the taste of most international visitors but it is coherent the history of Cortina.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oikos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    38
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I had the immense pleasure of spending the New Year's Eve at Aquilla hotel. Everything was fabulous,the organisation, the Michelin star standard food,the wines recommended, the choice of music,the extremely reasonable price, but most of all, the amazing attention to detail and friendliness of our hosts, Sandro and Benadetta who went out of their way to make sure that everybody has the time of their life.
We unfortunatelly stayed in a substandard 4 star hotel called Hotel Park Faloria and I found Cortina D'Ampezzo, an overrated resort so spending the passing of years at Aquilla was the highlight of our trip. Thanx again Sandro and Benadetta for a wonderful time, and we wish you all the best.

Regards,

Dr. John Golumbeanu and family

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

This is the second time I stayed at this centrally-located hotel. There is a good choice at the breakfast buffet, including, ham, cheese, yourt, cereal, croissants and cake. (Alas, no fruit). The three-course dinners (plus salad bar) are of a high standard. The menu changes daily and there are three different first and main courses and a dessert of the day as well as fruit or ice cream. Our five year often did not want anything on the menu, preferring instead a plate of plain pasta or rice. Our waiter or waitress happily accommodated his whims. The rooms are tastefully furmished and have nice bathrooms. There is a small pool in the hotel in which my child enjoyed playing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CopenhagenFussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
170 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Every year me, my wife and some friends we go to Cortina in Italy to open the ski season during the vacation of 8th of December. This year some friends suggested us to pick the Hotel Aquila. This hotel is very
conveniently located since is at the beginning of the main road (only for pedestrians) of this lovely town on the Dolomites.

The main advantage of the Hotel is the convenient location along with the possibility to use their private parking, in fact when you arrive you drop them your car keys and they park the car for you.

As said in the title the hotel has old rooms (which are not too nice) and excellent new rooms.

The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
We have not had the choice to use their restaurant since we went out for dinner every night. BTW if you go to Cortina during xstmas or holiday periods always book your restaurant in advance otherwise it is
impossible to find place.

Breakfast was more than excellent with all the stuff of a continental breakfast requires

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dottorsocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#25 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti
Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia B...
#17 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquila

Property: Hotel Aquila
Address: Piazza Pittori fratelli Ghedina, 1, 63670251 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#11 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquila 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aquila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquila Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing