We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Pocol
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stop at Piccolo Pocol. Ingrid, the owner, is very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. She brought us a bottle of wine to enjoy on the terrace and even arranged for some our laundry to be done for us. She has all of the maps and information on the Via Ferrata (do Ivano Dibonna) and hikes in the area. We stayed in the "family room on the top floor and enjoyed a view, 2 very clean and comfortable bedrooms and a shared bath. Pillows were a bit hard and flat, but we encountered this at other places in Italy. Breakfast was very good with delicious croissants, breads, cereal, meats, cheeses, yogurt and fruit. Cortina is just a 5 minute drive away. Be sure to go to Rifugio Lagazuoi and hike back down through the one km. WWI Italian tunnel and also hike around the WWI Open Air Museum at 5 Torri just below Rifugio Scoiattoli across the valley. This entire area is absolutely beautiful. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Piccolo Pocol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 90 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while skiing. A lovely small remote hotel about 6km from Cortina up the mountain road. We had a perfect double room on the 2nd floor with balcony overlooking the mountains. The room was clean, quiet, modern, newly refurbished, warm and comfortable. The hotel only serves breakfast and this was plentiful, typical cold buffet Italian style. The staff were very helpful, polite and attentive. Ingrid the owner is a delightful lady who appeared to be always available to help. Her English is good. Our car diesel 'froze' necessitating a garage visit and Ingrid kindly drove us to the garage to collect the car. Nothing seemed too much for her.

I would not recommend eating in the hotel immediately adjacent to Piccolo. Our evening meal there was poor but on Ingrid's advice we ate in the Hotel Villa Argentina about 200m down the road. Excellent 3 course dinner for 20 euros. From the Argentina you can ski (in and out), hire equipment and buy lift passes from the nearest lift. No need for car or bus to transport to ski slope.

Would definitely return to Piccolo Pocol.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fish2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Piccolo Pocol was recommended by colleague or otherwise I'm not sure we would have noticed it in searching for hotels in Cortina. The staff was friendly, helpful and spoke english. The room had an amazing view and we enjoyed it along with the local beer. There were many choices for breakfast and the food was delicious. For dinner, we walked to the Pocol Hotel down the road about 1/3 mile.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Piccolo Pocol once was extension of Pocol Sport Hotel, is now a separate accomodation, with (very good buffet) breakfast but without restaurant. The restaurant of the Pocol Hotel is very recommendable and only 20 steps away. The beds in Piccolo Pocol were too hard for us, but for the rest everything was OK. Cleanliness impeccable. Host very helpful when we asked him to store some things during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed only one night here as we waited for our real hotel to give us the room. In Cortina at high season you book by week, so we were lucky to find a place to stay the first night!
Anyway this little and simple meublé seems to be a real gem and we're definitely staying here next year. Close to Socrepes and ski schools, spacious room and extremely spacious bathroom, very generous breakfast, and a super nice owner, a lady speaking also german.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We recently stayed in this cosy and comfortable hotel for 5 nights while my husband attended a conference nearby. The lovely Ingrid and her staff made us feel welcome from the start. The rooms are spotlessly clean, spacious and warm and the breakfasts are very good. One day we asked Ingrid to call a cab to take us into Cortina and she said "I'm going there myself shortly so I'll take you in my car".

The location for skiing is superb as you can almost ski straight out the door and the town of Cortina is about 15 minutes away on the regular bus (2 euros return) or taxi (16 - 18 euros one way).

Best feature - helpful, friendly staff
Worst - distance from Cortina if you're a shopper

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Wake up at sunrise and walk out on the patio to views that drop your jaw.
Ingrid and her staff are fantastic. She was extremely helpful in suggesting hikes that fit with the needs of all our group- young and old. Her suggestions for restaurants was spot on. Everyone agreed that the best meal that we had in our two week trip was a little place that she recommended. We never would have found this restaurant without her recommendation- who would have though that red beet ravioli would be so good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank q3wasdgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Pocol
Sport Hotel Pocol
#49 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
368 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#41 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Al Larin
Hotel Al Larin
#33 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Pocol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Pocol

Address: Loc. Pocol 48, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $85 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo Pocol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Pocol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piccolo Pocol Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing