We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Winter Wonderland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baita Fraina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baita Fraina
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this quiet hotel just outside of Cortina d'Ampezzo. A good set of snow tires is mandatory when visiting in the winter. Upon our arrival, we were greeted warmly and despite initial language difficulties we managed to settle into our new "home". Our room was spotless, the Alpine motif was delightfully simple and rustic. Even though lunch service was over, the staff was more than happy to provide us with a delicious bottle of prosecco and sandwiches to tide us over to dinner. This level of service only increased as our visit progressed. Dennis and Gennaro were amazingly friendly, knowledgeable and made our stay so special. Breakfasts in the morning were extra special with matrona Menardi taking care of us. We were spoiled. And because we were, we shall return next ski season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We moved here from a busy town hotel for our last 2 nights out of 5 in Cortina. What a perfect place. So peaceful, sitting in the afternoon sunshine, sipping a glass of Prosecco on the veranda ! We had lovely room, and balcony with great views.The breakfast was lovely too- excellent quality, served in a cosy room overlooking the mountains. We had lunch on the first day and it was so delicious we had our evening meal there on both evenings. We loved it !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nextwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of 16 day Italy trip. (September 15-16) Fantastic location, we prefer out of town and had car. Lovely rustic wood walls and country charm room with balcony facing sunset over Cortina peaks. Bathroom quite small but fine for 2 days. Adolfo is a great host and provided a lot of information and maps for our hikes and recommendations for dinner in town(5 Torri was excellent). Dinner in the restaurant on site was a true Italian/Austrian dining experience, highly recommended! The property is large and has 360 views, exactly what we wanted. Spent full day driving past Lago di Misurina to the toll road heading to Tre Cime di Lavaredo, hiking all around,(also don't miss the trail that goes away from parking area out on to the point), then back to Cristallo for the long, unique ride up the "beer can" lift for a spectacular and overwhelming view of the Dolomites. After a long day, back to Fraina, wine on the patio watching sunset over Cinque Torri...doesn't get any better! Would return here for lodging and to explore more of the area.
Thanks Adolfo! Gayle and Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikergirlgvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Baita Fraina was the first stop of our travels across the Dolomites and Switzerland. This bed and breakfast/small hotel was wonderful. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, and everyone there was most gracious and helpful, not only in the functioning of the lodging, but in meal service, and in recommending hikes for us to take. The hikes in Cortina were the best hikes of our two week vacation, and the food at Baita Fraina was wonderful. It was great regional food, lovingly prepared and served. They also have an awesome wine cellar, and great wines by the glass, to enjoy on the patio viewing the mountains. Clean and comfortable. Only drawback is that Garmin Nuvi (gps) could not find it. That is also a plus, as there was no traffic nearby. Once we found the hotel, it was easy as pie to find it again.

Room Tip: we got the suite, which gave us a ton of room to unpack and repack after hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derm_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Cortina. The B&B is located just outside of Cortina. The rooms are very nice and we had plenty of space in our room. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was very good. We also enjoyed the great food at breakfast and the wonderful service The Family who owns and runs the B&B and restaurant are very helpful. The area is vey quiet with great views of the Dolomites.. We would return here again and look forward to future visits..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amede0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been staying at Baita Fraina two times now and we want to return. Baita Fraina is beautifully located above central Cortina. The owners who run this charming little hotel are very friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfast consist of the very best that the region has to offer. The hotel also has a restaurant offering excellent food.

Room Tip: Room no 6 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

For a real quiet and superb accomodation in Cortina, that's the place to go. You'll need a car but it's near downtown, up in the outskirts of the city, with a really nice view of the valley and the Cinque Torri. One of the best restaurant in town and the breakfast was just what we needed before going hiking. Thanks to all the family for a very pleasant time in your paradisiac countryside!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome_Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#5 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirage Cortina
Hotel Mirage Cortina
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#13 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baita Fraina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baita Fraina

Property: Baita Fraina
Address: Localita Fraina 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baita Fraina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baita Fraina Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing