We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the Hill”
Review of Baita Fraina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baita Fraina
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of 16 day Italy trip. (September 15-16) Fantastic location, we prefer out of town and had car. Lovely rustic wood walls and country charm room with balcony facing sunset over Cortina peaks. Bathroom quite small but fine for 2 days. Adolfo is a great host and provided a lot of information and maps for our hikes and recommendations for dinner in town(5 Torri was excellent). Dinner in the restaurant on site was a true Italian/Austrian dining experience, highly recommended! The property is large and has 360 views, exactly what we wanted. Spent full day driving past Lago di Misurina to the toll road heading to Tre Cime di Lavaredo, hiking all around,(also don't miss the trail that goes away from parking area out on to the point), then back to Cristallo for the long, unique ride up the "beer can" lift for a spectacular and overwhelming view of the Dolomites. After a long day, back to Fraina, wine on the patio watching sunset over Cinque Torri...doesn't get any better! Would return here for lodging and to explore more of the area.
Thanks Adolfo! Gayle and Mark

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikergirlgvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Baita Fraina was the first stop of our travels across the Dolomites and Switzerland. This bed and breakfast/small hotel was wonderful. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, and everyone there was most gracious and helpful, not only in the functioning of the lodging, but in meal service, and in recommending hikes for us to take. The hikes in Cortina were the best hikes of our two week vacation, and the food at Baita Fraina was wonderful. It was great regional food, lovingly prepared and served. They also have an awesome wine cellar, and great wines by the glass, to enjoy on the patio viewing the mountains. Clean and comfortable. Only drawback is that Garmin Nuvi (gps) could not find it. That is also a plus, as there was no traffic nearby. Once we found the hotel, it was easy as pie to find it again.

Room Tip: we got the suite, which gave us a ton of room to unpack and repack after hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derm_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Cortina. The B&B is located just outside of Cortina. The rooms are very nice and we had plenty of space in our room. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was very good. We also enjoyed the great food at breakfast and the wonderful service The Family who owns and runs the B&B and restaurant are very helpful. The area is vey quiet with great views of the Dolomites.. We would return here again and look forward to future visits..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amede0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been staying at Baita Fraina two times now and we want to return. Baita Fraina is beautifully located above central Cortina. The owners who run this charming little hotel are very friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean and the breakfast consist of the very best that the region has to offer. The hotel also has a restaurant offering excellent food.

Room Tip: Room no 6 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

For a real quiet and superb accomodation in Cortina, that's the place to go. You'll need a car but it's near downtown, up in the outskirts of the city, with a really nice view of the valley and the Cinque Torri. One of the best restaurant in town and the breakfast was just what we needed before going hiking. Thanks to all the family for a very pleasant time in your paradisiac countryside!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome_Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our stay at Baita Fraina was very enjoyable. The B+B is located 
about 2km outside Cortina but it wouldnt be a long walk into town. The location is ideal for hikers because two of the well marked hiking trails that are all over the local area start/terminate right beside the building. This permits a nice walk in the morning of after dinner. Reservations for dinner are a must even if you are a hotel guest due to the popularity of the restaurant with the locals. If you find yourself without a reservation there is also another bed and breakfast that is located approximately 200 meters up the road that also has good local food. The family who owns Baita Fraina
is extremely nice and the breakfast 
is very good. Each morning we had an egg cooked to order. The rooms 
are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The maid cleaned our room every day and even folded our clothes. The English of the family is limited 
but if you speak slowly they are extremely accommodating and do their best to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
1.0 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#13 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rosapetra Spa Resort
Rosapetra Spa Resort
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
476 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Locanda del Cantoniere - Ciasa Vervei
La Locanda del Cantoniere - Cias...
#5 of 24 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Alpina
Villa Alpina
#3 of 24 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baita Fraina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baita Fraina

Address: Localita Fraina 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $126 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baita Fraina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baita Fraina Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing