We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hotel central in Cortina”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hotel central in Cortina”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has charm. Even in the summer where we stayed for three night it felt cozy. It is located right in the center of town where many other hotels are located on the outskirts of Cortina. On the downside the rooms are quite simple and the beds are not best. Breakfast is adequate by Italian standard, but be sure to ask for a real coffee from the staff and not settle for the machine in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
36
35
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a great central hotel, within a stones throw of 2 great pubs and a couple of restaurants, with friendly waitresses and bar staff. The manager helped us plan our via feratta routes and gave advice on which were safe due to late snow and ice on the mountains. The rooms were comfortable with pleasant bath rooms and decent beds. Continental breakfast was a little limited but was still plenty to set us up for a good days walking and climbing, We will certainly return even though it took me ages to work out the layout of the stairs, I kept thinking I was on the ground floor forgetting there was another set of stairs round the corner. PS This is not a complaint just a constant cause of amusement with my colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Perfectly located, beautiful hotel, very friendly welcome,
we have enjoyed many beautifu holiday stays over 15 years,
and look forward to continuing!

rooms are small, but the lounge areas are very spacious and comfortable, and the centro città location, close also to the ski bus, is unbeatable for a real Cortina feeling.

eva peter & her family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Describing myself as a ski addicted, I am sure that this hotel meets my expectations for my ski holidays:
1. Good value for money
2. Rich breakfast
3. Peaceful place to calm down after an exhausted ski day.
4. Free WiFi
5. Great location
6. Friendly staff

I would definitely come back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

There are no really "cheap" hotels in Cortina. Having said that this turned out to be a good value. Located in the heart of Cortina on the pedestrian mall it was perfect as a jumping off point for shopping, dining at any number of very good ristorantes and just being a part of the vibrant city life. The ski shuttle is within easy walking distance. We parked our car here without charge and drove to the lifts each day. The room was well maintained typical no frills ski-decor, the morning breakfast more than enough to keep one going through lunch on the slopes and the (multi-lingual) staff very helpful. I would have liked the availability of a hot tub, but that was not a deal breaker. Certainly I would stay here again given the opportunity. Doctor Z 2013

Room Tip: Either one chooses a hotel downtown with access to all that is CORTINA or one closer to the slopes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOCTORZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I had only 3 days to visit Cortina for the first time and to enjoy the snow activities. The location of the hotel was perfect, were the best restaurants, shops and the places to buy the skipass and to pick up the bus to the various snow facilities are located. You need no car to enjoy the city and the snow to the best, whilst we had one and parked at the hotel parking are for free. The wifi internet is also for free. The breakfast was also very nice and the service was perfect. I will be back there for sure.

Room Tip: We suggest to book a superior room. We made our booking at the last minute and picked up the simples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniella2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovre Eiker Municipality, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Meuble Royal is located in the city center of Cortina. Everything you need is just around the corner.
The staff is service minded and friendly.
We had superior quality room to a reasonable price. Breakfast is as expected for a hotel of this category in Italy.
Free WiFi avaliable in certain areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#16 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nord Hotel
Nord Hotel
#39 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pontejel
Hotel Pontejel
#38 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via della Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy 3 stars hotel with B&B treatment, situated right in the center of Cortina on the pedestrian area 100meters from the bell tower, in an historical building that dates back to 1700, ideal starting point to spend unforgettable holidays in the Dolomites, just a short stroll away from the nearest ski lifts (300 m.) and more important sporting facilities. It is also conveniently served by public transport and adjacent to the hotel there is a private extra charged parking with limited lots that can not be reserved. An antique Venetian style building dating back to 1700, owned by the Menardi Demai family, was transformed into a modern family run hotel in the forties. The hotel's proprietor Marcello Menardi, ski instructor and expert alpinist from the alpinist group "Gruppo Scoiattoli" is happy to recommend both winter and summer sporting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing