We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Good breakfast - free WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Great Location - Good breakfast - free WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Describing myself as a ski addicted, I am sure that this hotel meets my expectations for my ski holidays:
1. Good value for money
2. Rich breakfast
3. Peaceful place to calm down after an exhausted ski day.
4. Free WiFi
5. Great location
6. Friendly staff

I would definitely come back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pozzuoli, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

There are no really "cheap" hotels in Cortina. Having said that this turned out to be a good value. Located in the heart of Cortina on the pedestrian mall it was perfect as a jumping off point for shopping, dining at any number of very good ristorantes and just being a part of the vibrant city life. The ski shuttle is within easy walking distance. We parked our car here without charge and drove to the lifts each day. The room was well maintained typical no frills ski-decor, the morning breakfast more than enough to keep one going through lunch on the slopes and the (multi-lingual) staff very helpful. I would have liked the availability of a hot tub, but that was not a deal breaker. Certainly I would stay here again given the opportunity. Doctor Z 2013

Room Tip: Either one chooses a hotel downtown with access to all that is CORTINA or one closer to the slopes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOCTORZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I had only 3 days to visit Cortina for the first time and to enjoy the snow activities. The location of the hotel was perfect, were the best restaurants, shops and the places to buy the skipass and to pick up the bus to the various snow facilities are located. You need no car to enjoy the city and the snow to the best, whilst we had one and parked at the hotel parking are for free. The wifi internet is also for free. The breakfast was also very nice and the service was perfect. I will be back there for sure.

Room Tip: We suggest to book a superior room. We made our booking at the last minute and picked up the simples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniella2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovre Eiker Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Meuble Royal is located in the city center of Cortina. Everything you need is just around the corner.
The staff is service minded and friendly.
We had superior quality room to a reasonable price. Breakfast is as expected for a hotel of this category in Italy.
Free WiFi avaliable in certain areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent four nights here at the end of July while climbing the Via Ferrata in the area. The staff was fantastically helpful and accommodating. The hotel has a very cozy feel to it. The rooms are ski lodge style with exposed wood and ample storage space. The bed is very comfortable but to be honest after climbing all day anything horizontal is comfortable. Breakfast was continental style with some of the best croissants I've had.

The best point this hotel has going for it is location location location. Set smack in the center of town and the main walking street. It's a shoppers delight.

I did read a review on here saying the the staff was rude and never smiled but to the contrary every time I met them they were pleasant, spoke great english and were most helpful picking out routs for my climbing. At one point I was in a bind having soiled all of my climbing clothes and unable to find a single (non dry cleaning) laundry facility in Cortina, the staff not only cleaned and folded my clothes within a few hours but did it free of charge. I have nothing but mad love for the staff at the Hotel Meuble Royal.

Room Tip: Fantastic price from Kayak.com and probably one of the best values in Cortina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobyHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortina d'Ampezzo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family and I spent two nights at the Royal this July. It was our first time in Cortina, and we don't know the city, so I wanted a centrally-located place. Economy was important. Four of us were quite comfortable and not really crowded at all in a quad room. A comment by one reviewer mentioned that there was parking at the hotel, which was otherwise hard to come by in the city center, and that was also important.

Our experience was very, very good. The management could answer any questions we had about the city, and the reception area was friendly and professional. My only disappointment was that, upon arrival, I was told that there were no parking places available--all full--and that we would need to use a public lot. When I mentione to the person at reception that I had chosen the Royal partly because I had thought that parking was available, she made a quick decision, which meant that we could park our car but needed to leave our keys with her so that it could be moved whenever necessary, since it would be blocking other cars in the hotel lot. That turned out to work very, very well--since we didn't intend to use the car until we were ready to check out. So, all in all, we were very pleased with the Royal.

There are numerous restaurants in the same block as the hotel. It is just 5 minutes' (if that) walk to the bus station, where one catches the bus for transportation to the various nearby trekking areas. It is in the very center of lively Cortina. The breakfasts are great.

I would definitely recommend the Royal to anyone who wants a convenient, comfortable, reasonably-priced place in Cortina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#8 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domina Home Alaska
Domina Home Alaska
#36 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#48 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pontechiesa
Hotel Pontechiesa
#21 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Via Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy 3 stars hotel with B&B treatment, situated right in the center of Cortina on the pedestrian area 100meters from the bell tower, in an historical building that dates back to 1700, ideal starting point to spend unforgettable holidays in the Dolomites, just a short stroll away from the nearest ski lifts (300 m.) and more important sporting facilities. It is also conveniently served by public transport and adjacent to the hotel there is a private extra charged parking with limited lots that can not be reserved. An antique Venetian style building dating back to 1700, owned by the Menardi Demai family, was transformed into a modern family run hotel in the forties. The hotel's proprietor Marcello Menardi, ski instructor and expert alpinist from the alpinist group "Gruppo Scoiattoli" is happy to recommend both winter and summer sporting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#