We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent four nights here at the end of July while climbing the Via Ferrata in the area. The staff was fantastically helpful and accommodating. The hotel has a very cozy feel to it. The rooms are ski lodge style with exposed wood and ample storage space. The bed is very comfortable but to be honest after climbing all day anything horizontal is comfortable. Breakfast was continental style with some of the best croissants I've had.

The best point this hotel has going for it is location location location. Set smack in the center of town and the main walking street. It's a shoppers delight.

I did read a review on here saying the the staff was rude and never smiled but to the contrary every time I met them they were pleasant, spoke great english and were most helpful picking out routs for my climbing. At one point I was in a bind having soiled all of my climbing clothes and unable to find a single (non dry cleaning) laundry facility in Cortina, the staff not only cleaned and folded my clothes within a few hours but did it free of charge. I have nothing but mad love for the staff at the Hotel Meuble Royal.

Room Tip: Fantastic price from Kayak.com and probably one of the best values in Cortina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobyHutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
31
31
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortina d'Ampezzo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family and I spent two nights at the Royal this July. It was our first time in Cortina, and we don't know the city, so I wanted a centrally-located place. Economy was important. Four of us were quite comfortable and not really crowded at all in a quad room. A comment by one reviewer mentioned that there was parking at the hotel, which was otherwise hard to come by in the city center, and that was also important.

Our experience was very, very good. The management could answer any questions we had about the city, and the reception area was friendly and professional. My only disappointment was that, upon arrival, I was told that there were no parking places available--all full--and that we would need to use a public lot. When I mentione to the person at reception that I had chosen the Royal partly because I had thought that parking was available, she made a quick decision, which meant that we could park our car but needed to leave our keys with her so that it could be moved whenever necessary, since it would be blocking other cars in the hotel lot. That turned out to work very, very well--since we didn't intend to use the car until we were ready to check out. So, all in all, we were very pleased with the Royal.

There are numerous restaurants in the same block as the hotel. It is just 5 minutes' (if that) walk to the bus station, where one catches the bus for transportation to the various nearby trekking areas. It is in the very center of lively Cortina. The breakfasts are great.

I would definitely recommend the Royal to anyone who wants a convenient, comfortable, reasonably-priced place in Cortina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on short notice on Easter Sunday. Hotel was closing the next day, but you would not have known it, the staff were friendly and not just putting in time.

the room was fine - we got a small "suite", beds comfortable and bathroom. Each floor seemed to have a large common sitting room that looked over the square.

Nice central place, imagine in season it might be overpriced but I suspect that much is in Cortina.

Would recommend a stay, nothing fancy just nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atravellingiwillgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed there a couple of nights during Christmas Holydays, the location is good for bars and shopping but everything else is terrible... The employees are rude and they never smile. Arrogants at night when you get back from bars, or when you ask for you car. Fool of kids screaming soccer corus... It is full of other better hotels in Cortina! It's worth looking for!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanofon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels

Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Royal was somewhat average - the rooms were basic and the firm beds left a bit to be desired. On the plus side, the hotel has an excellent location in the center of town, they have parking right there, and the breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

I was a little worried about this hotel after my boyfriend booked it because I read that there were noise problems, but we were given a room (#6) that faced the back and it was extremely quiet. Since it was one of the less expensive hotels in Cortina's center I was worried that the place would be dinghy, but it was actually very charming and comfortable. I loved the homey feeling, the art on the walls, the big comfortable bed. Room #6 even has a little bit of a view of the mountains!

The only big downside for me of this hotel is that they have one of those instant coffee machines at the breakfast. That was enough to make us feel we would never go back (we both travel to Italy a lot and LOVE the big cups of fresh cafe latter you get in many hotels in the morning. However, after the second day we discovered that you can ask the women who work there for a latte and they will make you a real one in a back room. This is priceless information for coffee lovers like us. Once we realized that we had no qualms at all about this place. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of options and you could grab some crackers or an apple for slopes, too.

The only other downside about room 6 is that it has a shower instead of a tub, and a tub would have been nice after a hard day on the slopes. But overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#47 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#6 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#19 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#15 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via della Stazione 2, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy 3 stars hotel with B&B treatment, situated right in the center of Cortina on the pedestrian area 100meters from the bell tower, in an historical building that dates back to 1700, ideal starting point to spend unforgettable holidays in the Dolomites, just a short stroll away from the nearest ski lifts (300 m.) and more important sporting facilities. It is also conveniently served by public transport and adjacent to the hotel there is a private extra charged parking with limited lots that can not be reserved. An antique Venetian style building dating back to 1700, owned by the Menardi Demai family, was transformed into a modern family run hotel in the forties. The hotel's proprietor Marcello Menardi, ski instructor and expert alpinist from the alpinist group "Gruppo Scoiattoli" is happy to recommend both winter and summer sporting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing