We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb staff, service, at a nice close to town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lajadira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lajadira Hotel
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb staff, service, at a nice close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I'm surprised with the negative reviews because I found the staff at Lajadira Hotel to be outstanding. The concierge staff catered to all our needs and were truly outstanding. Sergei drove us from the hotel to the center of town, the ski resort, and back. Him and the other people who work at this hotel are truly fantastic! Granted the hotel isn't a 5 star hotel - it's not very fancy. We had to hold up the toilet seat when we had to urinate, but the service and the food more than makes up for that slight inconvenience. The home made pasta for dinner was out of this world. The breakfast spread was just as superb. And when we wanted coffee of any kind and a croissant during the day, the front desk would leave the desk and make it for us! A truly nice find and I'm glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiest21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    39
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
51
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Service was scatty at his best througout our stay (crammed carpark, icy pathway leading to the hotel, the most inexperienced and unhelpful night concierge you can find in a 4-star hotel). Our room was decorated with old furniture (beware - the website pictures are not a true reflection of the overall decor!) and had the smell of those old provincial guesthouses never renovated. The view from the window is the main road to Cortina, rather trafficked... Breakfast is served in the basement, by an overly friendly waitress who teases you into a €7 per glass orange juice (beware, she "offers" it to you!), which you'll find in your bill at checkout... To add to the discomfort, the hotel is some 3 kms away from the centre of Cortina. Avoid even if last hotel in town!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy_Auda_Fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

Just returned from an extended weekend with my husband and think the previous reviews were a bit harsh. To summarize:

Pros:
* Good service, friendly staff
* Large room with sitting area
* Decent en-suite bathroom (not overly luxurious)
* Quality restaurant with good service (breakfast included in our package)
* Didn't require entire week's stay - difficult to find this time of year at many resorts

Cons:
* No attempt to clean ice from property (I slipped and fell walking to car)
* Very large randomly falling icicles from the roof
* Not walking distance to town
* Not enough parking (staff had to move other cars in order for us to leave)

All-in-all pretty good value for the money - although not quite a 4-star hotel. Recommend renting a car to get around.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkWanderlust74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

Lajadira is a 20-minute walk from the town centre. Unless you need the exercise, that alone is good reason to find alternative accommodation.

Rooms are tired and the bathrooms are poorly laid out. We had no hot water on two of our three nights.

It's popular with Russians, particularly the kind who start corridor parties at 2am and end them just before breakfast. The management (also Russian) did nothing to help.

For the money, you would expect a well appointed, well maintained hotel with excellent service. There are lots of hotels like that in Cortina town -- give Lajadira a wide berth and stay in one of those instead.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Poor value, no hot water, remoteness from town, noisy Russians
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M4RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.7 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#19 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirage Cortina
Hotel Mirage Cortina
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lajadira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajadira Hotel

Property: Lajadira Hotel
Address: Via Riva 43, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajadira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lajadira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajadira Hotel Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing