We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capannina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Capannina
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you do not expect luxury, but a cosy, familiar atmosphere with a helpful staff, good value for price and a perfect location from where you have all points of interest in Cortina within walking distance, then hotel Capannina is the right choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    34
    19
    5
See reviews for
62
89
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Capannia in Cortina D'Empezzo in the Dolomite mountains. Our stay at the hotel got off to a bad start as we had booked our room through Venere.com and they had not told the hotel about the booking. However, the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful. They were very apologetic and embarrassed although the fault was not with them. They immediately phoned Venere and confirmed that we did indeed have a reservation fully booked and paid for.
We had booked for 4 nights but the hotel was busy and did not have a room for 4 nights. We were offered accommodation in their sister hotel but it was an hour and a half’s drive away and we particularly wanted to stay in Cortina. So we were given one night in the hotel's suite, better accommodation than we had paid for, the next night in two single rooms and the last two nights in a double!
This was slightly inconvenient for us and the hotel but it was a good solution to the problem which was handled with good grace by the hotel. The hotel itself is in a good location a short walk from the village. It consists of two chalet style buildings. One housing the traditional reception, dining room, bar and some rooms and the other new building consisting of lovely, spacious modern rooms.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel, which was included in the room price. An evening meal was available but we preferred to go to “The 5 Towers” restaurant in the village for a lighter meal. The hotel was very clean and good value for money and ,as you can see, the staff were great.
So, if in Cortina, stay at the Capannina!

PS take care booking through Venere.com as we had problems elsewhere on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Rustique but clean and with friendly service. The rooms are very basic with hard pillows and blankets. Sound travels very easy and the neighbours activities becomes also your experience. Breakfast is very poor. The persons working at the hotel are mostly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Staff were not helpful at all. Everything seemed to be too much effort for them to help you. Location good for the lift and bus but a good walk into town. Wouldn't rush back. Better hotels for the same money nearby

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easy_to_forget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heelsum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

3 friends had a nice short stay in this hotel, close to cable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hermanvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Nice hotel especially if you want to go with the family.
Rooms are confortable food is great and the price is really good. Hotel has parking and environment is quiet and ideal for a family, but I would recommend this hotel to to anyone.
Location is perfect for skiing and visiting the exclusive Cortina and dolomiti

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

Stayed here with my family. Cortina has very expensive hotel, this for the price you get is ok. The hotel is quite old and needs to be restored. If you book here ask for the depandance is much better and it is newer. Food is good and the hotel has parking. No internet service is provided. Good location for skiing as the ski bus passes in front of the hotel and the funivia freccia del cielo is only 3 minutes walking. The center of the town is in waling distance. The do not provide lunch.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottorsocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.2 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#18 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#5 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Pocol
Hotel Piccolo Pocol
#35 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#49 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannina

Property: Hotel Capannina
Address: Via Dello Stadio 11, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capannina 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Capannina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capannina Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing