We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maestro Maximus & Elise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Maestro Maximus & Elise”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you stay in Cortina, Hotel Barisetti is the place to stay. A charming hotel that is close to everything. Great food and excellent service provided by the owners Maximus and Elise. Breath taking views of the Dolomites from your room balconies and the sound of a mountain stream that is so beautiful right next to the hotel .

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_S658842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    72
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
71
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights en-route from Italy to Austria, the staff were friendly and helpful with advice as to places to visit. Food at the hotel was good and fresh. The hotel is situated a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and there are plenty of places to visit in the area. The rooms are not large but there was plenty of room with a small balcony, the only noise was from the river just below the hotel and birds singing. We visited in June and can't comment on the winter facilities but it makes an ideal base for summer walking holidays. There is no lift and we were on the first foor but the gentleman who booked us in carried the cases up.

Room Tip: First floor rooms, give good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The staff was incredibly helpful with establishing a WiFi connection, recommending places to eat, and with directions to discover the city. The rooms were simple but very clean and well kept. We only ate breakfast there and it was fresh with plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are larger but may have slanted ceilings which make it difficult for a taller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My two nights in the Barisetti were enjoyable and I'd recommend it to all my friends.
The hotel is very conveniently located about 200 meters from the Tofana cable car.
The room was good, hot water was plentiful and the staff very friendly.
Breakfast was excellent, with fresh croissants, fresh bread, good ham, cheese and salami + fresh fruit and the usual cereal/yogurt assortment.
Dinner was also good - nothing spectacular, but good solid Italian cooking.
WiFi was free when I was there, altho they seemed to be gearing up toward charging money for it.

Altogether, I'm glad that I chose the Barisetti. I didn't know about it before hitting Cortina and my instinct proved accurate in this case.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank imdfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was just looking to book a hotel in Cortina and I remembered this dump. Unless it's under new management dont even think of staying here. You have to walk across a large carpark to get to the lifts so why not stay 5 mins away at a decent hotel and drive to the carpark (it nearly always has spaces anyway). I think this was possibly the worst ski hotel I have stayed at in 20yrs sking. The Italian tourist board should deport Mr Barisetti to Kazakhstan where he can deploy his dodgey attutude to guests with impunity. Actually,I bet I could find better hotels in Kazakhstan to be fair.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seamus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is a total disgrace! To begin with they were incomprehensible about the price when we booked and we checked out with a massive argument about how much we owed. In the end Mr Barisetti agreed to accept what we thought we were supposed to pay but told us never to come to his hotel again! How's that for customer care! That is not to mention that whether you stayed in a room, a chalet (part of the hotel), twin room, double room, single room, whether you had a bath or just a shower - the price per person was the same! Furthermore, everything was extra: sauna, turkish bath, any variation to the menu in the restaurant. Boots warming rack did not work, heating in some rooms was over the top and in other didn't exist. One room had mould on the ceiling. Room cleaning was cursory to say the least: same wet towels on the hangers, despite being left on the floor to replace (as they ask), soap and shampoo not replaced, rubbish not taken out. To top it all Mr Barisetti and his hotel manager treat the place like their main residence where you are privileged to stay. This manifested in their "rounds" of the various parts of the hotel checking "what is going on". It included popping into the sauna when someone's using it, peeking into the chalet windows if there's light. There are quite cosy common areas at the hotel, but using them seems to cause the management a great annoyance, as they regularly remind about themeselves by appearing there and literally staring at you shaking their heads if you seem to spend too long sitting in the chair or using the cards table. Bar closing with the last customer? Forget it! I felt like I was a teenager again, with my mum watching my every step!

I was told Mr Barisetti is a keen Formula 1 fan, supports the Ferrari team and himself owns at least three of these magnificent machines. Well, judging by the way he runs his establishment, I can certainly see how he can afford them: it is a total and utter rip-off!

Coming to Cortina - yes, absolutely! Hotel Barisetti - stay well away!!

  • Liked — proximity to great skiing slopes
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Aykaramba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2005

Hotel advertised they have a steam room and sauna
when i came there they said i had to pay for it, reserve the specific time and date and only for 1 hour. i walked arounde the ski vilage and asked a fiew hotels that have sounas if they did the same thing they said no if we have a sauna u can us it any time no $
this was my 4th time in europe and i was disapointed
then our room was very cold i asked twice and every time they gave me an extra blanket. Then on our last day we were leaving at 4am so the day befour we took some yugurt and cookies to our room to have something in the morning. when i went to pay that eavning he charged me 3 euros per smal can of yogurt and 5 euros per bag of cookies i tryed to explain why, wuld not listen and pretend did not speak inglish
worst costumer service ever.

Helpful?
7 Thank extremskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraDolomiti74, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
General Hotel Services from 2009:

Free wellness center in the Hotel! We are only a few steps away from the Wellness & Beauty Centre, which has special offers for hotel guests
Internet Wi-Fi.

...and dont' miss
-Impeccable service is guaranteed from an efficient and cordial staff
-Romantic candel light dinner once a week
-Full buffet breakfast is included in the room rate - cereals, coffee, yoghurt, teas, bread, jam, home made pastries and cakes,fruit juices etc. Daily menu choice to 4 minutes, 4 seconds and 5 desserts, with natural ingredients.
-SKY TY
-Wonderful panoramic view on the Tofanes.
-Big solarium terrace with loungers
-Children's playground and a big park, where you can jog in peace and without danger.
-Ping pong room and new games room with pool table..
-Private garage. Mister Barisetti is a motor fan (he is a member of the club „Ferraristi Italiani") and is available for any of his guests needs. Euro 15.00 per day
-Bike Resort . There is a garage for bicycle and motorcycle riders, which is equipped with a small repair shop.
Wash service. - Mountain bikes are at the guests' disposal.
-Only a few steps away from the ropeway „Freccia del Cielo", for excursions or ski trips in the Tofanes.
-Skibus services across the street. Ski-room services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aquila
Hotel Aquila
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
380 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#18 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti

Property: Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti
Address: Via Dello Stadio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sport Hotel Cortina and restaurant is situated in the heart of the sports area of Cortina d’Ampezzo, conveniently close to the Olympic Ice Stadium, the Olympic bobsleight track, the tennis courts and the Tofane cableway. Surrounded by breathtaking mountain scenery, the hotel boasts amenities that guarantee a holiday of sports and fun in contact with nature… sauna, Turkish bath, playground, mountain biking, table tennis and garage. Every room has balcony, bathroom, TV, direct phone, mini-bar. Bouffet breakfast; lunch and dinner served in the restaurant with a choice of three menus. Traditional Ampezzo furnishings that have been carefully tended to. “We have been hotel-keepers for thirty years… The close attention to details, and respect for Ampezzo traditions is gratifying our customers.” “The aromas of our traditional Veneto cooking, our dishes and our service will be something for you to recall and want to repeat.” Our rooms come with all the amenities and comforts. “Much more than just relaxing”. Famiglia Barisetti ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sport Hotel Cortina - Famiglia Barisetti Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing