We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor and indeed quite a 'mirage' as its name suggests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mirage Cortina
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor and indeed quite a 'mirage' as its name suggests”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hotel Mirage in Cortina d’Ampezzo has been quite a disappointment. We stayed there with a large group and had booked several rooms. The hotel needs to make many improvements to be considered even a 3star.

The hotel is 4,5 km away from the centre of Cortina. It is quite far from any shops/bars/skiing slopes. It is quite isolated and difficult to get to/from unless you drive your own car. The famous shuttle bus offered by the hotel stops running by 7.30 pm. It also does not run between 3 and 5 pm. Not even once were we able to use it. We had either to use the taxi or our own car to drive every day.

For people that ski, the ski room has no proper lockers. If it is slightly pulled, any locker can be opened without a key. Furthermore, there are no facilities to leave your ski boots and to dry them. We had to take them into our room and dry them in our bathroom!

The hotel claims that it offers internet connection at a rate of 3 eur per 30 minutes. Throughout our stay we had no internet connection and the hotel staff informed us that ‘sometimes’ it works. The trick is that the hotel does not have its own proper wireless connection or any other connection whatsoever. The connection, which it recommends for its guests to use, is a municipal hotspot, which covers the whole Cortina, and at the Hotel this hotspot has very poor reception, to the extent that it cannot be picked up by any device/computer. In my view, the hotel has to make a change and state that it offers no internet connection.

The breakfast was not even 3-star. Very limited and poor choice: there was only 1 sort of cheese/ham/salami available which tasted like they were indeed the cheapest they could find. Practically no fruit available. Very basic cereal, a few croissants and synthetic cheap juices. The dinner was also disappointing for a 45 eur pp excluding drinks.

The swimming pool and sauna area need a renovation. The swimming pool has no lights underwater. There is water dripping from the roof, the isolation of the swimming pool is so poor that its smell spreads to the bar and the reception area nearby with lots of humidity. The hotel charges you extra 5 eur for a bath robe (rent!) and 3 eur for a little cap that you (must) wear while swimming (because your hair would block the swimming pool pipes and for hygiene reasons!) this was quite an ironic moment for us but still an annoying and disappointing experience altogether. The pool and sauna are open only until 7 pm!

I would not recommend this hotel for reasons listed above, including its location, no transportation to/from centre/slopes, poor and limited cuisine, poor facilities, unprofessional staff with poor command of English in general. The hotel’s strategy is to rip the guests off using every opportunity and so displaying a clear lack of hospitality and quality. Not worth the money they ask or the 4stars they claim to have.

In general, the staff need to improve their manners, there is clearly a lack of hospitality and they are completely unaware of what 4 star service means.

To note, in general the staff of the hotel barely understand/speak any English. This includes the waiters in the restaurant who are clearly unable to understand you or follow any of your questions during breakfast/dinner. This is quite unusual and unpleasant, when instead of getting clear answers and being able to discuss the menu, we had to use gestures and repeat ourselves many times before we could get an answer that was often incomprehensible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmartLabelPrinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmirage, Direttore at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
There are a few exagerated and untruthfull comments of the Guest.
The truth is that Hotel Mirage is only 1.5 km from the Town Center and not 4.5 km ( exagerated again) which our Shuttle Bus does every 30 minutes from 08.45 am to 7.30 pm ( excluding lunch Hours ), should there be an emercency we do not hesitate a Journey .The ski Room is heated , and it is not a safe , but every room has their own locker and key.
Concerning Internet the guest is right , we are awaiting the new Telecom system , but should a Guest be in need of internet in the Hall and Bar area Bluwireless connction always works.
Our head receptionist is Scottish , no problem for the english language and we always have the menu translated in English.
Could be that one of the waiters was not fluent in English , but one can make themselfs understood.
We are extremly sorry for this incident because we are always ready to help and give services to any of our Guests and this is one of our strong points which can be verified in all the other comments.........
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    79
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
145
57
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

I like this hotel very much. Our room was quite big with enough space for our kids. You should not expect anything modern there as the rooms are in Tyrolean style but this is more less it in most of the skiing resorts in Italy/Austria, unless you are ready to pay EUR 500-EUR 1,000 per day.
Great value for the money.
I will have to say that restaurant and the dinner is maybe the best part of the offer as the food is really great and they also have very good selection of local wines.
At the reception they were very nice and I must say the best English I have ever experienced in Italy.
The most interesting part of the year to visit Mirage and Cortina is on-around 13 January during the World Cup as you will mingle with Italian Ski Team which stays in this hotel for years…they are great guys.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vladimirdasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We decided to ski for one week and found this hotel on booking.com. At first glance it was not so bad. But after our arrival we were disappointed if not to say more. The manager was not prepared for the constructive talk and started to argue - we jast wanted to update the booking (split rooms), so they said no, that was unexpected. Then they asked us to pay for the whole stay before we checked in. Can you imagine, hall - our suitcases, we - pretty tired from the hard day driving - and they ask us for money and passports! Ok, now to the rooms. The rooms are pretty big and quite well furnshed - but not brand new. The mountain view is marvellous! One thing, they put a special aroma candle in every room - which smells pretty intensive - we even asked to change the room as my wife is really sensible to such things. Breakfast - poor, is one word. No porrige, no cottage cheese, burnt croissants, eggs and bakon - that is it. If you go for more than three days you will be fed up with eggs and bakon. They tried to cooperate and on the third day we got a porrige. The sauna is poor, swimming pool too. By the way you have to pay almost for everything extra in the hotel. No interent - just one hot spot with really poor signal. Generally we did not enjoy our stay!

Room Tip: Try to figure out and discuss everything, before you pay and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LokiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmirage, Direttore at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Google Translation
I clienti sono arrivati con un Voucher Booking Com N° 619283612che prevedeva il pre-pagamento dell'intero importo al momento della prenotazione , avvisati tramite email ci hanno chiesto di mantenere le coordinate della carta di credito a garanzia e che avrebbero pagato all'arrivo, e così è stato , al loro arrivo al momento del check in è stato effettuato il saldo , come da regolamento Booking Com. Inoltre la loro richiesta portata avanti con eccessiva prepotenza era di cambiare una Suite Comfort ( da 4/6 posti) con due più piccole asserendo che in tutti gli alberghi è normale cambiare la prenotazione e richiedere due suite al posto di una ....A questo si è aggiunta in maniera non troppo velata la minaccia di danneggiarci con una cattiva recensione se non fossero stati accontentati , di questo il Custom Service di Booking Com era già stato avvertito da Noi al fine di prevenire questa ripicca. Questa è la verità e lo testimoniano gli innumerevoli apprezzamenti sulla gestione molto attenta all'ospite in grado di offrire particolare qualità nei servizi ed in particolare nella ristorazione .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We choose not to rent a car for our recent ski trip to Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy. We were able to easily take the Cortina Express bus from the Venice airport and we were told by the hotel that there was a regular shuttle into town and ski buses to get to the ski areas. This was all true, but the hotel was a 30-40 minute walk out of town and the shuttle bus stopped running at 7:30 p.m., so we were forced to take a cab back from dinner every night. The one night that we couldn't find a cab, I called the hotel (as I had been instructed to do before we got there); I was initially told that there was nothing they could do because the shuttle had stopped running. I asked them to call a cab for us, which they did and we were able to get back without too much trouble. It would have been nice to be closer to the shops and restaurants instead of having to make every trip to town an expedition. The rooms were quite large and comfortable, with lots of storage space, although not elegant or upscale, as one would expect for the price we were paying. We only ate at the hotel restaurant one night and found it to be overpriced and not especially good. It is a fixed price menu, so if you're not really hungry, you still pay for a lot of food. One of the waiters put real pressure on us to order a particular wine and became very abrupt when we declined. The breakfasts were good. The hotel caters to families and there was a lot of hall noise and noise from the floor above, so even though it was out in the quiet country, it wasn't especially quiet. One reason we booked this hotel was because it had a hot tub, but we only used it once. It was a small portable, awkward to get into and crowded and we found the big bathtub in the room to be just fine. The staff was generally very nice and English was spoken.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Good service, nice hotel. If you rent a car from the airport you will really enjoy Cortina and your stay at Mirage. Is close enough to down town thus in touch with nature. I think is great in the summer :)
If you communicate with the receptionist and the manager, you will enjoy your staying.
Nice restaurant, good service.

I cannot get along with Italian program for anything (noon break and short evening). But I guess is ok for real sportsman (and women :).

Clean and cozy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We were a group of 18 people from 11-82 years - staying at the Mirage. We had a varm welcome by the lovely couple running the hotel and the service was great througout the whole week. Nice, clean rooms (suites), excellent food - nice touch with champagne on the house before dinner. Nice location of the hotel - close to Cortina center, but still nice and quiet with lots of outdoor space. If we ever come back to Cortina, this is the place we will stay. Love the place and love the area - coming from Norway, we are used to nice nature and mountains, but this was spectacular. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EirinBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

We booked a confort suite for 4. Accordingly to the hotel site we should get a 2 bedroom suite that could fit up to 6 people. It was perfect for me, travelling with two young girls.
The hotel sent a confirmation.
When we got to the hotel they didn't have the room and we had to stay in two separate small rooms, leaving two young children alone in a room in a different floor from ours.
We had a terrible experience in the hotel.
Don't recommed for anyone

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miragehotel, owner- manager at Hotel Mirage Cortina, responded to this review, April 17, 2008
This is to explain with more accuracy how we "honored" the reservation:
Hotel Mirage of Cortina doesn't any "small room": at Hotel Mirage we only have Junior and Comfort Suites, with a limted number of large double rooms.
The reservation was for 4 persons (two adults and two children) for a two- night stay (in Top Season) for one of our "Comfort Suite" (4 to 6 people occupancy). At time of check-in unexpectedly their suite was not available due to a request of longer stay from the guests occupying their suite: one of them was sick in bed and could not leave. So, at time of their arrival, since we could not give them the Comfort Suite, we gave them 2 Junior Suite (each with 2 to 4 pers. occupancy), so absolutely not a "small room". As per the client's registration, they stayed in Suite 204 and Suite 106 (each one of these Junior Suites are almost 40 sq.m).
We did apologize with them - and we still do, while at the same time we thought of giving them a better opportunity offering two suites instead of one, obviously at no extra cost. We understand we could not keep the family group all together and we are very sorry, but due to an unexpected 'emergency' case, we tried to do our best to solve the matter.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
1.0 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#19 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirage Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirage Cortina

Property: Hotel Mirage Cortina
Address: Via Pezie' 118, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirage Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mirage is a 4* Hotel located in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy, facing the spectacular peaks and superb scenery of the Dolomiti Alps mountains, which are known for being UNESCO World Heritage Site. The Mirage Hotel is only two/three-minute drive to the town center and its elegant shopping area. The short distance is served by the hotel's private shuttle service. Hotel Mirage' Services always included in the rates are: - heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna; - children entertainment (up to 10 years of age); - private shuttle service to town center (less than a 5 minute ride); - garage, free wi-fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirage Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Hotel Mirage Cortina Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing