We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base and restaurant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Locanda Ristorante Ospitale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed 5 nights here. The room was spacious, comfortable, quiet, clean and properly equipped. There was enough space for the luggage, cupboards and even a front hall (lobby) to keep shoes and hang overcoats.

We used the Ospitale as the base for our hiking/climbing trips in the area. It is close to everything, easy to go to different areas. There are even a few paths that start from the Rifugio. It is also close enough to Cortina. Own car is the best choice but it is possible to run a bicycle or hike there as well. It is not that far away. Bus stop is at the Ospitale actually.

The breakfast is versatile, fresh and healthy. It guarantees a nice start for the day. We had also a delicious dinner there one night. Definitely recommend you to do that.

The service is always friendly and polite and comes with a smile.

We will definitely stay there again if we ever travel in that area again. I'm pretty sure that we will becomes the Dolomites are so amazing.

Room Tip: We had a room on the road side, big room and nice balcon. There may be some noise from the passing c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were a little cautious reserving rooms at Locanda Ospitale. It looked nice and the restaurant sounded good but it seemed far from town and we are a family of five.

First, the setting was spectacular, you get sort of a refuio feeling right off of the highway. The rooms were updated, very clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly. And, with food like that you will want to eat in every night. The dinners were not cheep but were a great value. Some of our favorite meals in Italy. Breakfast was also generous and enjoyable.

We were worried about the remoteness; but, it was a short pleasant drive to and from town.

We stayed in two rooms at the north east corner of the hotel, they were connected by a small hallway that could be locked from the rest of the hotel. It was a perfect two room suite for a family.

By the way, we visited Cortina the last week of June. It was a little cold but, he place was quite and everything was open. It seemed like an ideal time to visit. There is so much to do. No matter how long you stay in the area you will wish it was longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms at the north east corner of the hotel, they were connected by a small hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed five nights at the Ospitale in July 2013 and ate most of our meals there. We can't say enough good things about it. Our room was tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean, large and filled with light. The bed and sofa were very comfortable. The meals were some of the best we've had and the service was friendly and relaxed. The wine list was well priced. It was quiet despite it's proximity to the road and it's a quick drive into downtown Cortina. There are many hiking and cross country ski trails nearby. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this refugio up the mountain from Cortina on our snowboarding vacation. The rooms are very pretty, large, clean, and good mattresses. The breakfast was fantastic and the start very friendly. Only draw back is that the hotel is above a very good restaurant. We stayed on the floor above the dining room and could hear some noise, although the extra doors helped some. The bigger issue was when we went out to eat in Cortina on a Saturday night and when we came back the restaurant was so busy we had to drive around for 15 minutes to wait for parking spaces to open up. I suggest you dine in at the wonderful downstairs restaurant on Saturday night instead!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed in hotel which is above restaurant for 3 nights and had food 2 times.There was big party of us, so we tried everything, and all the food was super. Main courses are priced 16-23 euros which for the quality you get is absolute bargain. Last evening we had birthday party, on which the staff surprised us with 3l bottle of champagne and cake free of charge. The family that runs hotel and restaurant,are one of the friendliest people i ever met.

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel above which is newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SandrineL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank martiturriniettore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
424 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#9 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
375 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Locanda del Cantoniere - Ciasa Vervei
La Locanda del Cantoniere - Cias...
#5 of 24 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rosapetra Spa Resort
Rosapetra Spa Resort
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
470 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gaia
Hotel Villa Gaia
#1 of 24 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
112 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#9 of 24 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ristorante Ospitale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ristorante Ospitale

Address: Localita Ospitale 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $146 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 12th century, Ospitale is one of the oldest lodges in Europe. Across the centuries, Ospitale has witnessed the passage of a myriad of strangers but also illustrious historical figures. Having being robbed and burnt, destroyed and bombarded, it has always been rebuilt, throughout the centuries, thanks to the enthusiasm of the local population. Today, this family run Alpine-style Rifugio is beautifully located at the heart of the Natural Park of the Ampezzo Dolomites and is easily accessible with only 10 minutes’ drive away from the Cortina’s city centre. In winter, it offers cross-country ski-to-door access and, in summer, hiking and biking scenic itineraries. It also features a very appreciated Michelin restaurant with outdoor seating. Spacious rooms at Ospitale include light wood furnishings, parquet floors, satellite flat-screen TV, a safe and free internet access. The private bathroom has free toiletries and hairdryer. Some rooms come with a balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Locanda Ristorante Ospitale Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing