We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for 1 night only.”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed for 1 night only.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night only. We were going to stay for 2 nights but the room was so small we left early. There is no air conditioning so if its warm you may find it hard to sleep. The staff were great very friendly and the breakfast was ok.
The room was very clean and well presented. You got a bed and enough room to stand each side of it. It was a shame the room was not a little bigger as I would have rated it 5 stars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrahotel, Proprietario at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for the compliments
See you again in Cortina, maybe in our bigger luxury room
Afrodite ?
Best wishes
Locandiera Elisabetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    55
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I have just completed the AV1 and as part of the trip stayed two nights at the hotel Ambra. We can not rate the level of service of the staff highly enough.
The hotel was ideally located in the centre of town which had plenty of of good restaurants.
All the staff were charming but special mention needs to go to the two ladies on reception who were so kind and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrahotel, Responsabile reception at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for the nice words, we are glad that you had a nice stay at the Ambra
We are looking forward to welcome you once again in the future
Have a great summer
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is cute, lovely lounge/bar and dining room with good breakfast. Lady attending to breakfast is delightful. The place is gemuetlich.
Our bedroom # 25 on top floor facing front turned out to be noisy with cars going past in the early morning. The bedroom and bathroom had a glass partition not providing enough privacy in the bathroom, also causing the sun to wake you just a bit too early in the morning.

Sadly Cortina d'Ampezzo was like a ghost town. Very few shops and restaurants open for business, found Innichen and Dobbiaco , Brunico much more charming places.

Room Tip: Not front rooms noisy at the time were there. Town disappointing, despite summer holidays and many t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrahotel, Proprietario at Ambra Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Google Translation
Caro Cliente
Vi aspettiamo a Cortina durante la stagione estiva dove c'é sicuramente più movimento.
Afrodite, la Vostra camera romantica, é concepita con un bagno a vista per condividere tutta l'intimità che una coppia innamorata desidera . Per questo le pareti sono di vetro anche in bagno! Il velux ha un oscurante , che forse vi é sfuggito. Cortina in alcuni periodi dell'anno va un po' in letargo , ma poi si sveglia sempre più spumeggiante di prima...un abbraccio e a presto
Locandiera 2.0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This was a very quaint and clean hotel. We stayed here for two nights and loved it. The staff is very friendly (especially the breakfast staff) and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in room 16 and had a great balcony with a view of the mountains. We left yesterday and I already want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travistt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Good location, a nice staff, I'd recommend everybody to stay there for skiing or for a short-medium period. The only shortage is a lack of a restaurant in the hotel; you have to book the seats beforehand in the restaurants nearby.
Ilya, Moscow.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilia_Shuvalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

stayed for 3 nights whilst skiing in January and couldnt have been happier. I cant remember the name of the girl on the front desk but im sure she must have been the owner, she was so lovely and accommodating and gave us some great tips and info (being 2 simple aussies in our first italian ski resort/town it helped). We stayed in room 2 which was downstairs but it was so comfy and homely, was almost more like a B&B than a hotel and the breakfast was great too. Cortina isnt a cheap town skiing wise in Italy but it was the prettiest i saw and would have no issues reccomending Hotel Ambra to anyone! Thanks for an awesome stay (tip, the slices of takeaway pizza directly over the road are to die for after a hard day on the slopes, have a beer and a slice and the little table outside, YUM)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury, bucks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in January. Firstly well done on keeping car park in use after a good dump of snow. Relatively easy to find. This was a big plus as we arrived in the dark with it snowing heavily. This is an old fashioned hotel where the rooms are full of charm. Plenty of storage. Excellent help from all reception staff. Good breakfast served in cosy breakfast room, shame extra charge for eggs cooked to order.
Very handy for an evening stroll in the town amongst the fur coats. Ski hire shop directly across road. Ski bus stop and Faloria lift very walkable. Recommend the Cinque Torre area with the 'hidden valley' run to Armentorola for some of the most stunning scenery I have seen anywhere in the world. The horse drawn tow for the final flat part rounds off a terrific run, take your time and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#5 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#25 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aquila
Hotel Aquila
#20 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Property: Ambra Hotel
Address: Via Ventinove Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ambra Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing