We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Ambra hotel in February when we went ski-ing. The hotel is located in the middle of cortina, a short walk to the bus station and all shops and restaurants. It is small with a huge amount of character but has everything you need for your stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the breakfast is good. There is car parking and a ski room with heated boot warmers (very welcome). Whether you are going to cortina to ski or visiting during the summer months, this hotel would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location for easy access to Faloria lifts and in the middle of the pedestrian zone for shopping. Service in the hotel is amazing, everyone in the hotel tries to make you comfortable including the charming owner. Service standard in this well decorated cozy hotel can not be beaten. Luxury rooms are very tastefully decorated, though not too big.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the Tofano room on top floor.

The Good - helpful/friendly staff; very good location close to centre and skiing starts; breakfast was good, nice bathroom; quiet.

The Bad - room a bit too small; small (narrow) bed with uncomfy pillows, very poor wifi signal in room (though there was good connection in lower floors of hotel...).

If I go back to Cortina I will definately consider staying here again....

Room Tip: If wifi connection is important avoid the Tofana room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NTGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a group of friends who stayed at Ambra for a week over new years. The hotel is charming, with a lovely lounging area and a bar that serves great aperos. The staff was super helpful, from their spot-on recommendations to their help with travel arrangements and restaurant reservations. The breakfast is varied, everything from yummy pandoro and eggs to gluten free and low cal options. While the rooms are a tad small, there is ample storage space, a must when travelling with a lot of ski gear. The ski room is conveniently located adjacent to the car park. In addition, the faloria ski lifts are a hop away from the hotel... the bar next door has a rocking apero crowd for the apres ski bit. The only slight negative are the bathrooms, which are a bit on the dated side. We'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dartchic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over NYE and had a wonderful time. Staff could not be nicer and location is perfect - right by main shopping drag and very close to Faloria lift. Bar across the street is always great for aperitivos as well. Rooms are indeed a bit on the small side but very comfortable and with nice amenities (Etro stuff in bathroom is divine). Fabulous breakfast. We will back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sueboo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ambra is very well located in the center of Cortina and it's enough for short stay, because it's "basic". It's an old hotel and every room can hear you (your noises and movements) because is too small the room. It should be renovated. The reception is nice and the people very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 19 was the room which we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaspaFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the time we were greeted at the front desk we knew that this establishment cared a lot about their guests. The greeting was warm and friendly, efficient and full of suggestions for our stay.
We stayed 2 nights in a lovely double room overlooking the street. It was very comfortable and clean with all that we needed for our time there.
The included breakfast spread is very good and substantial and once again, the service was exemplary.
When we had some difficulty getting out of town (caused by road blockages for a bike ride) to rejoin our walk along the AV1, the front deak staff made many enquiries on our behalf to find a solution. Nothing was too much trouble for them and t was always done with a smile.
This is genuinely a lvely and nice place to enjoy.

Room Tip: There is a good front room on the firt floor that has a huge terrace that looks over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotdogDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#17 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#19 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#5 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#8 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Property: Ambra Hotel
Address: Via Ventinove Maggio 28, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing