We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $373/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel Savoia(Cortina d'Ampezzo)
$337
$303
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$145
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Hotel(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Alpes(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$81
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosapetra Spa Resort(Cortina d'Ampezzo)
$278
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Aquila(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$105
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA(Cortina d'Ampezzo)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Argentina(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Olimpia(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
88
68
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
68
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgood nights sleeplarge balconyeasy accessnice breakfastperfect staytop floorthe hotel staffnice roomthe location is perfectstayed nightsenjoyed our stayfaloriaskidolomitestrekmountainsalpine
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 178 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the time we were greeted at the front desk we knew that this establishment cared a lot about their guests. The greeting was warm and friendly, efficient and full of suggestions for our stay.
We stayed 2 nights in a lovely double room overlooking the street. It was very comfortable and clean with all that we needed for our time there.
The included breakfast spread is very good and substantial and once again, the service was exemplary.
When we had some difficulty getting out of town (caused by road blockages for a bike ride) to rejoin our walk along the AV1, the front deak staff made many enquiries on our behalf to find a solution. Nothing was too much trouble for them and t was always done with a smile.
This is genuinely a lvely and nice place to enjoy.

Room Tip: There is a good front room on the firt floor that has a huge terrace that looks over the square.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotdogDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights in high season for skiing wiyh my 16 and 14 year lod kids in January. The hotel staff is fantastic: our shuttle to airport exit at 6 a.m. and they provided a wonderful breakfast in unconventional hours. Perfect location and excelent room (very clean). Our bags were lost by Alitalia and we had every assistance from hotel staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maladebordoporai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Quaint hotel near the center of Cortina. Nothing spectacular, but the rooms were clean and the staff friendly. Great location and views from the windows. We used the hotel as a transfer stopover from more rural Dolomite accommodations on our way to Venice.

It was the shoulder season, so I think it was a good value, not sure how much more expensive (and in turn less of a value) it would be during the height of ski or hiking season.

Overall we were satisfied and would recommend it to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This revue is basically about the value contra money payed at the Ambra Cortina hotel. We stayed 3 persons, of which one is a 4 1/2 year old, at a so called luxury room called the "Hockey". The price was 420 Euro per night. When I tell you it was totally claustrophobic with no windows, only a roof window with no view at all, a flooded shower, no mirror that you could actually use in the bathroom, no wine in the mini bar and hardly no floor space at all I guess it's clear that it's overpriced. Also very poor internet connection. I do not recommend a stay in this particular room for 420 a night. Do try to get the price down in case you want to go.

The up sides of the hotel is the wonderful woman at breakfast, which was a good breakfast by the way, and a couple of the other staff members. The good ones were really friendly and service minded.

I don't mind paying good money for a nice stay but the Ambra Cortina needs to get a reality check. When comparing with my last stay at the Crosby in NYC, around the same money, it's just ridiculous. But as long as people pay.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annaalmgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrahotel, Proprietario at Ambra Cortina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011
Google Translation

Cara Signora,
La ringraziamo per il Suo commento e il Suo soggiorno all’ Hotel Ambra.
Siamo spiacenti che la nostra Luxury Hockey non Le sia piaciuta e che abbia trovato il rapporto qualità prezzo non in linea con i prezzi nel mondo.
La Hockey è una luxury roof room in mansarda ed il suo fascino è proprio quello di avere  abbaini e lucernai o finestre di sottotetto, tipici della montagna, ne possiede 3 di cui uno in bagno.
Dall'abbaino si vede il Monte Faloria, dove sorge il sole a Cortina.
All'arrivo  diamo il  benvenuto ai nostri ospiti con una bottiglia  di prosecco locale. In Italia il vino in frigo bar non sempre è servito, in quanto la mezza bottiglia non la consideriamo d'immagine... Nelle nostre luxury  il frigo bar è completamente free come il wifi in tutto l'albergo.
Offriamo ai nostri clienti il transfer da Venezia gratuito che, valorizzato ai prezzi di taxi, vale €300 andata e ritorno, nel suo caso anche per  un soggiorno inferiore alla settimana.
E’ difficile fare confronti tra un albergo nelle Dolomiti in altissima stagione ed un albergo a New York non si sa in quale periodo, che tipo di camera eccetera…sono due cose completamente diverse. Cortina d 'Ampezzo non è una località qualunque, è la Regina delle Dolomiti, Hotel Ambra è un albergo gioiello, in centrissimo, con 2 parcheggi, arredato con pezzi  di antiquariato veneziani ed ampezzani, come la Hockey che avete avuto.
In bagno uno specchio  d'epoca e nell’ armadio un altro  specchio.
Grazie infine per i complimenti al nostro staff, quotidianamente impegnato nell'eccellenza del servizio.
Elisabetta Dotto Proprietaria di Hotel Ambra dal 2007

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The Ambra Hotel is in the center of Cortina. Nice staff who speak English. Small hotel with small rooms (I’m American). My wife and our five year old daughter stayed in the “off season” of mid-January 2011. We were told that we had one of their largest room. It was approximately 14x17 feet. The bathroom was also quite small, although the fixtures were up to date. Taking a shower was difficult, however, because the shower was in a small bathtub with a shower curtain. The tub was so small that the curtain keep creeping up against your body as you showered. The room had a large balcony, but no view to speak of.

There is a nice breakfast room in the basement with the usual European choices: bread, cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee…served from 7:30. Or breakfast can be sent to your room. No charge.

Wifi is available all over the hotel for free.

There is free parking for a dozen cars, or so. There is a ski storage room with boot warmers available for free. The ski bus stops nearby. There is a nice, friendly ski rental shop across the street, and plenty of restaurants of all price range within a five minute walk.

The mountains are very good. Well groomed, and a variety of levels. However the maps and the signs on the slopes are both much less informative than I'm used to in America. The trails on the slopes are not named, so it is difficult to know where you are. And there is no indication of the level of difficulty on the signs, so you can get into a slope you wish you had avoided. The maps they give out try to show several mountains, and as a result there is too little detail. If you only ski Cortina the price is at one level. If you want to ski the other mountains around the area, you must purchase a different level of pass. No upgrading. You have to make the decision when you buy your 6 day pass.

The ski school coach was great. And the hotel recommended a baby sitter who was also just wonderful for our daughter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews