We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Reviewed October 14, 2012

3rd time we've stopped in this hotel, each time as part of a large group of Ford Cortina enthusiasts making a trip to the car's namesake. The hotel is very comfortable with great views of the surrounding mountains. It's only a 5 minute walk to the centre and restaurants. Also only a 5 or 10 min walk to the cable cars (depending which mountain you want to go up).
This time we went round the back of the hotel to the Olympic centre to get the 3 cable cars up to 3000 metres for breath taking views and sun bathing high in the mountains.
The rooms do seem quite varied, some had large almost suites, others had smaller (but still comfortable) rooms. Most rooms seem to have balconies and some have whirl pool baths.
Breakfast is served on lower ground floor and is a basic continental breakfast, ok but nothing to shout about.
It's what you'd expect from a 4 start hotel in a lovely resort. If you take the road train round the village take the 35 minute trip it's definitely an experience, going off road as well as round the town.
For me our stay this time was slightly spoilt by having a room overlooking the main road, it wasn't overly noisy but not as nice as being on the side of the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, not overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasperella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Perfect location especially if you are arriving by bus. Only a 5 min. walk from the bus termainal station and 5 min. walk to beginning of main pedestrian walkway. We used Cortina as our launching point for hikes in the dolomites. We stayed two nights in a classic room & then returned to stay two nights in the deluxe room. We preferred the deluxe for a little more space due to all our hiking and via ferrata gear. The hotel stored our luggage while we left for a hut to hut traverse. My only "con" for this property is that I don't care much for bedspreads & there wasn't any hair conditioner or fasical lotion, however, this seemed to be the course in northeast Italy. If I come back to Cortina, we will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is slightly larger and the bathroom is much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Spent three nights at Europa, and so glad we decided on this hotel versus the Sporting Blu, which sounds to be a little further out of town. Without a car, and not wanting to eat every meal at the hotel you're staying at, this should be a consideration. Just steps from the pedestrian street, ski rental shops and bus stops, the location really is second to none. We were wary b/c some reviews mentioned the noise, which we managed to avoid with an away-from-street-facing-room. The common area, with its cozy bar and even cozier firepit, was an incredibly welcome respite from the cold, and actually seemed a better bar than several in town. Our room was very good, nice wooden chalet-style decor you'd hope for a mountain hotel, and I think the bed was sufficient, though the pillows were quite possibly the most uncomfortable I've ever encountered. Strange. They were flat, but so, so hard - though kudos to the cleaning staff, who upon seeing that my husband had used one of the spare duvets as a stand-in pillow brought us another one - just a shame they weren't comfortable in the first place! Cleaning staff definitely keeps the place immaculate, which is fantastic.

There's a members-only club, or something of the sort, called the VIP room that is on the ground floor of the hotel with its own separate entrance - I don't think it's open to hotel guests. Just be mindful that it stays open late and you may very well hear unce-unce music at 2am unless you request a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for an off-street room on the opposite side of the hotel from the VIP room if noise is a conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollyolexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Europa in December for 3 nights. It is like a wooden mountain style chalet - charming, traditional, warm, and cozy.

Location: Exceptionally located at one end of Corso Italia, 2 minutes walk to Corso Italia, 7 min walk to Cortina's main bus station, 4 minutes walk to ski bus stop, and there is a ski school and ski rental shop just across the road. The hotel is very well located.

Room: Small but charming and very comfortable, all furnished with traditional Dolomiti/Ampezzo style. We had a Deluxe room with red decoration, which is about 15 sq meters. The room has a double bed, a balcony, a small LCD TV, wardrobes, and a desk. Wireless internet connection is available, but not free. The bathroom is also well-equipped, with a hydro-massage bath and all the amenities you need. The massage bath is much appreciated, especially after a long day on the ski slope! The bed and pillow, however, are very firm and not very comfortable, hence they had some impact on our sleep quality.

Restaurant: We booked a B&B package so breakfast was included. It's the typical continental style breakfast, with breads, hams, eggs, cereals, yoghurt, juice, and coffee. The restaurant is again very charming in design, has a very inviting and pleasant atmosphere, and the restaurant staff are all very friendly. We didn't have dinner there so could not comment on the food. The hotel has a small, traditionally decorated bar. It's a little but delightful corner to linger.

Hotel's public area: The hotel does not have a sauna or steam room, nor a fitness centre. But it's fine for us as we spent most of the time skiing. The hotel has several lounge/sitting areas, one with a traditional wood fire, all very beautiful and inviting. We saw many locals gathered at the gaming room (with many round tables and again decorated in Ampezzo style)to play poker/bridge one night, giving the hotel a convivial ambience.

Service: All staff at the hotel are very polite, friendly, and warm. Some of them don't speak much English, but they are always willing to help.

Tip: Request a room facing the Tofana mountain. Rooms on this side are quieter compared to those facing the main street or petrol station next door.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenoritaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SHORE EXCURSIO... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#20 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#11 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Villa Blu Cortina
Boutique Hotel Villa Blu Cortina
#28 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Corso Italia 207, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $74 - $1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORY: Among hotels with a prestigious past, the 4-star Hotel Europa in Cortina d’Ampezzo is a traditional stopping place for those who love the Dolomites and the charm of this area. Originally called Hotel Tyrol, since World War II, Hotel Europa has been managed with skill and passion by the Cardazzi family, which has maintained is all its fascination while adding amenities and services to make it an exclusive and refined mountain home. Staying at this hotel is an opportunity to experience history, a history of hospitality that, for 75 years, has had well deserved success and the recognition of every guest that has enjoyed at stay in an Ampezzo-style residence just a stone's throw from the center of Cortina. - LOCATION: Exclusive Cortina d’Ampezzo hosts Hotel Europa, a historic 4-star hotel near the pedestrian mall and the Faloria cableway, making it the ideal place for a luxurious stay in the heart of the Dolomites. Hotel Europa is just a few minutes from the elegant shopping streets of Cortina, with their famous antique shops, art galleries and boutiques; it's also convenient to the main museums, the bus station, the ski lifts and sports stores. - HOSPITALITY: Just a stone's throw from the center of Cortina, Hotel Europa is an exclusive 4-star hotel, a traditional warm and friendly mountain home with a famous, in-house restaurant, bar and reserved parking for cars. Its rooms, which are infused with the typical atmosphere of the chalets of the Dolomites, have always won the hearts of guests who love elegant residences with precious original furnishings, that are meticulously cared for and rich in history, and spaces that are ideal for relaxing in front of a fireplace. The many highly appreciated services that the hotel offers its guests include a delicious breakfast, 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi Internet and a convenient transfer service to the train station, airport and ski facilities. - ROOMS: Each room of Hotel Europa in Cortina reflects the mountains through its Ampezzo style, which, together with the enchanting view of the Dolomites that greets you from the window. Elegant and comfortable, the rooms are large and finished with warm parquet, carpets and delicate light fixtures. Some have relaxing hydromassage tubs and offer a variety of accommodation plans that are also ideal for families or groups of friends. - BAR & RESTAURANT: In a comfortable dining room of Hotel Europa in Cortina, the Cervo d’Oro Restaurant is famous for the skill of its chef Maurizio Aluotto and an extraordinary wine cellar with a selection of more than 300 wines from the best Italian and foreign wineries. In Cortina, the Cervo d’Oro Restaurant serves the best Italian and Ampezzo cuisine, with impeccably set tables and savory dishes prepared using genuine, high-quality ingredients. A day in Cortina is enhanced by a pleasant pause at the Cervo d’Oro Restaurant, an occasion for a welcome culinary adventure in the heart of the Dolomites and a pleasure that should not be passed up. Hotel Europa has an intimate and relaxing Corner Bar where you can await the dinner hour or the start of an evening at the celebrated VIP Club, enjoying a good wine, a cocktail or a bottle of champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Europa Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing