We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Poor in almost all respects. Deserves its' bad rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alaska Cortina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Poor in almost all respects. Deserves its' bad rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Deluxe room was of sufficient size, but furnishing were worn. Bathrooms were old and shower stalls were tiny (the smallest I have ever seen. Only liquid soap and no soap bars. Staff were truly incompetant. Niether of the two people on duty at reception were able to locate the hotel on the town map nor could they locate the restaurant we wished to go to. Breakfast was mediocre

The only positive about this hotel was its very central and convenient location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    48
    17
    18
See reviews for
108
65
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I don't know what a 4 stars hotel means in Italy, but as we are used to in American Continent, Hotel Alaska should be a 2 Stars Hotels. Room are very ugly with very cheap furniture, Internet is free, but you have to go down every two hours to get a new password, and people at frontdesk sometimes can be very rude. About the A/C, I report it was not working and late in the night after I saw it was still not working the girl in the reception told me " what happens is that we do not ave A/C", i know most of the year you're not gong to need it, but believe me you would want to have it in July.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LudwigMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We chose this on the sight of a Ferrari outside, as there are plenty of hotels in Cortina, but evidently the Ferrari owner was not staying there..
Alaska Hotel is in the middle of town, and has parking under the hotel.
Apparently a 4 star but without coffee or a kettle in the room, which was a little tired.
A tour (bus/ski/whatever) hotel. The dance floor was pumping at 10.30pm.
No irons in Italian hotels by law, but bidets in all our Italian hotels.
We had nice red wines in the lobby served with plates of olives and nuts.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Michela, all time running bellboy, unloaded my car and helped me into covered car park with his continious smile. Andrea : "Maestro of the front desk" Just step in the front door and be sure you'll be welcomed with great smile and hands open for you like santa claus. We had a problem with car rental company and I asked Andrea to help me. He organised maintanence and my car was fixed. While I enjoyed welcome party. The italian singer was welcoming. Wait staff was very well organised. I dont know their names but their short superviser was very attentive. Breakfast is self service but they would bring anything for you without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

We had booked the Hotel Majoni through Expedia but were contacted two days before leaving to be told that that hotel was closed (it was) and we had been rebooked here. The hotel is certainly central though as Cortina is small this is no great advantage and can make parking either difficult or expensive (the hotel carpark is 16 euros a day).

We were given a "junior suite" which turned out to be a large but gloomy room on the back of the hotel with no views at all. It was clean and reasonably well equipped but certainly not somewhere you'd want to spend much time. I suspect that the normal rooms on the front are much pleasanter. The dining room is relatively small and crowded. The breakfast is ordinary. We were booked on half board and while the meals were decent enough they were nothing special.

If you're booked in here there is nothing to worry about but I doubt if we'd go back. (Cortina, on the other hand is wonderful!)
The hotel is wheelchair accessible

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Axwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#1 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#11 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#15 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#6 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.7 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#23 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaska Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaska Cortina

Property: Hotel Alaska Cortina
Address: Largo delle Poste 39, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alaska Cortina 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alaska is synonymous with relaxation and worldliness, a hotel in the heart of Cortina d'Ampezzo , worthy to its location, which is one of the most renowned in the Dolomites. It is strategically situated, within a few steps of those services one should not renounce during a stay in the mountains, such as a ski and mountaineering school, an old church and the historic streets of shopping in Cortina. The gorgeous scenery of the Dolomites stretches all around as far as the eye can see. From the solarium terrace of the hotel the panorama is of indescribable, a generous witness of the majestic beauty of nature beauty. The spacious and bright rooms are warm and comfortable. A refined simplicity inspired by the characteristic alpine style, where wood is predominating and where comfort and wellness are essential factors. From the balconies of these full comfort rooms, you can enjoy moments of absolute peace by admiring the enchanting mountain peaks. Hotel Alaska's cuisine offers its best, with proposals that can satisfy even the most discerning palates. From the morning to the evening sitting at the table will be a pleasure. Mountaineering , alpine and cross country skiing, free ride, snowboard, ice Hockey, the only Italian resort among the 12 destinations of the Best of the Alps to impose itself with a wide range of activities "active profile" and "slow profile", that distinguish themselves by richness and variety, and by a series of great international events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alaska Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Alaska Hotel Cortina d`Ampezzo
Hotel Alaska Cortina Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing