We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveler rating
116
76
29
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
116
76
29
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews insight tour charming hotel tour group room safe hotel owner stayed here for two nights big room enjoyed our stay breakfast buffet is fantastic location bell tower salami ski slopes each morning the main street flavio suite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 250 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

We stayed with friends for 3 nights and all had lovely, spacious clean rooms with brilliant views but the wifi was soo slow the breakfasts were very basic and limited, no fresh fruit, little choice in breads and we couldn’t get hot tea or coffee, it was always cool. Every day the same, scrambled eggs ( even these were cool one day) and bacon, our other Italian hotel breakfasts have been great.
The hotel itself has very interesting art and collections and the staff were helpful and pleasant.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vicki_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

A group of us (60+) stayed at this hotel as part of an annual ski trip with industry peers and I can't help but feel this hotel is trading off of former glories. Starting with the good, it's in a great location for the town, bang in the middle on the main strip so you have equal access to all the snow locations. Sadly, apart from looking nice from the outside and having smartly dresses staff, that's the end of the good!
We were having breakfast and dinner at the hotel most nights and I should say that the breakfast was very nicely laid out and tasty, but nothing more than you'd expect / find at a Premier Inn in the UK. The dinner was a bit of a hit and miss affair with some nice dishes, others less so and all a little unusual. The theatre of having a silver cover removed from your dish once everyone at the table had their food was quite fun.
The rooms, and the general decor of the hotel, need a lot of work, they look dated, feel dated and don't function as you'd expect. In my room the curtains on one of the windows didn't meet in the middle, so you couldn't close them to have a nap at 4pm. The bed was awful, truly awful. I can sleep pretty much anywhere, but this bed had me waking every 3 hours with numb legs or arms. The pillows weren't great, 3 stacked was about equal to a single normal pillow. You couldn't sit up in bed as about 30cm above the bed was a tiny 5cm shelf, whose only purpose seemed to make sitting up painful! The heating was very hit and miss, very hard to get the room to a nice temperature and there didn't seem to be an adequate hot water system as my shower frequently had to be on full 'hot' to get luke-warm water if it was peak time. I was on the 3rd floor so maybe that played a part.
I'm not a big fan of daily room cleaning, I don't think you need it if you're only in the room to sleep, so put the "don't make up" sign out each morning, and left the room setup as I wanted (stacked pillows, external window blinds shut, temperature as I wanted it). Every time I returned from the slopes the room was reset and things moved.
There was a claim of a spa or similar in the features of the hotel, but we were told it "wasn't open today" on the first 2 days we asked, then were told it wasn't opening at all during our visit. They said we could use one at a nearby hotel, but wanted €25 each visit for this.
All in all, a very underwhelming experience, especially in comparison to other places I've stayed while in the mountains. I expect this place was exceptional when it was last refurbished, but sadly that would appear to have been in the 70s, so would avoid this place until it's looked at again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSully80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

The Hotel Ancora provide excellent service during our one week ski vacation. The staff was very helpful and the food was magnificent. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the Dolomiti mountains. Housekeeping was great and efficient. Our room was always clean. Flavia (the owner) was always available to answer our questions and give insights to the local area. Highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Mspiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

This was our second stay at this hotel. This time we had a suite which gave us plenty of room, including two bathrooms. We also had a large deck with lounge chairs. We bought beer, wine, cheese, salami and bread and had a picnic while marveling at the scenery. Our room was clean and a bit rustic. The bed was not very comfortable, though. WiFi was good. The public areas of the hotel are attractive and there are historic photos of the hotel and Cortina in the lobby. There's a patio lounge for relaxing in the afternoon. At breakfast there was a good selection of hot and cold items. Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming.

Room tip: Choose a site with a deck or balcony facing the main street and the mountains.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank glennr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Insight Tours seems to use this hotel as part of its Italian Tours for this area and we were on a tour of Northern Italy so stayed here for two nights with our Insight Tour..

The hotel was built in 1826 so its old however it has a charm to it which you don't find in the newer hotels. There is no air con but we did not need it - maybe in a month or so it would be hot and a fan would be required..

We had room 106- it was a big room, actually a suite with two bedrooms, a sitting room and a good shower and bath- all nice and clean. We had a room safe which was good. The windows opened onto the main street area as the hotel is in the middle of town. It wasn't noisy. We found the bed a bit hard and the pillows a bit soft and they were due for replacement but we got used to them after the first night.

The staff were always helpful and friendly. Its a self rated hotel with 4 stars, probably a bit ambitious. (think 3 stars around the mark). It shows the awards it has won for excellence in the corridor when you arrive. Dinner was a pleasant experience with a fixed price menu which was not expensive and drinks were moderately priced from 4 euros for a range of red, white or sparkling wine,coffee was 2 euros. There is a good range of wine and beer at the department store in the main street closeby. We grabbed a nice local wine for 25 euro but cheaper ones available if you don't want to spend too much.

Breakfast was enjoyable with scrambled eggs, bacon, tea, coffee, cheeses and pastries and a variety of breads . Overall I think this place was worthy of an 8/10 and we enjoyed our stay here.

Room tip: room 106 was good
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews