We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, with reservations”
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is an older hotel, and much refurbishment is needed. Nevertheless, the food in the restaurant was very good as was the service. By some miracle we wound up with a suite, so there was plenty of space. Some complaInts: no air conditioning, not enough light to read by, not enough places to sit comfortably. We asked for a wake-up call but never got it.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

An older Hotel, with some charm.
This hotel could do with refurbishment.
Excellent service in the hotel and Restaurant.
Our room was quite small.
Very comfortable however.
Good location in the Dolomites.
The town has a real Swiss feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apples365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just stayed one night at the Hotel Ancora in Cortina d'Ampezzo and it was good. The staff and the management certainly get good marks for their effort and their service. That said the place is need of some general sprucing up. A coat of paint both inside and out along with maybe some new bed linens could really boost the overall impression of a hotel with a fantastic location in the center of this south Tyrolian region located in the heart of the aw inspiring Dolomite mountains. We've stayed in many old inns across the US and a number of old hotels in Europe. Each has its own character and look and the fact that they are very old doesn't get in the way of being outstanding places of lodging. The Ancora could be in that class with a little bit of old fashioned TLC. Their restaurant was very good and the wait staff very attentive. We get it. Cortina is loaded with skiers in the winter and hikers/bikers in the summer. Rustic charm is their thing and I'm sure they find the Ancora a very respectable spot. Frankly we see it as having huge potential as well, but a little paint and new bed clothes could give the Ancora a chance to be the premier lodging spot in the heart of this posh little town where the beautiful people come to ski.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the Dolomites. Common rooms were exceptional. Food was very good, breakfast spread was also very good. Room was small, but nice bathroom. We had a view of a wall, so make sure you ask for a view when you reserve. Good location. Go down the hill to dept store for snacks and water. Bike paths are fantastastic, and not very difficult.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Com4tCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hotel Ancora is in a perfect location - in the center of town and walking distance to everything. Gorgeous views in every direction you look. The rooms were small and quaint, but very clean. Bathrooms were larger than your typical European bathroom. We were only here for two nights, but I would be comfortable staying here if I ever return to Cortina!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a tour of Northern Italy. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Views from rooms are breathtaking! Front desk was accommodating with requests. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and the food and presentation was top notch! The waiters were extremely pleasant! Fabulous location!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Hotel Ancora is situated in the central square of Cortina d'Ampezzo, a mountain town two hours north of Venice. Home of the 1956 Olympics, Cortina is a center for skiing and mountaineering.The Ancora is a family owned hotel that is quaint and friendly. It is rumored to have the best food in town. I have stayed there several times, and if better meals are served in Cortina, I don't know where to find them. There is great hiking out the front door of the hotel. Venice is around the corner. What could be better?

Room Tip: We like our room to face the central square. There is always a lot going on there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#13 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#21 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#22 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#6 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $199 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing