We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, with reservations”
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota
Level Contributor
307 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very good, with reservations”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel, and much refurbishment is needed. Nevertheless, the food in the restaurant was very good as was the service. By some miracle we wound up with a suite, so there was plenty of space. Some complaInts: no air conditioning, not enough light to read by, not enough places to sit comfortably. We asked for a wake-up call but never got it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    62
    24
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
76
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

An older Hotel, with some charm.
This hotel could do with refurbishment.
Excellent service in the hotel and Restaurant.
Our room was quite small.
Very comfortable however.
Good location in the Dolomites.
The town has a real Swiss feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apples365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just stayed one night at the Hotel Ancora in Cortina d'Ampezzo and it was good. The staff and the management certainly get good marks for their effort and their service. That said the place is need of some general sprucing up. A coat of paint both inside and out along with maybe some new bed linens could really boost the overall impression of a hotel with a fantastic location in the center of this south Tyrolian region located in the heart of the aw inspiring Dolomite mountains. We've stayed in many old inns across the US and a number of old hotels in Europe. Each has its own character and look and the fact that they are very old doesn't get in the way of being outstanding places of lodging. The Ancora could be in that class with a little bit of old fashioned TLC. Their restaurant was very good and the wait staff very attentive. We get it. Cortina is loaded with skiers in the winter and hikers/bikers in the summer. Rustic charm is their thing and I'm sure they find the Ancora a very respectable spot. Frankly we see it as having huge potential as well, but a little paint and new bed clothes could give the Ancora a chance to be the premier lodging spot in the heart of this posh little town where the beautiful people come to ski.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the Dolomites. Common rooms were exceptional. Food was very good, breakfast spread was also very good. Room was small, but nice bathroom. We had a view of a wall, so make sure you ask for a view when you reserve. Good location. Go down the hill to dept store for snacks and water. Bike paths are fantastastic, and not very difficult.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Com4tCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hotel Ancora is in a perfect location - in the center of town and walking distance to everything. Gorgeous views in every direction you look. The rooms were small and quaint, but very clean. Bathrooms were larger than your typical European bathroom. We were only here for two nights, but I would be comfortable staying here if I ever return to Cortina!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a tour of Northern Italy. The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Views from rooms are breathtaking! Front desk was accommodating with requests. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and the food and presentation was top notch! The waiters were extremely pleasant! Fabulous location!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
624 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Hotel Ancora is situated in the central square of Cortina d'Ampezzo, a mountain town two hours north of Venice. Home of the 1956 Olympics, Cortina is a center for skiing and mountaineering.The Ancora is a family owned hotel that is quaint and friendly. It is rumored to have the best food in town. I have stayed there several times, and if better meals are served in Cortina, I don't know where to find them. There is great hiking out the front door of the hotel. Venice is around the corner. What could be better?

Room Tip: We like our room to face the central square. There is always a lot going on there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#23 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
De la Poste
De la Poste
#14 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#7 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing