We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The jewel of Cortina d'Ampezzo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
508 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The jewel of Cortina d'Ampezzo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Hotel Ancora is situated in the central square of Cortina d'Ampezzo, a mountain town two hours north of Venice. Home of the 1956 Olympics, Cortina is a center for skiing and mountaineering.The Ancora is a family owned hotel that is quaint and friendly. It is rumored to have the best food in town. I have stayed there several times, and if better meals are served in Cortina, I don't know where to find them. There is great hiking out the front door of the hotel. Venice is around the corner. What could be better?

Room Tip: We like our room to face the central square. There is always a lot going on there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baltoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    58
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
68
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arrived form Canada for eight night stay Feb 21st 2014. Hotel is charming, very well located in the centre of town, clean and well maintained with top service. Restaurant is also excellent with a decent wine list. Good value overall and will definitely repeat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed one night in a Junior suite here and we really enjoyed it. Great location, fantastic view to the mountains and a small square, helpful and friendly staff and great breakfast. If you want to endulge yourself while in the Dolomites, this is a good place.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lagaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel together with our tour group. It is located in a small town up in the mountains. The rooms are old but cozy , the town may been small but it feels very good walking around. The food in the hotel's restaurant was one of the best I had during my trip in Italy. This is definity a place I will remember after I leave Italy. Even the food in the restaurants around were superb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Ancora is your choice in Cortina when you are looking for authentic old charm. It is a traditional hotel in chalet style, constructed in 1826, with handpainted decorations on walls, ceilings and furniture. The owner, Flavia, is allways present and ensures good (and warm) service. The hotel appears to have received a lot of awards, and the entire lobby is covered with frames certificates and pictures of the owners receiving them. The room we had was a junior suite on the top floor in front, with a private balcony with a great view of the church and mountains. Even though the age of the room shows, it is charming rather than dated. Bed and shower were good. The restaurant serves a good traditional menu - eating in the hotel rather than going out is a good option. The breakfast buffet is good, although a larger selection of bread would have been nice. One flip side to the old charm: if you need silence in your room, do not choose this hotel: walls and floors are very thin. And in our case the view of the church also came with being woken up at 7 each day by the church bells. So keep this in mind when making your choice.

Room Tip: If the idea of being woken up by church bells at 7 bothers you, ask for a room at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FernIze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is amazing in all aspects.
The style, hospitality, restaurant, furniture, as will as the location.
It is very antique hotel and I never saw such a hotel before.
Mrs. Filavia - the owner of the hotel -was really nice and generous.
I would advise all to visit this unique hotel in Cortina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a unique vantage point in March of 2013. While staying at the hotel with friends and family, I spent more time at the hotel because I suffered an injury 2 weeks before the trip. As such, I was at the hotel for all but a few hours each day (during an entire week). The hotel and its staff are the best!! Anything I asked for they delivered. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere is great, and the staff is top notch.

I have skied in France, Austria and out West. From the perspective of the hotel and surrounding area, none of those compare to Hotel Ancora and Cortina. My family and friends that skied said the conditions and trails were awesome. I will be going back next year, and probably again and again for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#21 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
De la Poste
De la Poste
#20 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#16 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franceschi Park Hotel
Franceschi Park Hotel
#8 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#11 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#7 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing