We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, charming hotel with a luxury feeling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, charming hotel with a luxury feeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed one night in a Junior suite here and we really enjoyed it. Great location, fantastic view to the mountains and a small square, helpful and friendly staff and great breakfast. If you want to endulge yourself while in the Dolomites, this is a good place.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lagaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    59
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
32
69
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel together with our tour group. It is located in a small town up in the mountains. The rooms are old but cozy , the town may been small but it feels very good walking around. The food in the hotel's restaurant was one of the best I had during my trip in Italy. This is definity a place I will remember after I leave Italy. Even the food in the restaurants around were superb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Ancora is your choice in Cortina when you are looking for authentic old charm. It is a traditional hotel in chalet style, constructed in 1826, with handpainted decorations on walls, ceilings and furniture. The owner, Flavia, is allways present and ensures good (and warm) service. The hotel appears to have received a lot of awards, and the entire lobby is covered with frames certificates and pictures of the owners receiving them. The room we had was a junior suite on the top floor in front, with a private balcony with a great view of the church and mountains. Even though the age of the room shows, it is charming rather than dated. Bed and shower were good. The restaurant serves a good traditional menu - eating in the hotel rather than going out is a good option. The breakfast buffet is good, although a larger selection of bread would have been nice. One flip side to the old charm: if you need silence in your room, do not choose this hotel: walls and floors are very thin. And in our case the view of the church also came with being woken up at 7 each day by the church bells. So keep this in mind when making your choice.

Room Tip: If the idea of being woken up by church bells at 7 bothers you, ask for a room at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FernIze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is amazing in all aspects.
The style, hospitality, restaurant, furniture, as will as the location.
It is very antique hotel and I never saw such a hotel before.
Mrs. Filavia - the owner of the hotel -was really nice and generous.
I would advise all to visit this unique hotel in Cortina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a unique vantage point in March of 2013. While staying at the hotel with friends and family, I spent more time at the hotel because I suffered an injury 2 weeks before the trip. As such, I was at the hotel for all but a few hours each day (during an entire week). The hotel and its staff are the best!! Anything I asked for they delivered. The food is fantastic, the atmosphere is great, and the staff is top notch.

I have skied in France, Austria and out West. From the perspective of the hotel and surrounding area, none of those compare to Hotel Ancora and Cortina. My family and friends that skied said the conditions and trails were awesome. I will be going back next year, and probably again and again for years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in a Junior Suite for seven nights while skiing this February. We both loved everything about the hotel, the service, and Cortina itself. Having read the one trip advisor review complaining about rudeness in the desk staff, I was particularly watchful for that each time I was in the lobby. Quite the contrary, I observed and experienced nothing but smiling, extraordinarily helpful people on duty throughout the week. The location, right in the middle of the village, was enormously preferable to some of the hotels farther away.

Tom & Barbara

Room Tip: Consider a Junior Suite. The extra room is terrific for a lot of reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Ancora is the oldest hotel in the town with a wonderful location. Fling open your windows in the morning and check the conditions and you take in the church and a great view up the slopes.Completely agree about the amazing food..apparently 9 people work in the kitchen alone. The owner is a great character and we always found the front desk staff really friendly.They organized a guide for us to ski the Sella Rondo and this was a great day out.
Our criticism would be around the poor spa facilities.Great ski hotels now offer sauna and steam rooms as standard( there is a steep charge here for each use)
They are installing wifi so the current problem with daily log ins should be solved soon.
Atmosphere can't be beaten

Room Tip: The suites which face the square and church offer great views up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Savoia
Grand Hotel Savoia
#8 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#17 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#16 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Corso Italia 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#8 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing