We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family friendly”
Review of Menardi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Menardi Hotel
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our family stayed at Hotel Menardi in early January 2014 whilst on a skiing holiday. We had two very comfortable rooms near each other. The breakfasts were fabulous and we also really enjoyed the one evening meal we had at the hotel. The staff were very very helpful and have even found and posted back to me some earrings which I accidentally left behind in the room we occupied. We loved the walk into town, although it was a bit icy in places (exactly what you'd expect in mid-winter so no complaints!). The ski bus went from right in front of the hotel so that was all very easy. Overall, a great stay and if we return to beautiful Cortina d'Ampezzo we will definitely return to Hotel Menardi.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1705Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    63
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
56
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location was terrific. The staff was amazing. Very helpful with anything you needed.
Get a room with a balcony if you can...the views are wonderful. This hotel is located very near a path into town so you can walk to dinner. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTraveling56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent a most wonderful week at Hotel Menardi in late June 2013. Owned and run by the Menardi family, the service and attentiveness from one and all was greatly appreciated by us. Our rooms were in the annex, both with balcony with lovely views of the surrounding mountains and were both spacious with more than ample storage for all of our clothes and walking gear. Breakfast was served in the dining room, buffet style for the most part, where there were many choices from cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, and the like. We chose to dine-in most nights, as their dinners were excellent and good value, as well. Our primary waitress for both meals was a lovely lady named Flora, who looked after our every need in a most friendly and gracious manner. Other matters of import were the beautiful private grounds of Hotel Menardi, available to all guests, and the paved public pathway above the grounds, making walking into Cortina d'Ampezzo an easy and pleasant journey. Also, the fact that the hotel is about a mile north of Cortina, meant that we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the countryside. In Cortina itself, there are an abundance of good restaurants/cafes and first class shops, making ventures into the town most pleasurable. In all directions there are opportunities to enjoy the great outdoors on foot or by bicycle. Having a car at your disposal is an advantage in terms of getting to the various sights and walks, although there is a good bus service available. Would we go back? Yes, definitely, and that applies both to the Menardi and Cortina.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the spacious rooms and balconies in the annex, but we didn't get to see the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Hotel Menardi, and this year it was extra special for us as we had decided to marry in Cortina this time around, there is no location as perfect as this.
We stay at the hotel as part of a large group for a curling competition and although we were keeping things quiet and a surprise, we decided to let Antonio Menardi know as we had a few things he could help organise.
On our arrival, the first thing Antonio said to us was 'we're having a surprise party for you on Wednesday night (day before the wedding). Ok, so no longer a surprise. It turns out that the majority of the town knew there would be a Scottish wedding that week and everyone in the group that arrived were going to attend!
We were upgraded to their honeymoon suite which is a gorgeous wood panelled room to the front of the hotel on the second floor, and a balcony to the side. The large bathroom has a corner bath aswell as a full bathroom suite including bidet.
On the morning of the wedding Alberto drove me and my friends partner who was giving me away down to the town centre (about 15 mins walk otherwise) where we met with Antonio who took me down the pedestrianised street on the back of his little decorated Ape cart (small vehicle they use for supplies). It felt like the whole town was out to see us!
After the wedding we were taken back up in the cart to a sports bar where they gave us drinks before we went on to the ice rink for photos....we are curlers.
On our arrival, back at the hotel at night we found our room decorated with balloons and a huge plate of fresh strawberries, cherries, and chocolates, such a lovely touch although I think this was down to friends as well as the hotel!

Breakfast at the hotel is second to none when compared to the other hotels I have stayed at in Europe. A selection of cakes, meats, cheeses, bacon and eggs, fruit, yogurts, juices, need I go on, and the service is fantastic also - your choice of hot drink will be remembered daily by staff!

I cannot thank the Menardi family enough for everything they did for us this year. Looking forward to staying with them again in 2014 and celebrating our first wedding anniversary!

When in Cortina, there is no better hotel to stay and visit.

Enjoy....and if you go before I get back, say hi to everyone for me!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekerkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I was in cortina for a mountain bike trip with my girlfriend and we decided to chose Hotel Menardi because of the tripadvisor rating. The breakfast was great and the ladies working were very friendly and polite, the food in the restaurant was also amazing and so were the hotel staff! Great park in the back and well kept, just a 15 min walk and you are downtown or 2-3 min drive. I personally recommend this place for everyone that wants to feel welcomed and well treated!
Again amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our group of 15 stayed at the Hotel Menardi in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy the beginning of February 2013. This was our second visit after 10 years. It was like "coming home!" The Menardi family and their staff are outstanding!! We enjoyed delicious breakfast buffets and the half board that included the evening meals! What an amazing number of choices, and all well prepared and presented! There were 5 of us that didn't ski. We enjoyed taking refreshments in the lovely, cozy common areas after walking to and from the center of town. There is a bus, if you don't want to walk. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. You can spend hours just looking at the interesting collections of watches, photos, and other antiques displayed throughout the building. This is a wonderful hotel and a delightful, hard working family! We had a great time!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our small group (7 couples and 1 single) stayed at Hotel Menardi in Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy in early February 2013. We had been to this hotel in 2003 and always wanted to return! This visit was as wonderful as the first time. The service is impeccable .. the family members work very hard to make your stay memorable! The breakfast buffet is delicious, but make sure you take half board so that you get to enjoy the evening meals! The rooms are beautiful .. but the common areas make it extra warm, inviting and enjoyable. Thank you to Franca, Antonio, Andrea, Alberto and Giuse for a wonderful time!
Sincerely, Mary Zumdahl and friends!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
399 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#11 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#21 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alaska Cortina
Hotel Alaska Cortina
#17 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Villa Blu Cortina
Boutique Hotel Villa Blu Cortina
#33 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menardi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menardi Hotel

Property: Menardi Hotel
Address: Via Maion 110, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Menardi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menardi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menardi Hotel Cortina d Ampezzo
Menardi Hotel Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing