We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Menardi Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Royal(Cortina d'Ampezzo)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Natale(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Alpes(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$73
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olimpia(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Europa(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aquila(Cortina d'Ampezzo)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$348
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rosapetra Spa Resort(Cortina d'Ampezzo)
$256
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
96
65
13
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
65
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfifteen minute walkexcellent familya family run hotelwellness areawalk into townthree nightsbit datedbefore dinnera great place to stayenjoyed our staywonderful hotelamazing viewscable carfloratrailsteamlaundry
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 178 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Menardi was our "base of operations" for a week-long ski vacation. There were three couples in our group who all enjoyed the warm hospitality and service from the staff of this generations-held family hotel. Even before we arrived, Antonio Menardi helped us with elite ski rentals and also arranged for our return-trip bus from Venice where we stayed for two decompression days before heading to the slopes. The morning always began with an over-the-top breakfast buffet with many ala carte additions which we rarely felt necessary. Apres ski is a delight - especially in the fireplace bar where Edelia tends the fire and the bar with equal dexterity....and this girl makes a first-class old fashioned gin martini. An extensive, fairly-priced wine list also met our pre-dinner needs and we often finished a bottle or two over dinner. This brings us to the real highlight of this charming hotel. We opted for the daily meal plan and were overwhelmed by the meal options each evening. From native specialities such as asparagus in crepes and delightful raviolis to veal shanks and filet mignon with bearnaise, nothing was spared in the evening presentations. To top it off, we were served by the delightful Flora who treats everyone like a long-lost cousin. This was our second trip to Cortina after many previous ski holidays in seven countries, and for value and just sheer enjoyment this three-star jewel is an absolute find!

Room Tip: All the rooms are recently rennovated and well-equipped. However, if you must have absolute quiet in the evening, request a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in February,a great all around experience it was the first time we stay in the charming Cortina d'Ampezzo, but it won't be the last one. Next time we'll go to Cortina we will repeat same hotel because everything was perfect in there: very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, perfect location close to the center, good food, fantastic views over the mountains, confortable room. Very good quality-price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a charming, friendly family-owned and run hotel. We stayed for a week with a group ski tour. Hotel Menardi has all the amenities and efficiencies of your larger hotels but has the personal touch of staying with family. The hotel is well-appointed; the rooms comfortable and very pretty with a view of the surrounding Alps no matter which way your room faces. All the staff are friendly, courteous and very helpful. Part of our package included breakfast and dinner at the hotel. The food was fantastic and they have a pastry chef who made creations to die for!! We had the same waitress for the week and she made our trip so special, remembering our likes and preferences and bringing us extra treats from the dessert table. The location was very convenient to "downtown" Cortini and to buses to take you skiing or snowshoeing. Some of the buses stopped right in front of the hotel. It was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Menardi is your traditional chalet style hotel. Very welcoming at reception, rooms are warm,
comfortable and clean and despite our room being at the front overlooking the breathtaking
ski slopes and alps, above the road, we did not hear any traffic noise and our 3 night stay was
very blissful. Good snow coverage and convenient parking off the street was a bonus. The restaurant and staff were exceptional, must mention Maria here, her service in the dining room was
outstanding. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The only negative was having to carry our luggage
from the carpark up exterior stairs, then up two flights of internal stairs. Despite that,
we'd definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Menardi for a week as part of a group ski trip to Cortina. It is a charming, older, family-run hotel that has been impeccably maintained and kept up to date. You'll fall in love with it's homey character and details -- no synthetic, chain-hotel experience here. The Menardi earns the highest rating from us.

The hotel is located on the north end of Cortina -- about a fifteen minute walk to the core of downtown. This could be construed as a negative or positive depending on your perspective. There is a wonderful pedestrian way (old railroad right-of-way) right behind the hotel. This made for pleasant walks to downtown and an opportunity to savor the gorgeous mountain scenery. It's lit at night. The is also hourly local bus service between the hotel and town, with a stop right in front of the hotel. For summer travelers there's a park-like area behind the hotel to enjoy the alpine setting.

The rooms were not large, but were very cozy, very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Each one was unique. Some had older folk art painted furniture and headboards. Others had gorgeous, wood-paneled, barrel-vaulted ceilings or carved ceiling medallions and other carved woodwork. Our bathroom was large, full-tiled, spotless and had a towel heater, which was a welcome luxury for us. It appears that all rooms have mountain views. Our room on the back side of the hotel was very quiet, unlike our standard experience with American cell-blocks. The shutters were closed at night. This provided the darkest room experience we've ever had at a hotel; there was no ambient light to deal with during the night.

There are multiple lounge areas on the first floor -- each one different and very inviting. One features a small bar with an adjoining fireplace room tastefully decorated with antiques.

The pictures on the Menardi's web site give an accurate portrayal of the place.

We were impressed as could be about the quality of the food and food service we enjoyed during our stay. Morning fare for our group consisted of a breakfast buffet that was more continental in its offerings. For dinner we had three-course meals with choices of four starters, main dishes and an assortment of desserts. I don't know if this is standard practice for those who opt for half board accommodation or something that was tailored for our group. Every night the menu changed. The menus offered variety and our vegetarian friends raved about the on-menu fare they chose. Cuisine includes regional dishes incorporating game and local specialties. Don't expect hamburgers, steak and fried chicken. Portions were right-sized, so we had room for dessert. Every dish was wonderful. The food was creative and presentation was excellent. To top it off, the staff in the dining room were first-rate professionals: attentive, accommodating and pleasant.

To echo that last remark, the staff at the front desk (the Menardi family) were first-rate as well, helping us plan daily itineraries, including negotiating the local and regional transport services, providing restaurant recommendations for lunch, etc. They really know their stuff.

We would return in an instant!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Impingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews