We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for....”
Review of Hotel Natale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Natale
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for....”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Positive: The location of the hotel is very close to town. Some staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good for a 3 star hotel. Cleanliness was fine.

Negative: Night clerk, an older gentleman was extremely rude and refused to speak to us as we couldn't speak Italian. Our room (standard) was very basic and small with old furniture and small old bed. Walls are paper thin so can hear other guests as well as plumbing in walls! Rooms near the road are noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinnyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

we appreciate the time you took to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We’re glad that you were impressed by the hotel cleanliness, convenient location and quality buffet breakfast.

On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by the noise and we sincerely apologize for any bother. Also, sorry for the language barrier: our night auditor doesn't speak any English.

We hope to have the opportunity to impress you with our superior rooms facing the mountains on your next trip to Cortina.

With our very best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    116
    20
    9
    0
See reviews for
88
222
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the bus station and just a few minutes from the pedestrian street in the centre of Cortina. Although it is located at a main road with quite a lot of daytime traffic, there was less traffic in the evening and early morning so it did not disturb our sleep. The hotel looks very nice with its alpine style balconies with flowers and wooden panels inside. The man who was at the reception when we arrived did not seem to speak many words of English, but he greeted us with a smile and ”buon giorno” or ”buona sera” every time we went out or came back. Our questions in English resulted in a reply from him in Italian, which we did not understand. However he gave us a map, where it was written in English that guests at this hotel were entitled to a discount at selected restaurants in Cortina. Our room was on the top floor, it was clean and had a balcony with nice views. The beds were quite ok and the size of the room too. Wifi was included free of charge and worked well in the room. Breakfast was served from 8.00 in the mornings and was good with yoghurt, cereal, fruit, bread (a very good bread with some spices, probably aniseed), ham, cheese, juice, but no vegetables. The last couple of days there was a younger man at the reception who spoke English very well. We asked if we could have breakfast slightly earlier on the last morning because we needed to catch a bus at 8.30, and he said it was no problem and arranged for the breakfast room to be open from 7.45, which was good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your detailed review with everyone on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

It's pleasing to see that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay at Hotel Natale and that you rated the service from our staff so highly which thankfully is a regular refrain within our Guest reviews.

We all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the very near future.

With our very best regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is just OK. It was a clean room but I paid for an "upgraded" room which they told me was nicer than the regular room, but it was still very tiny. The worst thing was the noise from other guests. The walls are as thin as paper and I could hear the screaming baby next door all night. Very unpleasant. Check in was fine, I arrived in the late afternoon after 3 p.m. (their check in time), and my room was ready. When I checked in, they told me check out time was 11 a.m. "if possible" and made it seem like it wasn't a rush if I was a bit late. Next morning, I checked out at 11:30 (I was jet lagged from a long flight) and the man at the front desk was very unpleasant with me because someone was waiting to check in. At 11 a.m., when check in isn't until 3 p.m.!! I didn't appreciate this discourteous treatment. I left my bags with the man at the front desk since the apartment I was renting wasn't ready yet. I came back around 3 p.m. to collect the bags, and no one was at the front desk. I waited for about 15 minutes, found a maid and she said she didn't know where the guy was. I looked behind the desk and saw my bags sitting there unattended. I didn't want to wait any more so I just took my bags and left, but anyone could have stolen them. In short, this place is OK, but there are better choices in Cortina.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank farmersdaughterSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We're always thankful to anyone who gives us the opportunity to see where we can do better.

We sincerely apologize for any shortfall in service during your overnight here with us. Please be assured that one of the elements that set us apart is how we engage our Guests with no exceptions.

We hope you will give us a second chance as we would welcome the opportunity to see you join the 95% of reviewers that have described Hotel Natale as a recommendable and friendly place to stay.

Kindest regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Four of us well over 60 used Trip Advisor to find Hotel Natale for a six night stay early in September 2013. Stefano, our host was so kind, considerate. Every day he asked our hiking goals and provided us a glorious hike that was a bit challenging always with a refugio at the end so we could have coffee, tea, food and beer. Hotel Natale was truly a home away from home, from the delicious breakfast, clean and cozy room to the proximity of shops and gelato. We would come back anytime.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana91183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your very positive review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us here in Cortina.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed so much of your time with us from the warm welcome, the hiking suggestions, the convenient location, your cozy room, the list goes on all the way through to your breakfast.

Please do let us know when we can arrange your next visit here at Hotel Natale.

Sent with all our very best wishes

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A great hotel, super friendly staff, room was spotless, bed comfortable, breakfast very good too, and we had a lovely view from our room. Wi Fi worked well. Only 300m to town centre and also many restaurants within walking distance. There is also a supermarket and pharmacy within 50m. It is opposite a bike/ walk track which is easy walking up into the mountains( only a very gentle incline) through fantastic scenery and at the 12km mark there was a fantastic restaurant - where we had lunch and then did the easy 12km walk back home. I would stay at the Hotel Natale again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your "Fantastic hotel" review following your stay with us.

We are again delighted to read that another of our Guests enjoyed so much of their time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel's location, our in-room Wi-Fi and the service from our staff.

Please let us know when we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next stay as it would be our pleasure to take care of your details.

Kindest regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is good, clean but expensive for the price paid (over € 200) in August. Lacking: Air Conditioning and safe, that they have is really useless.The staff is very friendly and helpful. To pay for the comfort, there must be

Room Tip: In the room you could hear all the noises upstairs, even when unloaded the bathroom. Need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review following your stay with us. We truly appreciate the time you've taken to share this with all the readers of TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your very kind comments and notes on the aspects of your stay you enjoyed.

Please be assured we respect all views and comments and value the feedback, to this end we have already reviewed your notes and planned improvements where possible.

Kindest regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cortina D'Ampezza is simply an amazing city for winter and summer holidays. I spent a lovely time on my honey moon, especially that we were looking for great outdoor adventures. Hotel Natale is simply superb, located very near the down town (4 minutes walking), has beautiful rooms that look over the mountain, and great service. I highly recommend this city, I'm sure coming back for a skiing vacation soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano D, Hotel Manager at Hotel Natale, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting such an excellent review on TripAdvisor.

We are all thrilled to read your wife and you enjoyed your honeymoon break at Hotel Natale and we wish you the best in your life together.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With warm regards

Stefano De Dea
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.8 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#4 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#14 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#12 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Natale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Natale

Property: Hotel Natale
Address: Corso Italia 229, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#6 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Natale 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Natale invites you to look high and far for discovering the beauty of Cortina d'Ampezzo. The hotel fits the stunning Dolomites background, an amazing environment. This liaison gives the unique, warm hospitality with the single touch of friendliness and discretion which has always portrayed Hotel Natale as a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Natale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Natale Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing