We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Rifugio Lagazuoi”
Review of Rifugio Lagazuoi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rifugio Lagazuoi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Everything depends on what you look for. Positives: great place, outstanding views from the terrace, has a bar, private rooms. Negatives: there was no option for private showers - you could only get a shower for money downstairs with other travellers in dormitories. In website it should be more clear about latter fact. Limited food and limited English speaking staff.
Otherwise, it is a good place to try something new.

Room Tip: You should be aware of shared bathrooms in dormitories and need to pay extra. Otherwise, try private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kvantas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 536 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Rif. Lagazuoi (last 2 nights end of Sept13 before the Rif. closed). I would like to have stayed at least another 2 nights and hope to go back early Sept 2014 or 2015! The staff and hosts were great, my private room was very clean and comfortable, and the food/drink was great. The views and walks are what I went there for and I wasn't disappointed. The only VERY small problem was the cost of using the shared bathroom, and the variability of hot water timing/supply. However, this little negative was outweighed by all the other positives - a well run, hospitable and clean Rifugio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PatRich54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The accommodations were everything and more than we expected. The rifugio is privately owned, built by Guido's father and now managed and maintained with love by Guido. Food was excellent and staff was very courteous. The location and scenery is spectacular. I would not hesitate to return and recommend this to anyone who wants to really experience the Dolomites.

Room Tip: If you want more economical, you can choose the bunk house style accommodations, otherwise for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cherwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Excellent food at the top of the world. Nice rooms for a refuge and a perfect place to stay.
I stayed there the second time in 5 years during my Alta Via 1 trips and hiked up from both directions. I recommend hiking up through the Gallery.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our family was on vacation and stayed here one night in early June 2013. We were inspired by the breathtaking views starting with the ride on the cable car up the mountain and once at the top we could see snow covered mountains in all directions for miles. The staff were great and welcoming they allowed us to visit a few days before they formally opened for the season.
We enjoyed the food and drinks and sharing stories.
I would recommend a visit here.
Kevin V.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Rifugio Lagazuoi in August with my two kids (10 & 12) and husband. The dormitory was basic but comfortable, the food was fantastic and the staff warm and helpful. We absolutely loved our stay! We spent a day walking down through the tunnels and hiking back up to the Rifugio, and it was everything we hoped it would be. The views from the deck are out of this world! We saw an amazing lightening storm one night and clear star filled sky the next. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spectacular views! Stayed here aug of last yr as part of a 2 wk hiking and sightseeing trip. I previously booked 2 nights but i cancelled one night due to being jet lagged and stayed an extra night in venice instead. One of my biggest mistake ! I had to tear myself away from the views and i wanted to shot myself. We stayed in a private room with shared bath - very nice and quite comfortable. I usually im weird about shared baths but i didnt mind it here. Bathrooms were clean. The food was also great. The best thing about the place though was the view. I will return! Specially since my bf and I left our favorite Keen slippers there. I mean to get it back :))

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
6.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Villa Blu Cortina
Boutique Hotel Villa Blu Cortina
#36 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
121 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#5 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
171 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sport Hotel Pocol
Sport Hotel Pocol
#51 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
431 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#13 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
164 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#12 of 51 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Lagazuoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Lagazuoi

Address: Monte Lagazuoi, 2752, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $34 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rifugio Lagazuoi is one of the most elevated mountain inns in the Dolomites. Its spacious deck is so famous for the breathtaking views on the Dolomite peaks , UNESCO World Heritage.It is nestled on the summit of Mount Lagazuoi above Passo Falzarego, half way between Cortina d'Ampezzo and Val Badia, between the Natural Park of Fanes and Sennes and the one of the Ampezzo Dolomites. It can be easily reached hiking or by the Lagazuoi cable car.It's an excellent starting point to visit the restored galleries, trenches and emplacements of the 1st World War Open Museum and to ski along the famous Armentarola, the longest and most spectacular slope of the Dolomites, and on all the slopes of the Cortina and Val Badia ski areas.It offers accommodation, bar and restaurant service with local specialities like polenta with roe deer or the typical strudel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rifugio Lagazuoi Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing