We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panorama Extrordinaire”
Review of Rifugio Lagazuoi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rifugio Lagazuoi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having hiked from Rifugio Fanes over many ups and downs and then finally up to Lagazoi, sitting on the huge terrace with an icy cold beer in hand whilst surveying the stunning vista was the icing on the cake for the day.
This Rifugio has stunning views and is justifiably acclaimed by many for that alone. During the day, there are many day trippers who either hike up or take the cable car up, but as the sun sets and casts its myriad of colours across the sky touching the surrounding beauty, the crowds shrink.
Our small group were on half pension so we did not choose our dinner but the food was hearty, nutritous and tasty. The breakfast was an excellent spread and the service in both cases, as well as at the bar, also excellent.
We had a twin room upstairs with equally wonderful views which had comfortable beds and was very clean.
If I have one gripe it's that we had to pay extra for a shower token. By all means use tokens to control the time used in a shower, but surely it could be included in the room cost?
Go there if you can.

Room Tip: Take your own towel otherwise you will need to hire one. A sleeping bag inner sheet is also very han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotdogDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

You get up to the rifugio at the top of the world, sit down on the terrace enjoying a fresh drink and a stunning 360° view around. You then enter the cozy hut, enjoy a great dinner while watching the sky turning orange, red, purple, and the thousands of peaks around marking the skyline sharper and sharper. Wake up the next day with a new adventure in the middle of the Dolomites.
The Lagazuoi hut is a special place to spend a night or more.

Room Tip: Private rooms upstairs are very comfortable and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k_india99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the highlight of our Alta Via 1. People here are very nice, and even if they need to charge to a shower or use of water, it still is the best Refugio in Alta Via. The most expensive as well but, after a 7h hike in the rain, was like an oasis. The drying room for wet gear and boots was fantastic. The rooms clean and worm, 3 toilets next door, including bidet. Food was great, and the best choice in all Refugio's. Thank you, great family business, all the best.
We had our bad day, next day in Refugio Nuvolau.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Place of hotel if perfect that's why I made reservation for this place.
It's a lonely hotel on mountain. So no car parking at the hotel: only cable car or foot travel.
But I should say that place and mountains is the only perfect thing in this hotel.

I don' know how in other month but in August it's over crowded. You think that it's a lonely place. But no. Hundreds of tourists going up by cable car and most part of them staying to drink or eat here. And this place is not very big. So people, people and people... and it's very hard to find a reception here in crowd. No sign "reception".

Finaly. I made reservation about month before travel and made payment for reservation. But on reception: "it's very strange... some mistake... sorry... but we have no free rooms now". I should say that night in this hotel on mountain top should be diamond in my Alps travel. But now no diamond. Only: "here is your payment for reservation and down the mountain there is place in other hotel".

So I only can repeat that it's a perfect place with perfect view, but for me hotel is not friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

It is a wonderfull experience to stay a night at this mountainlodge at 2800 m altitude. The views are amazing and the atmosphere when the lift has stopped running and the last 'dayguest' have left is special.

I've stayed here before as part of an organised ski-tour, but last year I've stayed here with my boyfriend. Via the website of telephone (english speaking) it is easy to make a reservation for a private room or a dorm bed. The bathrooms are shared and the showers work with a coin, but since you are on top of a mountain it is nessecary to save water. The dinner (fixed menu) is usually nice, rustic, italian mountain food.

From Amentarolla (Alta Badia ski-area) there are regular shared taxi-busses to the Lagazuoi cabine lift. At the end of the afternoon, when we arrived there, there where a couple of them waiting. The fee is 5 euro per person. To go back to Amentarolla, you can just ski down the Amentarolla piste, a wonderfull slope with frozen waterfalls, but very flat at the end. The last end back to Amentarolla there is a horse-lift (you hang on a rope behind a horse carriage).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baa57, Proprietario at Rifugio Lagazuoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you very much for the nice and balanced review. See you next year for a new experience in the Dolomites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed two nights as a group of 5 men in a mid-September 3 day rush trip using Ryanair from London. We planned to climb up the tomaselli ferrata on the main middle day.
The refuge was one of the best we have used. We stayed in the 2nd grade dormitories which we found very modern and clean. Our room was a little small but we did have it all to ourselves so that was a bonus. The food was amazing, with plenty of it and a good standard. Bathroom facilities were very good, and had to pay for hot shower.
No discount for BMC/club members which was a disappointment as other refuges offer this.
We found it moderately busy, very clean and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had seen a travelogue that included this place and set about trying to locate it on the internet. We were able to reserve three of the rooms for a single night in July. We saw a lot of Italy in our two weeks but nothing compared with this. Everyone thought that it was the high point of our trip. The views and location were unbelievable. It takes a bit of planning to get here (including timing the cable car), but don't miss this if you're going to be anywhere in the vicinity. The "bar" and deck provided a welcome respite from our travels and we rested up to do the WWI tunnels close by. The hiking was excellent and they fed us like kings - huge portions and very tasty offerings. The rooms were basic but more than adequate. I can't believe anyone would spend any time in their rooms at this place anyway. Prepare to be impressed!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baa57, Proprietario at Rifugio Lagazuoi, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Thank you very much for leaving your nice impressions about our rifugio on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon again in the Dolomites, our beautiful mountains that help us a lot in making our customers happy. Enjoy your trips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
6.2 mi away
Ambra Cortina Hotel
Ambra Cortina Hotel
#6 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
168 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#5 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
247 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
376 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Cristallo, a Luxury Collection R...
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
442 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rosapetra Spa Resort
Rosapetra Spa Resort
#3 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Lagazuoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Lagazuoi

Address: Monte Lagazuoi, 2752, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range: $33 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rifugio Lagazuoi is one of the most elevated mountain inns in the Dolomites. Its spacious deck is so famous for the breathtaking views on the Dolomite peaks , UNESCO World Heritage.It is nestled on the summit of Mount Lagazuoi above Passo Falzarego, half way between Cortina d'Ampezzo and Val Badia, between the Natural Park of Fanes and Sennes and the one of the Ampezzo Dolomites. It can be easily reached hiking or by the Lagazuoi cable car.It's an excellent starting point to visit the restored galleries, trenches and emplacements of the 1st World War Open Museum and to ski along the famous Armentarola, the longest and most spectacular slope of the Dolomites, and on all the slopes of the Cortina and Val Badia ski areas.It offers accommodation, bar and restaurant service with local specialities like polenta with roe deer or the typical strudel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rifugio Lagazuoi Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing