We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the highlight of our Alta Via 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rifugio Lagazuoi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rifugio Lagazuoi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This was the highlight of our Alta Via 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the highlight of our Alta Via 1. People here are very nice, and even if they need to charge to a shower or use of water, it still is the best Refugio in Alta Via. The most expensive as well but, after a 7h hike in the rain, was like an oasis. The drying room for wet gear and boots was fantastic. The rooms clean and worm, 3 toilets next door, including bidet. Food was great, and the best choice in all Refugio's. Thank you, great family business, all the best.
We had our bad day, next day in Refugio Nuvolau.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    111
    29
    14
    8
See reviews for
63
139
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Place of hotel if perfect that's why I made reservation for this place.
It's a lonely hotel on mountain. So no car parking at the hotel: only cable car or foot travel.
But I should say that place and mountains is the only perfect thing in this hotel.

I don' know how in other month but in August it's over crowded. You think that it's a lonely place. But no. Hundreds of tourists going up by cable car and most part of them staying to drink or eat here. And this place is not very big. So people, people and people... and it's very hard to find a reception here in crowd. No sign "reception".

Finaly. I made reservation about month before travel and made payment for reservation. But on reception: "it's very strange... some mistake... sorry... but we have no free rooms now". I should say that night in this hotel on mountain top should be diamond in my Alps travel. But now no diamond. Only: "here is your payment for reservation and down the mountain there is place in other hotel".

So I only can repeat that it's a perfect place with perfect view, but for me hotel is not friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

It is a wonderfull experience to stay a night at this mountainlodge at 2800 m altitude. The views are amazing and the atmosphere when the lift has stopped running and the last 'dayguest' have left is special.

I've stayed here before as part of an organised ski-tour, but last year I've stayed here with my boyfriend. Via the website of telephone (english speaking) it is easy to make a reservation for a private room or a dorm bed. The bathrooms are shared and the showers work with a coin, but since you are on top of a mountain it is nessecary to save water. The dinner (fixed menu) is usually nice, rustic, italian mountain food.

From Amentarolla (Alta Badia ski-area) there are regular shared taxi-busses to the Lagazuoi cabine lift. At the end of the afternoon, when we arrived there, there where a couple of them waiting. The fee is 5 euro per person. To go back to Amentarolla, you can just ski down the Amentarolla piste, a wonderfull slope with frozen waterfalls, but very flat at the end. The last end back to Amentarolla there is a horse-lift (you hang on a rope behind a horse carriage).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baa57, Proprietario at Rifugio Lagazuoi, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the nice and balanced review. See you next year for a new experience in the Dolomites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed two nights as a group of 5 men in a mid-September 3 day rush trip using Ryanair from London. We planned to climb up the tomaselli ferrata on the main middle day.
The refuge was one of the best we have used. We stayed in the 2nd grade dormitories which we found very modern and clean. Our room was a little small but we did have it all to ourselves so that was a bonus. The food was amazing, with plenty of it and a good standard. Bathroom facilities were very good, and had to pay for hot shower.
No discount for BMC/club members which was a disappointment as other refuges offer this.
We found it moderately busy, very clean and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had seen a travelogue that included this place and set about trying to locate it on the internet. We were able to reserve three of the rooms for a single night in July. We saw a lot of Italy in our two weeks but nothing compared with this. Everyone thought that it was the high point of our trip. The views and location were unbelievable. It takes a bit of planning to get here (including timing the cable car), but don't miss this if you're going to be anywhere in the vicinity. The "bar" and deck provided a welcome respite from our travels and we rested up to do the WWI tunnels close by. The hiking was excellent and they fed us like kings - huge portions and very tasty offerings. The rooms were basic but more than adequate. I can't believe anyone would spend any time in their rooms at this place anyway. Prepare to be impressed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baa57, Proprietario at Rifugio Lagazuoi, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Thank you very much for leaving your nice impressions about our rifugio on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon again in the Dolomites, our beautiful mountains that help us a lot in making our customers happy. Enjoy your trips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We were on a walking tour, and decided to walk up to the summit of Lagazuoi through the WW1 tunnels (its hard work, but fascinating and quite an experience - you need a good torch). When you get to the top, next to the cable car station is this large 'hotel', with amazing panoramic views. We slept in a dormitory, which was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, but only a dribble of hot water (probably solar heated). The restaurant/bar had a nice ambiance, and there was a big terrace to sit outside. The evening meal was superb, and there were a variety of things on offer for breakfast.
One tip - if walking up or down, put your bag on the cable car for just 1.50 euros!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Compared to other rifugio's, this facility is quite basic. But what do you want at the top of a 2800m mountain? The location is perfect, the restaurant/terrasse is quite nice, the food is of good quality.

The dormitories are very basic, too large and very cold (even in mid-summer). The shared bathrooms are not very clean.

However, nothing of this matters if the fog disappears and you'll see the most amazing 360-views you've ever seen!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janspruijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
6.6 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#18 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sport Hotel Pocol
Sport Hotel Pocol
#48 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#11 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio Lagazuoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Lagazuoi

Property: Rifugio Lagazuoi
Address: Monte Lagazuoi, 2752, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rifugio Lagazuoi is one of the most elevated mountain inns in the Dolomites. Its spacious deck is so famous for the breathtaking views on the Dolomite peaks , UNESCO World Heritage.It is nestled on the summit of Mount Lagazuoi above Passo Falzarego, half way between Cortina d'Ampezzo and Val Badia, between the Natural Park of Fanes and Sennes and the one of the Ampezzo Dolomites. It can be easily reached hiking or by the Lagazuoi cable car.It's an excellent starting point to visit the restored galleries, trenches and emplacements of the 1st World War Open Museum and to ski along the famous Armentarola, the longest and most spectacular slope of the Dolomites, and on all the slopes of the Cortina and Val Badia ski areas.It offers accommodation, bar and restaurant service with local specialities like polenta with roe deer or the typical strudel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rifugio Lagazuoi Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing