We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff and very small rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cornelio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cornelio
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rude staff and very small rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I disagree with the high reviews on this hotel for several reasons. First, I asked the staff questions on how to get to several hiking trails including a very popular one, the Cinque Torre, they did not know. Instead of trying to find out on how to get to the Cinque Torre, they looked at me in odd and demeaning way. I asked them how to get to Passo Giau, again they did not know but received very odd looks. I asked them more questions on tourist area on how to get there. I finally gave up on asking them questions on how to get to popular tourist attractions because it was clear they were not going to look up this information or help me. Then, they showed me the my room. The room was much smaller then what was perceived on the Internet. Ok, this happens. Then, the final straw was I asked the gentlemen at the front desk how to get to restaurant my friends said was great. He said he thought it was around this one area. So, instead of finding out exactly where this restaurant was and giving me specific directions, he said go that way but failed to show me on the map and did not advise me of a turn I needed to make at the bottom of the hill. So, needless to say, I went the wrong way, and never found the restaurant. This gentlemen should have showed me on the map and should have explained to me how to get there even if this meant he had to explain two to five times. But, things happen for a reason, I met some people along my travels in trying to find the restaurant i never found who saw I was a solo woman traveler upset and helped me get a room in a friendlier hotel in the area. I went back, got my bags, and stayed at a much friendlier hotel that knew tourist areas, good restaurants, and how to get there. I had a great stay at the Victoria Park Hotel. This hotel did refund my monies.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Seine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCornelio C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear,

thank you for your visit.
Our receptionist was born in Cortina d'Ampezzo and so he knows very well all the hiking trails including the Cinque Torri one and all the useful information about Cortina and Dolomiti more in general. Our staff is always polite and kind with all our guests and for that reason your claims are unreliable for us.

We hope to have you back soon in our Hotel to taste the "real" Hotel Cornelio

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
30
27
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

For our trip to visit Giro d'Italia hotel Cornelio was ideal! Great location, wide range of food for breakfast, tasty dinner. The rooms are small but very comfortable. All hotel is very stylish and cozy.
The staff was so friendly and very helpful. Thanks to Danilo for warm welcoming :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaK954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCornelio C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MartinaK954,

thank you so much for your kindly words! We're glad you enjoy our rooms and our food.

Hope to see you soon.

Kindly,

Hotel Cornelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have slept twice with family and friends at Hotel Cornelio and we have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are good-sized, clean and properly heated having been there in December. I have been to the restaurant on four occasions and all the food we had was of a very high standard. The location of the Hotel is excellent and very near to the bus station and to the centre. Will definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCornelio C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi NormanMalta,

thanks so much for your comment! We are glad to know that you and your family and friends enjoyed our Hotel.

We always want to serve high quality food in a kind and warm atmosphere.

Hope to see you soon again,

regards,

Hotel Cornelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for 2 days in October 2012. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, adding in a trundle bed for my son. The room was clean and the beds were so comfortable. The room had a great view of the mountain and for the first time, I actually didn't mind staying in at the hotel to relax and enjoy the views. We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs and the food was delicious. The children loved the lasagna. My husband and I loved the jam at breakfast! I would like to thank Marcel for his valuable advice on where to go and what to see in Cortina and its surrounds. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_K218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCornelio C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tania_K218,

we are very pleased to hear that from you!
We are glad that you loved our "familiar" hotel and our food. Actually Lasagne are one of our strength :-)
Marcel is giving his regards to you and your family.
We are very very happy about your kindly words.

Hope to see you again,

Kindly

Hotel Cornelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Cornelio. Marcelo and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the Hotel to be clean and comfortable and well located next to Cortina center and the Transportation center for Cortina. We were also impressed with the quality of the breakfast and dinner. We ate a typical meal with grilled Dobbaco cheese, grilled vegtegables, polenta and salciccia. We would not hesitate to stay again on our next visit to Cortina d'Apezzo. Gary from San Diego, CA

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hi Gary,
thanks for your kind words. We are very glad to hear that from you.
We hope to see you here again,

Best Regards,

Hotel Cornelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Room size is average, breakfast and the restaurant at night are excellent and the staff all most attentive. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much!
We hope to see you again here at Cornelio.

Best Regards,

Hotel Cornelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

After few nights in small bivouacs and camping in the mountain, it was very nice to sleep in normal clean bed and to have a shower. :)
On the other side the receptionist was amazingly helpful with all our requests and questions about surrounding area.

However this was amazingly pleasant stay in this perfectly located Hotel in Cortina for a very good price

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Cornelio, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for your opinion about us! We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,

Hotel Cornelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellaria
Hotel Bellaria
#35 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Columbia Hotel
Columbia Hotel
#17 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambra Hotel
Ambra Hotel
#21 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontejel
Hotel Pontejel
#40 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#28 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
Hotel Meuble Villa Neve
#7 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cornelio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelio

Property: Hotel Cornelio
Address: Via Cantore 1, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelio 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cornelio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cornelio Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing