We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Certificate of Excellence
switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We spend a week at the Grand Hotel Savoia just before Christmas. The hotel was very quite. The service from the staff, especially the service at breakfast, was outstanding. Very seldom did we experience service like this in a hotel. Not sure, if they can deliver the same service during high season, when the hotel is full.

The only complaint re. service we had was at the Spa of the hotel. The staff running the Spa were not very friendly. Further, your kids under 16 can only use the swimming pool in the Spa until 17h00, which is a bit of an inconvenience considering one is only leaving the ski slopes around 16h00. Even during pre-season with hardly anybody using the Spa our kids had to leave the pool before 17h00. We understand that the Spa does not belong to the hotel and is managed by an outside company.

The hotel is very modern. If won't be the place for you, if you are looking for a cosy Alpine style hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    97
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
101
128
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Rooms nice,
Food excellent, great breakfast,
Concierge very help full.
Absolutely the worst WIFi of any 5 star hotel!!!
Poor coverage with a separate network in the ballroom and general area.
Front desk staff almost rude when ask what's wrong with their WIFI.
Owner must be out of touch with what frequent travelers expect today.
GM nice but handcuffed, they spend a lot of money on their property, but miss the fine details.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norbert1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesmtount
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three days early July 2012, just before the Summer season. We had a beautiful suite with rooftop terrace. Did not feel as being an hotel.
We have travelled numerous times before to European ski resorts and have learned to stay away from main streets to avoid late night noises.
This hotel is located 500 m from the main street within enclosed grounds. Quiet and very good services.
Highly recommending.

Room Tip: rooms over looking the West should be the most peaceful and one can see sun down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We travelled here for a long ski weekend. The hotel has a large lobby bar with a piano playing a good atmosphere. Great location in the centre of Cortina. The hotel has outdoor free parking as well as a garage. The wellness is excellent with a large relaxation area , pool, jacuzzi, saunas. The fitness centre is disappointing. The weights machine was faulty and not usable. Other that there is was only one treadmill and one bicycle which was really not adequate. The restaurant closes too early - 10pm and we were rushed to finish and leave at closing. It is also a bit depressing in the restaurant, I'd recommend eating out and not to take half board if its available.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cortina. It is pricy but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for three days in November of 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We had a street side room and found the view to be very nice. The room was quiet, very spacious, clean and comfortable. It had two king beds, mini-bar and two big windows to enjoy the view. They even provided bath robes and slippers. The cold/hot breakfast which came with the room was just outstanding. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Our compliments to the hotel staff and management!!
Ed @ Andra Higgins

Room Tip: Recommend street side view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

One of the best hotel I've ever seen. Extremely clean, big rooms with perfect service. Nice view on Dolomiti and ski's tracks

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancefloork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

If you want to enjoy the best of Cortina, you definitely have to stay in this hotel. Its convenient location and the excellent structure makes you feel pampered at any time. The staff is very friendly, rooms are spacious, modern and well equipped. They also have a Spa and a swimming pool. Only thing is the treatments are a bit expensive. A plus for the food: from breakfast to dinner, everything is great. And if you have enough money...go for the Barbie Suite!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishprincess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortina d'Ampezzo hotels
0.3 mi away
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
Cristallo Hotel Spa & Golf
#1 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Savoia Palace
Savoia Palace
#10 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Natale
Hotel Natale
#2 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
Hotel Bellevue Suites & SPA
#19 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
Faloria Mountain Spa Resort
#15 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel
Miramonti Majestic Grand Hotel
#5 of 50 in Cortina d'Ampezzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Roma 62, 32043 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Cortina d'Ampezzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#9 Family Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cortina d'Ampezzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Savoia Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing