We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Giorgio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mediterraneo(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel De La Ville(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Traghetto(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Traiano(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Borgo del Mare(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Park Hotel(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samarcanda(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cavalluccio Marino(Santa Marinella)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
306
271
125
49
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
271
125
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise shippre cruisetrain stationrevolving doorshuttle servicelate checknext morningtop flooreuros per personpastarome airportsea viewcharming hotelyour luggagebreakfast roomone night staybreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 786 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed in Civitavecchia before & this time chose to stay at the Hotel San Giorgio. I booked a room about 12 months in advance & friends travelling with us booked a further 2 rooms months later. When we arrived to check in, our friends rooms had been reserved but for some reason our room which had been booked first did not show up on their system, even though I had the confirmed & paid for paperwork in my hands. After searching for a while the man & woman behind the desk discovered that someone from the hotel's end had entered our booking for the wrong year. My wife & I travel often & do realise that, hey people are human & mistakes do happen! To the credit of the staff involved at check in, they realised that this was not our mistake & although the hotel was fully booked they upgraded us into a Junior suite. They were very sorry the mishap had happened & we were more than happy with the outcome.
The suite itself was very nice with some great French style doors that opened onto a balcony with a great view. Breakfast was lovely up on the top floor & service from all staff encountered was friendly & polite. The hotel has possibly the best location in town being across from the water & minutes walk to the Port entrance if boarding a cruise.

Room Tip: The suite we were in had a mezzanine floor where the bed was located. The bathroom was downstairs & the stairs were quite small so this type of room may not be suitable for some people.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night recently pre cruise in a junior suite with terrace overlooking the sea.
I didn't use their transfers from Rome, having opted to use Rome Cabs who were excellent.
I did however book the hotel transfer to the ship which in all fairness was again excellent but as it was only a very short transfer l thought the fee of 29 euro a tad expensive.
I was very warmly greeted upon arrival and check in was quick. The hotel was very quiet and once l had checked in l was shown to the elevator...my two cases put in and l was told to press one for the first floor....and left alone. Now l do not like elevators but had no option but to get in and hope for the best! My suite was right by the elevator so l was very quickly in. The suite was basic and l do agree with a previous poster that the staircase up to the bedroom was a bit wobbly! All that was upstairs was a bed albeit very comfortable. Downstairs was a bathroom and a small lounge area which lead onto a terrace overlooking the sea. As l was travelling solo and didn't wish to venture out l wandered down to the bar area to get a drink and also to enquire about dining. Staff were very quickly summoned to assist me and l enjoyed a glass of wine followed by a very acceptable dinner in the smoking area of the dining room. The dining room is in two parts, smoking and non smoking.....and very well separated in my opinion. The rest of the hotel is non smoking apart from the terrace area outside which due to the weather was not offering outside facilities on the night l was there.
Retiring for the evening l found that l couldn't over lock my suite which was a worry as l was sleeping upstairs so l placed a chair behind the door to give me peace of mind and all was well.
Breakfast the next morning was very good with a wide choice of fruit, cereals, Italian meats and cheeses, more than adequate.
Having dined in house the night before l was permitted to stay in my room until l departed at noon and there was a porter on hand to assist with my luggage. The shuttle to the ship was very good and deposited me right next to the boarding gate.
A four star hotel it is not, but l would stay there again if cruising out of Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEEMILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked this hotel before our Celebrity cruise on Oct. 19th,because it was so near the port and right in town. When we got to our room and opened the shutters, our view was wonderful!!

The staff was polite, friendly, and professional. The room was large for Europe and the bathroom was very large and very nice. The complimentary breakfast was excellent.

I would highly recommend it for anyone leaving on a cruise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eduk8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel San Giorgio for one night before joining a Crystal Cruise.We had a Junior Suite with baclony and sea view.Dinner in the restuarant was very good and the staff were all very helpful and firendly.Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John7972013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear John7972013,

Thank you for your review and for staying at the Hotel San Giorgio prior to your cruise. We are happy that you have enjoyed our Junior Suite a must for our cruise traveler in order to start the day with a fantastic view on the sea.
Our Piccadilly restaurant is one of the most famous restaurant in Civitavecchia and we are glad that you have enjoyed also the attitude of our staff.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in your future stay in Civitavecchia.
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the San Giorgio the night be for our Azamara Cruise Oct 23 2013. It was a great location very near the port and we had bought a package that included a driver to meet our flight and a sea front suite and dinner and breakfast. The driver was waiting with a sign and had a beautiful new vehicle and was very professional. The dinner was very good and was served in the restaurant off the lobby. It was too bad the smoking section was in the front and blowing all the smoke into the non-smoking.

The room was another story. It was a 2 story climb on a narrow rickety staircase to go to bed
and unfortunately the bathroom was on the bottom floor. Scarey to go down at night especially but going up and down at any time was challenging and we are quite fit.
All the furniture was shabby and in dire need of upgrading in every way. It did have the promised balcony but only a couple of straight back small wooden rickety chairs and very dirty.

We wouldn't go back

Room Tip: The air conditioning didn't cool the upstairs bedroom
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Mrs Shelly H,

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel San Giorgio and for taking the time for leaving a review of your experience in our Hotel. First of all we would like to thank you for your opinion about the room and your remarks will help us in order to improve our standard. We would like also to inform all our Guest that we have programmed maintenance works in order to refresh the Hotel.
We are glad you have enjoyed our transfer service and the attitude of all our staff, we work really hard on this in order to give to our Guest all the possible help in order to let them fully enjoyed their Holiday.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you on your future stay in Civitavecchia in order to show you our improvements.
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews