We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wheelchair Accessible Hotel, Ideal for Pre-Cruise”
Review of Hotel San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Giorgio
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really nice wheelchair accessible Hotel with very helpful staff and is in a great location on the foreshore near the port. We only stayed the one night before our cruise and this hotel was nearly ideal. The accessible room was at the rear with a window onto a lane, it was quiet, very clean, well air conditioned and had plenty of room for a wheelchair. The bathroom worked but was just ok, the wheel in shower was to small and it was impossible to shower without flooding the floor. That aside the lifts were all large enough and the entire hotel is accessible. The included breakfast was very good and the restaurant looked good but we ate out at one of the many nearby restaurants. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to the port but it is not wheelchair accessible however it is only about 300 metres to the port entrance where there is a free accessible shuttle bus to the ship.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheelietrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Mr Wheelietrue,

Thank you for your nice words and for staying with us prior your cruise. We are really glad you have appreciated the attitude of our staff and the comfort of our wheelchair accessible room.
We would like to thank you also for your remarks on the shower, this suggestion will help us in order to improve our services.
We are really proud of our breakfast buffet, a selection of sweet cakes handmade directly by our Chef and a selection of cold cuts and cheese, boiled eggs and pancakes homemade.
We will suggest you for your next stay in Civitavecchia to try or Piccadilly Restaurant a must in our City.
Regarding our shuttle service, we are working in order to have a shuttle service wheelchair accessible for the future.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again for your future stay in Civitavecchia
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Giorgio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 727 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the San Giorgio both before our recent cruise and after our cruise.
The hotel is a little quirky in that the bedrooms we had had mesanine floors to the bedrooms. On our first stay we had a bedroom at the back of the hotel, but on our second visit we were upgraded to a sea view room. We had asked on our first visit could we please check in early as we would be off the ship at 9am. They said that there would not be a problem and if they had a room available then we could have our room right away, this they did. A great lady receptionist, spoke perfect English and could not do enough for you.
We found the hotel very convenient for the shops and the restaurants that were near by. Thought that the prices of meals was rather expensive. The breakfast was included and was enough for what we wanted. Would have been better if the waiter cleared the dishes after eating, but seemed to leave the table till you left.
Over all we would use this hotel again.
Only negative was the fact that the bath had a large crack in the bottom and we flooded the bathroom when we had a shower. We reported this when we checked out and they were to send maintenance to check it out.

Room Tip: Room 120 had a sea view and was a little larger than our first room 111.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelebrityFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Mr CelebrityFan,

Thank you for your stay to the Hotel San Giorgio and for your review. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as guest for the 2 stay, and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We try to do our best to satisfy our guest request, so we were happy to give you the first room available and we are happy you have enjoyed the free upgrade in a sea view room.
The Hotel San Giorgio is located in the center of the town, really close to the shopping area and to the seaside promenade.
We have take good note about your suggestion regarding the breakfast service and regarding the bathroom of your room and we will do our best in order to improve this aspects of our service.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you in your future stay in Civitavecchia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stay in the major hotel chains every week for business so wasn't sure what to expect of this independent hotel. I was surprised. The staff were so friendly. We got a very warm greeting. The room comfortable and clean. The hotel restaurant was very nice with a good menu. We also used the hotel shuttle bus from FCO and the service was excellent. On the whole a lovely stay that I just can't fault.

Room Tip: We stayed in 114 which had an internal balcony which was quirky.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Mr Martinb74,

thank you for your really nice words and for your stay. We are really proud to our staff and we are happy you have enjoyed it. We work really hard on our staff in order to try to make the guest stay special.
Our Shuttle service from the Airport to the Hotel it is really appreciated by our cruise travelers, so they can start their holiday in all the comfort. We also have shuttle service from the Hotel to the Cruise Terminal, in order to board with all the comfort.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you on your next trip to Italy
Arrivederci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice Hotel rooms clean and spacious good hotel to stay if going for a cruise and joining a ship Courtesy Bus available to take you to the port .We stayed after a cruise and travelled on the following morning to Airport in Rome
Staff friendly food was adequate . would stay here again without hesitation Easy walking distance to train station and is fairly central for walking into town

Room Tip: Clean rooms had no issue with noise from AC or Corridors overall good stay
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having a wonderful stay once again at this grand hotel in Civitavecchia. It is always so nice to come back to and to see the same familiar faces amongst the friendy, attentive staff. Even though it has been two years since my last visit, I was given a warm welcome back, a fabulous room and top quality service that I have always received at this hotel.
Dinner and lunch have been fabulous at the hotel's 'Restaurant Piccadilly' with the set menu changing daily.
I really can't rate this hotel enough and in my experience it is far ahead of the simular star rated hotels in the area.
When traveling as much as I do for business, it is always nice to find a hotel that offers such a 'Home From Home' feel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rikkijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here after getting the ferry from Barcelona, as we had to return home via Rome. We were picked up promptly from the boat, and the hotel also arranged to take us to the airport the next day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is very convenient - the seafront promenade is right there and an easy walk to the main street. The breakfast was very good for Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442DEE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked this hotel online prior to our cruise. Arrived by train after spending several days in Rome. It was an easy walk (even with our luggage) from the train station. In fact, we tried to get a taxi and the driver told us to walk.....) Great location across from the harbor, which provided a lovely view from our room. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, the bed was prepared with rose petals fashioned into a heart shape!! Breakfast was included with our room and it was quite adequate for us. After breakfast it was only a short walk to the pier where the bus awaited to whisk us to our ship. Ciao, Civitavecchia, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view - it's worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patleut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraPalomba, Direttore at Hotel San Giorgio, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Mr Patleut,

Thank you for staying with us before your cruise and for your review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and that you had appreciated the little surprise we prepared for you and your wife in such this special occasion.
The room with the view on the sea are a must that with a little extras can be reserved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
1.6 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio

Address: Viale Garibaldi 34, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: $110 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing