We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
32
36
16
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
36
16
4
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 92 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Villa Susanna is an easy walk from the railway station and the port of Civitavecchia. It is on the ground floor of an old building and has four very high and quite large rooms, each with a bathroom/toilet. The accommodation is clean and adequate - certainly okay for one night. It is owned by a local travel agent and her mother goes in and services it. One thing I noticed is that the rooms have the original locks from when the place was a private house - ie, they could probably be picked with a piece of stout wire. Don't go out and leave all your money there! The bathroom is quite clean - though in our room the shower drain was blocked so that when you showered the water level rose up to your ankles and reached the top of the tray. You then have to stop showering to avoid flooding the room. Breakfast was left the night before in a plastic dome; you get four pieces of sliced white bread, some (rather dry) cake, and pats of butter and some jam. It was really a rather poor breakfast. There are two coffee machines - one espresso, the other a filter. The coffee was the worst I have tasted in many years; truly vile, obviously the cheapest the supermarket sold. If you need coffee to wake up in the morning, heat water in their microwave and use instant coffee. The place is relatively cheap - and, as I said, okay for one night. But not more!

Room Tip: I believe room 4 is the biggest; one room (I forget which) has a dedicated bathroom that you have to access from the corridor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A very affordable & convenient B&B prior to a cruise. This property only have four rooms and nicely decorated with spacious rooms & bathrooms. Wifi & breakfast is included. As we had a late flight into Rome, we requested for a private transfer from the B&B and the price was reasonable. Furthermore, we wish to avoid the hassle of looking for taxis and haggling on prices.
The next day after checking out, my sister lost her wedding ring and believe it might be in the B&B. Since this B&B does not have a reception and the owner only comes in when there are arrivals & departures, we tried calling the owner. Luckily with just a few words in English, she understood and thankfully she found it and took the trouble to come over to the B&B to return the lost ring. Bless her for the effort & honesty!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at Villa Susanna one night prior to a cruise. It is a short walk from the train station. It's about a 10 minute walk to the cruise ship terminal. We only had one wheeled suit case apiece so this wasn't bad at all. I had corresponded with them a number of times with email. I knew up front that they wanted to be paid in cash upon arrival. The lady that checked us in knew very little English but we communicated okay.

We reserved one of their ensuit rooms. Our bedroom was spacious, neat, tidy and quiet with a comfortable bed. The bathroom sparkled and was spotless. The wifi worked well. We would definitely stay here again.

The breakfast is very well organized. In the little kitchen there are covered, tupperware trays with the room number on it. Your room's breakfast and dishes are in it. It mainly consisted of bread and breakfast cake. The kitchen had a toaster, microwave and a small refrigerator with milk and juices. Coffee and tea were available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okiesooner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here prior to catching a cruise in Civitavecchia. The B&B has shared kitchen facilities including a fridge, stove, water and snacks. The room was large and airy. The owner spoke only Italian, but I know enough to communicate well and we had no questions she could not answer. Cash only on arrival is accepted. The rate was reasonable. The location is up the hill a bit from the shore line and is close to several coffees shops and grocery stores.

We enjoyed our short stay here and would like to thank the owner for a pleasant experience. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dtlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Villa Susanna four nights between cruises. Close to train station, downtown and restaurants along the water, it was a perfect location. Train travel made it easy and relaxing to go back and forth to Rome everyday. Though accommodation was spartan, it was very clean, a simple breakfast was included, and information easily available. We would choose to stay here again in the future if we want to be in the Rome area, or come in early for a cruise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews