We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at a very good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Traiano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Traiano
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel at a very good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Traiano last year for one night before a cruise. We were delayed 27 hours en route from ATL but our transportation was at the airport waiting for us to arrive and we were so happy to see him. The front desk staff was also wonderful with suggestions and directions for dinner and a little shopping. We only had about 30 minutes before the stores closed due to our late arrival. He directed us to a tiny grocery store to purchase wine for our cruise, and we found some excellent wines in that tiny store and had a great pizza and beer at a local pizzeria. Our room had a huge window which overlooked a side street. The room and bath were very clean and we were pleased. The breakfast was more than we anticipated. Their buffet was very plentiful with scrambled eggs, meats, cheeses, breads, butter, jams, juices, yogurt and pastries..I don't know what more you would want for breakfast! This year we are staying 2 nights before our cruise departs and will take the train from the airport. We're looking forward to doing a little more shopping and enjoying the area and restaurants and we're looking forward to staying at Hotel Traiano again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrueSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    133
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
124
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Like most other reviewers we stayed here the night before departing on a Cruise. Gianni collected us and our large cases from the airport and delivered us to the hotel. The room was clean and adequate there is wi-fi, a safe and it was a large room. I did not note any distinctive or unpleasant smells, the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was continental with hams, cheeses, pastries, bread, tea and coffee, fruit juice.

There was a shuttle to the port which took us directly from the hotel. The staff were very pleasant and recommended restaurants and provided a map and directions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed one night before a cruise. Good location, clean rooms, with a shuttle to the port. Overall, a good value. Also served a nice breakfast. I recommend staying here before going on a cruise, instead going into Rome for a day after we landed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L10133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Traiano for one night before boarding a Royal Carribean Cruise ship. We booked a transfer with the hotel to pick us up at the airport in Rome. Our flight into Rome from our connection in Berlin was repeatedly delayed by small increments of time (15 min, then 1/2 hour, then 15 more minutes etc) until we finally took off more than 5 hours late! I noticed that our departure time in Berlin was never updated (not once) so I was certain that our driver from Hotel Traiano would not be there to pick us up.Unbelievably Gianni, our driver from Hotel Traiano was there waiting for us! He had waited the whole time! We were so shocked and thankful! What great service! The hotel itself is perfectly situated. You can stroll about for dinner and there are small shops nearby. Rooms are clean, and our family suite was spacious for 4 people. Breakfast was good, with a variety of choices to satisfy most people. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here early June to overnight for a cruise. The hotel had a horrible odour throughout similar to a toilet de-odouriser smell. My wife was very upset and wanted to go else-where but I convinced her to stay the night. Big mistake, we should have looked else-where. Apart from the strong odour(which was probably to disguise the cigarette smoke smell) the service at the front desk and breakfast room was not existent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimitri40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltraiano, Proprietario at Hotel Traiano, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Lord
we regret that your stay was not good because customer satisfaction is the goal of our work: while I respect your opinion, however, clarify some things: You refer to the bad odor present throughout the hotel, bad odor that was nothing but a professional product igenizzante used to sanitize with a pleasant fragrance to lime. Now that his wife did not like this fragrance but from here you can argue that the 'smell was horrible ..., we would have done anyway to change the room with other untreated igenizzante with this, as to the front desk should be more specific in describing how the service is not for breakfast and I would just like for example make a list of just some of the things that are present in the buffet .: croissant doughs and pastries, fruit pies, tarts, muffins, jams, chocolates, honey, biscuits, scrambled eggs, ham, salami, cheeses, fresh fruit, fruit syrup, corn flakes, muesli, yoghurt, bread, bread fresh sandwiches with milk, fruit juice, orange juice, etc.. etc. .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Traiano to go on cruise the next day. The hotel has very nice accommodations and amenities. However, what I want to rave about is their staff and their helpfulness! Our luggage did not make it to Rome when we did and they went out of their way to help us, making phone call after phone call for us trying to find our bags and then get them. All done in a very friendly and gracious manner. Thank you to Alessandra, the gentleman the next day and the rest of the staff for your wonderful assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: An excellent choice for your pre-cruise stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traiano

Property: Hotel Traiano
Address: Via Fabio Filzi 1, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Traiano 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Traiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traiano Hotel Civitavecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing