We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location close to the port and lovely beach”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    37
    31
    35
See reviews for
30
49
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived in Civitavecchia by train which was just a couple of blocks away. We stayed one night before our cruise, and were only a couple of blocks away from the pier shuttle also. The restaurants and bars lined the same street and were right across the street from the beach. The staff was friendly. Our only complaint was the fact that we booked an ocean view room, but upon arrival were told they did not have any left and the hotel was completely full.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owasso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

an excellent location between the cruise port and train station. right on the sea front with lovely views of the sea. breakfast was adequate not special and not bad. the hotel makes a charge for the internet which i felt was not good since i was paying over 100 euro for a room for 2 persons for one night was quite enough without being charged extra for an internet connection. the hotel could benefit from some tender love and care to restore it to its former glory as it is now rather tired in appearance and decorations. finally i did not find a safe in the room.

Room Tip: try to get a sea view as the view is very very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franklondon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

dirty room and bathroom
old furnitures
dirty carpet
The breakfast was ok (although limited variety)
Close to the port (about 500 m from the shuttle buses).
Too expensive for the services it offers.
The hotel needs an extensive renovation. At least they can paint the walls in the rooms which are very dirty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Civitavecchia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

After reading the reviews and looking at the photos I was afraid that we had made a BIG mistake in booking this hotel for one night prior to a cruise. Was I in for a surprise! The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and overlooked the water. There was no balcony but the window opened and was large. The bedding was clean. The bathroom was clean and the only complaint I have is the showerhead comes right out of the ceiling and cannot be adjusted. We did not see any bugs at all. The area was nice and we went for a long walk after dinner. Breakfast was typical for Europe and tasted good. We would recommend this hotel for anyone needing to be near the port.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have to say that all the people at the hotel were very polite, however the service not so good. Rooms would be acceptable if they were clean. One of the rooms we had a leak from the room above, hotel solution was to put a towel on the floor. We were there for only 2 nights so it was not worth waisting time for us. The town was pretty but it was only a night base for us. I would not go there again even if it was still a good price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lourdescouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel was digusting. Stairways, hallways and room in desperate need of updating. Shower was loaded with mould. The rooms are nothing like what they show on the website. They made us pay the night in advance. ......probably knew I would refuse to pay full amount after I spent the night. The only thing going for it is the location and view if you get if you have room in the front. The breakfast is adequate.
We landed up there as our original hotel was overbooked and this is where they brought us, therefore I never got to read reviews on it beforehand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Penelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#9 of 10 in Civitavecchia
202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Viale Giuseppe Garibaldi 38, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediterraneo is a conforttable hotel located in the core of the city along the seaway with a beautiful ocean view, near the harbour and the railway station. Many rooms are completely refurbished during April 2012. All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, hair-dryer, sat-tv, wi-fi internet connection, direct dial telephone and mini-bar. Our staff is at Your disposal for any information that You required during Your stay as transfer to airport/port, maps, stores and pharmacies, city-tour, timetables bus/train, beaches and bar/restaurant. At 200 mt You can find free shuttle service to jetty- boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Civitavecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing