We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Civitatours

Civitatours
Ranked #8 of 26 Tours in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“excellent day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

having been to Rome when we came to the port on a cruise wanted to do something different, so organised a private tour with the help of Ursula around Tarquinia . Gianluca was great guide and we had a great day, going to places off the tourist trail. One of the churches we enterd had a Novice Monk playing at the organ that i will remember for a long time. The place he took us for lunch, Podere Giulio was amazing. Thankyou

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank handbagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    29
    6
    5
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This tour was the definition of disorganization”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I bought 2 full fare tickets online from Smart Cruise Tours - Round trip with S. Peter priority entrance. I didn't realize that it was a reseller of Civitatours, nor that we paid more than others, because online costs more :( The day before we checked to see if I can walk to the meeting place comfortably. Didn't realize that we have to march to where the bus picks us up nearly back to our hotel. Stairs to climb, no where to sit and a wait of more than 30 minutes past the time on the ticket. Turned out that all the passengers had different tickets with different destinations and different prices. Took time to sort things out :-( The tour of S. Peter's was rushed and minimal. We enjoyed our free time in the Vatican after, but were flabbergasted that there were no washrooms nor seating places where we were to meet up with our bus. All in all I would nor go with either of these companies or their affiliates again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank curi0ust00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Civitavecchia - tell the tourists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped here whilst on a cruise. Instead of doing an organised excursion to Rome, as we recently been there - how glad we did On arrival we visited the local information centre who promptly offered to take our small party on a free tour around the town.it was excellent. The two hour guided tour covered the local attractions, including the new interactive tourist office,, Church, and a free sample of the local food and wine at a local restaurant.. I am very glad that we stopped here as otherwise, I wouldn't have had the opportunity to visit this tranquil port and learn the local culture and history in Civitavecchia, Would visit again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank EHOLIDAY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Panoramic Tour of Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked this tour online from the UK direct with Civita tours to match up with a Carnival Cruise stop. The price was fantastic, it cost less for all 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids age 10 and 8) to do this tour than for one of us to do a comparable tour with the cruise line, the booking process was relatively straightforward after some email communication! The cruise shuttle bus dropped us off directly in front of the Civita reps who had all of our booking details, we had a short walk, as stated on the website, to the office where we had a short wait for our bus which was on time. The bus was comfortable and air conditioned (important in the 32 degree heat!) and got us to our first stop in about an hour. We had a short walk to the Vatican, and automatically got a 'fast pass' past the line to enter St Peters Basilica (this was because we booked in advance online, they were also available to purchase for a small additional cost on the day). We were left to ourselves to explore the Basilica and Vatican City for about 1 and a half hours, which was perfect timing for our family group, just enough time to experience the important bits before the kids got too hot or too bored! Short walk back to the bus and onto see the Colosseum, Sadly not enough time to go into the Colosseum, but enough to wander around it and take photos, then onto the Trevi fountain which was beautiful but very crowded in August! We then had approximately an hour and a half in which to wander around, get something to eat (a fantastic cafe opposite the Pantheon was where we ended up!!) and about a 15-20 minute walk in a single direction in order to meet with our group and tour leader to get the bus back to the cruise terminal, and we arrived at the appointed hour. The tour for us was perfectly timed, we had a great tour guide who gave us lots of interesting information while we were on the bus, but left us to our own devices at our stop off points, which is what we prefer. We saw lots of Rome that we would not have been able to see on our own! There was a reasonable amount of walking and it was very hot, but not so much walking as to cause anyone other than those with mobility problems any difficulty. I would definitely recommend this tour and this tour company and would use them again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Fihicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Panoramic Tour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I purchased the 3-port combo package for my family of 4 from Smart Cruise Tours in late May. From the shuttle bus drop-off, we had to walk for approx. 15min to Civita tour bus. I wasn't aware that I could choose either the classical tour or panoramic tour (it wasn't written on the voucher); and the person who checked our voucher just placed us on the panoramic tour for which we know later that the full classical tour was filled. While the voucher indicated that the departure time from the port was between 9.15-9.30am, the bus did not leave till 9.50 or 10am as they were waiting to get more customers to fill the bus.

The tour included sightseeing of various attractions while on the bus; and we only alighted to see the Colosseum, Trevi fountain and St. Peter's Basilica. The tour felt quite rushed and there were a lot of walking from the coach stop areas to the attractions. Our guide, a lady, was knowledgeable but it was sometimes hard to decipher her English. We had a bad experience when we were going to visit the St. Peter's Basilica, as we were brought to a souvenir shop near the Basilica and had to stay there for as long as 40minutes. When we asked the guide why we had to wait, she said that we were waiting for the skip the queue tickets from her colleague. In the end, we realised that we were actually waiting for another tour group from the same company to arrive so that we could enter the Basilica together. There were a lot of waiting on that day due to confusion over the change in entrance to the Basilica. Finally, when we entered the Basilica, we were only given a poor 30-minute visit which was definitely insufficient. Thus, we rushed through everything and went back to the meeting point at the souvenir shop. To our astonishment, the tour group left without us and according to the staff at the shop, we missed them by only a minute or two. We panicked, called the guide and were told to find our way to the coach ourselves when we didn't even know the place! If not for the kind staff at the souvenir shop who led us, we wouldn't have been able to find the tour. The coach was parked in an area so far away that we were so tired after running from the souvenir shop to the coach. When we met the guide, she claimed that she had waited for us, but I did not understand why she did not try to contact us, or at least they could have fixed the place for alighting and boarding the bus in the first place.

Overall, I think that a private or semi-private onshore excursions will be more worthwhile as compared to a group tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nattttty91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Civitatours also viewed

Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Civitatours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing