We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussels the best!!”
Review of Alta Marea

Alta Marea
Ranked #7 of 236 Restaurants in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mussels the best!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went here for lunch....server didn't speak English well but she did a great job, waiting on us...Food was excellent....prices in line.....place was very clean....we sat outside on patio...and had a lovely time.....

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank msCoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    209
    58
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seafood and Pasta By the Sea”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic meal including a Seafood Trio (which featured steamed mussels and clams, an octopus and potato salad and a calamari salad) and a Cacio e Pepe stuffed Ravioli with tomatoes. All washed down with a carafe of house white wine. And we got to enjoy it overlooking the Mediterranean with a cool breeze blowing through the terrace outdoor seating. The staff were attentive and spoke good enough English to make it pleasant. And the prices were amazing! With food like that, you barely need to make the drive in to Rome!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cseldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food was excellent and fresh”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending one day & night in Civitavecchia prior to boarding our cruise ship, on our arrival at The Hotel San Giorgio we asked the receptionist to recommend to us a local restaurant not far from hotel, they said to try the Alta Marea where the location just across the road right on the water front.

We arrived late afternoon at the rear of the property so not sure if it was open, we was greeted by a lovely lady who spoke only basic English who gave us the option of sitting inside or outside the restaurant we opted for inside where she quickly served us a drink and bread, the restaurant was very clean but had slightly tired decor and very quite with little ambiance, the customers that where there seemed to be locals which in my mind say’s a lot, looking at the menu I wanted a main as a starter which I found hard to explain to the waitress who quickly volunteered her daughter who spoke excellent English she turned out to also be the chef and nothing was a problem what we wanted we got ...The waitress explained she was the proud mother of the chef and the restaurant was a family concern.

I had a local beer which was very nice and my wife had the local house white wine which was not to her liking and had to choose another, Food was excellent and fresh everything we had was delicious portions were large. Service was attentive and when the bill game up I was presently surprised at the total which I thought very reasonable,

When we are next in Civitavecchia I will most certainly visit the Alta Marea Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Sought out this restaurant out after reading such great reviews. Extremely offhand service and mediocre food - expensive.

There was a table of what appeared to be business people who appeared to take priority over other diners.

Tired decor and very little ambiance. Lots of other options around this area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“perfectly”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant with excellent food and friendly staff, I recommend to try the fish and sausages, they are very tasty here. Also, the restaurant offers a great view of the sea

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dimitriy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Marea also viewed

Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Alta Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing