We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alta Marea

Alta Marea
Ranked #6 of 233 Restaurants in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
everywhere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We work on a Cruise ship that spends 6 months in the Med and are always looking for good food! After checking Tripadvisor we went to Alta Marea, Lovely setting near the water, Great food, the seafood platter very generous and fresh and my Sausage and Mushroom pasta ( sounding nice if not inspired) is possible the best i have eve had!!!! Thank you Chef, We'll be back again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KT_BFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    204
    58
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely waterfront dining.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Spent a few days in Civitavecchia and this was my favorite restaurant. Location is right on the water front. In the evenings it is lovely to dine outside and enjoy the ocean breeze and relatively cooler temp from the hot summer day. Food is excellent and fresh. Everything I had was delicious. Service was attentive. Price was reasonable given all factors. In addition to transiting cruise passengers, this place is a favorite among locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Welltraveledgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great food, great service and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I went here with a group of friends before boarding a cruise ship. Loved the family feel of the place. We sat outside and had a great view of the beach. The fish was fresh, delicious and reasonably priced. I will definitely be revisiting this place next time I am cruising.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You'll love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A family-run business that won't disappoint. If you're off the cruise ship and want some wonderful Italian/Neapolitan seafood, go to this place! The restaurant is very pleasant and clean. If the weather is nice, you can eat outside. Staff is kind and efficient. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Falamericana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service, excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We strolled in to this restaurant by chance while we were spending time in the vicinity of Rome Airport when our flight back home was cancelled because of Hurricane Irene. We were not expecting anything exceptional, ww were interested at the beachside verana to watch the sunset. The food we ordered was simple; pizza, pasta, calzone; but it turned out to be the best we have eaten during our week-long trip. Everything was fresh prepared and the home-made deserts were outstanding. Above all the personnel went above and beyond to make us feel satisfied. They explained every dish in detail despite limited English; they called in someone to translate English and without any objections they replaced a dish which was not prepared to our expectations; this is a rarity that one would not experience in entire Europe. If we would have spent more time in this area we would probably eat here every meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank crtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Marea also viewed

Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Alta Marea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing