We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel in historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Porto di Roma
Ranked #12 of 42 Civitavecchia B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, although the rooms are really small (at the toilet you have to decide to either put your knees nearly into the shower or under the washbasin). Service is great, the receptionists are both very nice and helpful.

It is situated in a quiet, but still centrally located street near the market, so you can walk everywhere and still have a quiet room to enjoy.

The Wifi is working well, from the room and from the lobby equally.

The only disadvantage is that this old house has a very steep staircase, which you have to walk up to 2nd (for Americans 3rd) floor with all your luggage. So - if you are elderly or handicapped, do not book this hotel.

Breakfast is italian with a little extra cheese and ham.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evaschw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here pre-cruise recently and we had the most AMAZING experience. I am a review reader through and through!!! I try to stayed informed on everything and I am well organized when it comes to travel, so I always look for the same in my accomadations! I knew going to Europe was going to be a bit of a challenge because neither one of us knows Italian fluently, however, Ana really truly made us feel comfortable regardless of the language barrier! I honestly can't express in words how wonderful Ana was, to be honest I stayed at this hotel only because of Ana!!! The room was delightful, the breakfast the next morning was YUMMY, and Ana was so so helpful with getting us directions to local restaurants, taxi the next morning, and getting us into our rooms comfortably! Overall, the bext experience that I had in Italy period! The hotel was so close to all the restaurants, train terminal, and the pier. Overall, great for convenience! The price you most certainly cannot beat, everything is super expensive in Europe and this was a great value! Make sure you have Ana make you an authentic cup of Cappuccino before you depart, AMAZING! :))))) Such a terrific experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to read other reviews from past travelers! The pictures provided are by far super deceiving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica7hepperly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at this delightful hotel pre-cruise and were so happy with this little gem we decided to stay a night there post cruise as well ! The hotel is simple , though spotlessly clean , but what makes it so appealing are the staff . Ana greeted us with such warmth on both occasions , nothing was too much trouble . We arrived very early ,both days we we able to be accommodated immediately .. Both she and Domenico cannot be praised highly enough ! We will be back .
P.s. Great little bar next door and a lovely piazza a minute away with fabulous restaurants . We had a wonderful meal at La Passata , Renato runs the restaurant as if in his own home with treasured guests . He even sent us on our way with a bottle of their own label red !
Having the second stop in Citivecchia we were able to discover the many layers of this port town
Ovely

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny_hyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here prior to leaving for a 7 day cruise. The hotel was difficult to find from the train station but after a few wrong turns we found it. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. It was a short walk to the pier for the cruise and the staff provided us with a map. If we ever leave from Civitavecchia again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFL80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The staff member was particularly helpful on both arrival and departure. My luggage was carried in from the taxi as well as up and down the stairs. My specific room requests were taken into account. Information and directions were freely provided. A taxi was phoned for my departure. The room and bed were clean and comfortable for my overnight stay. Civitavecchia is a small town and the hotel is in very easy walking distance of the shops, old town, port, etc. The only negative was the automatic vending machines in the hallway outside my room were noisy and a disturbance when they were used during the night.

Room Tip: A quiet room away from the vending machines in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nermacis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hotel Porto di Roma is SO cute! The staff here was amazing! We stayed one night prior to a cruise, and would definitely come back. It is not the most fancy hotel in Civitavecchia, but I don't think 2 stars does it justice.

This is only one of two hotels we stayed in while in Italy - this one definitely had small rooms, but they were nice and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler62001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked this room for one night prior to a cruise. Our booking was based on trip advisor reviews and cost. The room was clean and comfy. Nice bed. Although the room was one floor up and there was no lift, the staff brought up our bags with smiling faces. Great service and the staff offered suggestion for nearby restaurants and shopping. Nice open air market behind the hotel. Easy walk to the port entrance. Bottom line, I'd go again.

Room Tip: Not the easiest to find. Keep their phone number in case of a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
774 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
263 reviews
2 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alibrandi Palace
Alibrandi Palace
#6 of 42 in Civitavecchia
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto di Roma

Address: Via Montegrappa 27, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Civitavecchia
Price Range: $80 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Porto di Roma 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Porto di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing