We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a way to start off our cruise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Scaletta - CLOSED

La Scaletta
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a way to start off our cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Are you in Civitavecchia a day or two before embarking on a cruise? Well, we have a tip for you ... eat dinner at La Scaletta!!! This fabulous restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel reception person as being one of the finest, family owned restaurants in the city. Since it was within walking distance, my husband and I, and our two close friends, decided to give it a try. From the appetizer to the dessert, from the caffe latte to the wine AND complimentary after dinner cordial, we were delighted with original, Italian fare. Every single dish was absolutely delicious and abundant. When we finally finished and left this wonderful restaurant, we could not have been more pleased and comfortably full. Ask to meet the chef. She is delightful! So, do not leave Civitavecchia without a visit to La Scaletta. You will have a wonderful time and carry away great memories of incredibly food, lovingly prepared and served with gusto!!! Ciao!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JudiandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
milford, CT
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lunch and dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We came across this pleasant restaurant by accident - it was just at the bottom of the hill from Hotel Traiano. We had a nice sandwich lunch there which was not on the menu, but the host obliged us by asking the kitchen to make them, so returned for a tasty pizza supper .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinniedog20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antibes
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“finest fish food a bit expencive but we eat what we pay for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the entréè is a must, just delicious, the pasta dish and all the fish are very well cooked and it's rare to have such a good dinner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilleleje, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lobster, with pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We just dined there tonight my wife and I, and it was a very nice evening.
The food was fresh and tasty, and prices was very fair.

We are from denmark, and only speak english, and zero Italian, but it was actually very funny to try and inform the italien speeking waiter, what we wanted for dinner.

The place nice, quiet, and we will go there again, its not a michelin star restaurent, but its authentic Italian seafood, and if you love that, and can laugh about their english,thenits a greta place.
We had a wondefull evening :-)

Yupa and Peder

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The food was actually very good. We had as a starter some bruschetta with tomato and basil and spaghetti vongole and linguini with scampi as a main course. The meal was actually very nice if it will not have been for the useless waiter we had. For me a good service is as important as a good meal. This gentleman first of all brought us two menus for a table of five. When I asked him if we could have another menu he said “it’s on the table”. So the five of us had to share two menus. Then we ordered water, a bottle of white wine and some beers. They did not have draft beer so he brought us two bottles of beers, but no beer glasses. We had to use the water glasses for the beer as well. The wine was not served it was just placed in the middle of the table with no bucket of ice in order to remain cold. We had to ask for the ice separately and we had to serve the wine ourselves. Then he forgot one of the main dishes, and when we asked for it he said that we had cancelled it. Instead being apologetic, he blamed it on us that one dish was missing. Maybe it was a misunderstanding, however this is the first time that I was told by a waiter “this is your fault”. The restaurant was lovely and the food very good, but this was one of the worst service experiences that I had and because of this I will not return to this place. I forgot to mention that they were only two tables in the restaurant, so there is not excused for such a service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bego75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scaletta also viewed

Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
Civitavecchia, Province of Rome
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing