We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We loved this hotel and the staff"”
Review of Hotel Traghetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Traghetto
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The staff: Giuseppe, Alessandro, Valerio and Rosella were outstanding.! Wonderful pre-cruise location. Only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk to the port. On day of cruise, due to rain, we decided to take the hotel shuttle for 5 Euros each and it was well worth it, as we were driven directly to the ship. The hotel room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. Air conditioning, hair dryer, free WI-FI and great TV channel selection was a bonus. The continental breakfast was not your typical Italian "coffee and croissant" breakfast but rather quite complete with a good variety. Rosella, the lady in charge of the continental breakfast was very pleasant and friendly and whipped-up delicious cappuccino's. During the booking process, all my e-mails were answered promplty and I was given great and accurate information. We arrived at this hotel 3 nights before the cruise and loved it. We were worried about finding our stay too long, however Giuseppe gave us ideas on what to do while in town. Giuseppe was extremely helpful, friendly, professional and courteous. He answered all our questions, recommended restaurants, explained how to get to the local mall, looked-up train information and even took the time to write out the schedule for us. In addition, he happened to come in on his day off and still took the time to help us out! We were very impressed with this man! In Giuseppe's absence we were greeted by Alessandro, also very pleasant, helpful and professional. We liked this hotel so much that we came back for another night post-cruise. We will definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends and family. Convenient location, comfort, cleanliness, price and staff friendliness make this hotel a wonderful place to stay. Looking forward to staying there again real soon. Thank you "Il Traghetto", keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 341 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were at the Traghetto in May before our cruise. The hotel was a good choice for arriving a day early to avoid hassles the day the cruise left. The rooms were somewhat dated but clean. No A/C left it a little warm but opening the windows cooled things down acceptably. The public areas were updated with the included breakfast acceptable, particularly given that you could order expresso or cappuccino. I'd recommend taking a limo (Bob's Limo worked for us) from the airport rather than taking the train into Civitavecchia. It's a good 20-30 minute walk from the train station and there aren't many taxis at the train station as they're all at the cruise terminal trying to pick up fares to Rome or the airport.

The hotel's transportation to the cruise ships was 5 Euros each and dropped you off at the ship instead of the cruise terminal. The cruise terminal was a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel so walking is doable if you don't have a lot of luggage (we were packing for a 30 day stay).

Note: We took a train after our cruise. The train station is a short 10 minute walk from the cruise drop-off point but you have to go (force) through a gauntlet of taxi drivers who can be quite aggressive. We were going to Siena but noticed that the train to Rome was crowded with cruisers with their luggage. Was probably a crowded mess inside.

Room Tip: You don't want a room facing the main street. It's busy and with no A/C you may need to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Traghetto for one night prior to a cruise. It was a fine location in a relatively quiet part of the city, and not far from the port. We actually walked from the rail station, but I would probably suggest a taxi ride. We were met by a very courteous front desk associate, that turned out to Giuesppe, who has been often complimented on Trip Advisor. He was great, and helped us get our luggage up the couple of steps to the elevator. He also gave us a bottle of water, which was much appreciated, as it was quite hot for mid May. Our room was large and clean and bathroom modern. We asked about a grocery near by and there was one about 300 feet from the hotel. We had a nice breakfast the next morning and also arranged a transfer with Giuseppe to the port for 5 Euro per person. We will plan to stay here again the next time we sail from Civitavecchia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edw1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very pleasant experience began with the booking process. All emails were answered promptly and with excellent information. Alesandro and Giuseppe were so helpful and it was a pleasure to finally meet. Hotel was conveniently located near the city center and port. We took a shuttle from FCO directly to hotel and arrived and checked in within an hour. We got into our room early and set out to walk around the town. It was very pleasant and had a nice pizza lunch on the waterfront. Our requested twin room was actually a triple so we had plenty of room. Lighting and bathroom were very efficient. Free wifi and TV channels a bonus. We walked back to city center and had a great inexpensive dinner right on the waterfront...great recommendation from Giuseppe. We noticed an extra charge for air-conditioning so did not use. There was a lot of street noise with open windows. We later found out from others in hotel, they were not charged for a/c so something to ask. Hotel arranged a shuttle for us directly to ship (not the port shuttle). This was well worth the 5eu charge per person (we had 4 or cost for 2 was 15 eu). Breakfast buffet was good, not fancy, but included cappuccino. Personally, I do not find this ideal for walking either from the train station or the port but I am more into convenience these days. Efficiency, cost and friendly staff make this hotel a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbound3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

After driving all day around Monte Argentario (very interesting) we were very glad to reach Civitavecchia and relax in this comfortable hotel.
We had a lovely walk around the old town and port.
Friendly staff and good buffet breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamAndGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Clean hotel with excellent service. Not luxurious but good value. Walking distance to restaurants and down town. English speaking which is helpful since my Italian is poor! Many thanks for making our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VC1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Nice Hotel near the Cruise Terminal and the city center.
Well organized by the manager, Giuseppe, and the staff is very helpfull, always a smile for the customers. You feel like at home !
This is not a luxury Hotel, but surely you will find all that you need.
Free WiFi connection, international Tv channels, and a good buffet continental breakfast served by Miss Rossella.
We suggest it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
329 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Samarcanda
Samarcanda
#7 of 10 in Civitavecchia
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traghetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traghetto

Address: Via Braccianese Claudia 2, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: $97 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Traghetto 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breakfast will be served in the breakfast hall from 06:30 am until 09:30 am. The rooms are all equipped with shower, hair dryer, air conditioning, telephone, LCD TV 21" with a wide choice of international channels and free wifi connection. The rooms will be available from 01:00 pm until 11:00 am of the check out day, free luggage deposit near the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Traghetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing