We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Miramare
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel De La Ville(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mediterraneo(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Giorgio(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Traiano(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Traghetto(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Borgo del Mare(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbay Park Hotel(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samarcanda(Civitavecchia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
70
95
22
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
95
22
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall balconytrain stationone nightpre cruisecruise shipa small dining tablesea viewpromenade areaoceanview roomrestaurant attached to the hotelmini fridgeshort walknext morningthird floornice place to staysitting roomeasy walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 202 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Firstly anyone wanting and overnight stay before their cruise from Rome which departs from the port of Civitavecchia should stay in that town not Rome.You can catch a train from FCO airport to Travastere which is seven stations from airport and change trains to Civitavecchia which is 80km from Rome all for 12 euros.
We stayed at the Hotel Miramare which is about 300 metres from Station and had a room overlooking the sea.
The rooms have been renovated and are spacious.
Breakfast was typiical European and the WI FI worked in the room which didn't in a lot of other hotels I stayed.
You have a 1km walk to shuttle bus which takes you to cruise ship.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cageykezzastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

4 Canadian travelers came to the Miramare in advance of a cruise departing from Civitavecchia. Gianni, was incredibly helpful, accommodating and personable. Received great restaurant recommendations and they all hit the mark. Be sure to request a sea facing room. Less than 1km walk to the port. Will come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Clean and friendly and great breakfast. Right on the sea front. Only one thing bad to say, if you want to get to the port early insist they book your taxi. We wanted to leave at 11 pm but they only booked the taxi when we complained that it had not arrived on time. He kept telling us it was time enough at noon. We stayed May 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ntingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Located right on the boardwalk bordering the sea, it is a short walk (5 min) from the train station and an easy scenic stroll (15 min) to the port entrance. The room was clean, had sky-high ceilings and a private balcony that opened to the bustling boardwalk below, and the beachside just beyond. I was received with amazing friendliness by the staff, both at the reception and at breakfast, and was even offered an introduction to the city with points-of-interest and best dining spots, upon my arrival. It is a 3 star hotel in an old building, so don't expect too much in regards to amenities and decoration, but for the value for money, I would recommend this quaint hotel to anyone traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Pre-cruise we stayed at Hotel Miramare. This is an old traditional hotel very near the railway station. Since we had previously visited Rome several times we decided on going straight to the port this time.

Taking the train to Civitavecchia from the airport is easy. You buy a ticket for the whole distance, get on the train at the airport and change at Trastevere. The only challenge is that there is little space for your luggage so you either end up taking 4 seats for 2 people or staying out in the passage way.

Check-in at the hotel went smoothly and they were ever so friendly. We were given a map and lots of advice about where to go and what to see. We were on the top floor and had an amazing sea view.

Our room (or should I say 2 rooms) was large and clean. The furniture was basic - and the bed a little on the hard side. The only thing we were worried about was that there seemed to be no fire alarm in the room (the wires were not attatched to anything)

Breakfast was Ok - quite Italian with a lot of pre-packaged sweet cakes. I prefer plain toast and marmelade. The coffees were really good.

Next day we could have taken a taxi with other passengers to the port - but decided to walk with our luggage which took about 15 minutes to the port bus.

Would we stay there again - it depends. If going to Civitavecchia, yes. However - another time, we will probably book a hotel in Trastevere. That way we have the easy access by train to the port, combined with the benifits of being in Rome. Civitavecchia does not have much to offer. The shops are really expensive, the restaurants average and not much too do there.

I think the hotel deserves at 3.5 rating - but the choice is 3 or 4

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SORCEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews