We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap precruise hotel”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #18 of 40 Civitavecchia B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night before going on a cruise with RCCL. Great location just in front of the mediterranean. Just 15 min walk to the harbour. We were lucky and got a room on third floor with a fantastic view. Room was spacious and very clean. Staf were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn´t much, typical Italian. But though a great hotel for a precruise night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tottemalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Once again we used the Hotel Mramare for a pre cruise stay. We had a triple room and it was clean and simple and spacious for us and our teenage son. This hotel has an excellent location and is opposite the train station which we used to take a day trip to Rome. The restaurants along the promenade provide a good selection of food. The walk to the port is about 12 minutes and was a little easier than a couple of years ago because they are gradually improving the pavements to the port making it easier to wheel your luggage. The hotel breakfast has improved a lot since we last stayed and included a small breakfast buffet and great Italian coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was a great hotel. We stayed here, my wife, 3 year old son and myself, while waiting for our cruise ship to depart. The room was sparse, but clean. It seemed like the room was taller than it was wide. The air conditioning works on remote control. We don't speak italian but the staff spoke english very well. I even got into about a 20 minute discussion with the front desk clerk about what local wines he would recommend. We were only here one night and due to jet-lag missed the breakfast by about 15 minutes. They were very helpful and actually set us a special little table while the woman, who I am going to refer to as the breakfast lady, got us coffee and pre-packaged cookies and toast. We were about a 10-15 minute walk from the port entrance. A cab from here directly to the ship was 15 Euro for 2 people, but we split a cab with another couple so there were 5 of us for 20 Euro. I think that's the price for 3-4 people, our son was "free". From the port entrance there are free shuttles so if you can walk to the port entrance it's a little cheaper. For us it was a little hot and we had too much gear to easily pack, so we got a ride.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MySuzLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed one night before our cruise left. We arrived about noon and our room was ready! It's right on the waterfront and our window opened to a gorgeous Med. view! The room was smallish but had another 'ante room' which made the room spacious. It was very clean and everything was in good repair...if a little oldish. Great A/C. Tv with mostly Italian channels (OK since that's not what we came for anyway). Slow Wifi (but free). Walking distance to the main part of town and the train station. 10E shuttle to the dock the next day. GREAT!!! restaurant next door for dinner....maybe the best meal of our entire 2 1/2 week trip. Friendly staff. We ended up forgetting our iPhone and realized it while 'at sea'. We emailed the hotel and they saved it at the desk for 11 days until we returned to picked it up. Thankyou!!! You can't go wrong for a few nights here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodie_KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed overnight as we were due to join our cruise ship the following morning. The staff was welcoming and helpful and our room was very large and spotlessly clean. There was a slightly old-fashioned look to the furniture but the flooring was parquet, and the bathroom was well stocked with good quality towels etc. The only reason I didn't give this hotel a 5* rating is that there were no TV chanels in English. For one night that was no problem but if we had stayed there longer it would have been annoying.The next morning a modest buffet breakfast was available and included in the price. The hotel has its own restaurant which opens at lunchtime. It was convenient to eat there but the food was very average. The hotel is on a very pleasant sea front wide promenade and there are a variety of pizza restaurants and small cafes along the way if you walk into town (about a 10 minute walk).
TIP: The train station is at the back of the hotel, a street level up. Unless you have extremely heavy luggage it's not worth waiting for a taxi at the station as taxis seem to be few and far between. Instead, when you come out of the station turn to your RIGHT and walk a few minutes until you will see steps leading down to the next street level. When you get to the bottom of these steps turn LEFT and walk along until you arrive at the hotel (5 minutes maximum).
Civitavecchia (pronounced: Chivi-ta-vekkia) is a very attractive town that was originally developed as a seaside holiday resort for weathy people from Rome. It was badly bombed during WW2 but there are still many grand buildings, a wonderful daily market and plenty of fancy shops and restaurants. There is also an impressive medieval fortress and wall built in 1537 to guard the city from a sea attack and which now forms the entrance to the modern harbour.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grania1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I spend one night in this hotel for business purpose. But when I arrived I was I shocked. I mean I knew that Hotels in Italy are not the best, but this one was terrible. It was dark, a suspicious reception guy welcommed me. There was no service at all and the breakfast was only a snak. The best at the Hotel was the coffee (typical Italian). But at least the Hotel was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaysleeperBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The location is superb; near the train station, near the port, and on the seaside. The room is comfortable and had a balcony which is I am grateful for. You can see the sea and a very busy seaside street with many restaurants and cafes.

The only caveat is the breakfast which is very very minimal.

Overall I will definitely recommend it for a one day stay before you head to your cruise ship.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunbay Park Hotel
Sunbay Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Civitavecchia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Address: Viale della Vittoria 29, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Civitavecchia
Price Range: $79 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing