We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard working staff”
Review of Hotel Storyville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Storyville
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cinquale
Vail, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hard working staff”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a charming and quiet place to stay. The staff is extremely friendly and hard working. We found our room to be very clean, there is free internet available, the shower is a bit strange- but it's just a shower. Our dinner at the restaurant was phenomenal. One downside is the distance from the train station if traveling by train, but the proximity to the beach makes up for that. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    212
    59
    10
    10
See reviews for
114
180
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tyldesley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights , as a base to explore Tuscany . We hired a car at Pisa airport and drove to the hotel . It was an easy drive , and the hotel had good parking . The staff were lovely , very friendly and helpful .The room was basic but large and airy . The bed was very comfortable and clean . The bathroom was small but adequate (, although the paintwork was a bit dated and needed a fresh coat of paint .). There were lovely soaps and shower gels provided . Breakfast was really good with lots of choice and great tea , coffee etc . The garden is pretty with lovely couches where you can have an evening drink .
Some good restaurants in the area , but if you don`t like seafood and fish , you may struggle . The restaurant close by over the bridge was recommended and did lovely Gnocci in cheese sauce ! All in all , very good value for money and highly recommended .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed in Storyville overnight on the road to Cinque Terre. The room cost 53€ and albeit being small, had everything we needed. There is no a/c, which in September is no problem as the nights are cool enough to sleep comfortably with an open window. There was no noise from the street during the night although the hotel is right on the road. The rate also inclided free parking, breakfast and wi-fi! The best value for money we have had in years of travel in Europe!
I must also mention that the breakfast was excellent, with a selection of local products like salame, cheeses and honey.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
If you are travelling on a budget, this is a fantastic place to stay. Boat service to Cinque Terre available from the nearby Marina di Massa or you can drive to La Spezia and take a regional train from there for about €2.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zilina, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel staff is absolutely fantastic. any day of our 5 day stay there was someone really nice, willing to help and fill any of our needs. Our room was very nice, tidy and clean, although the bathroom was very small. this was our first vacancies in Italy - so maybe it's normal down here, but i'd love some more space for shower, than share it with the toilette. otherwise - no suggestions. we got used to the thin walls as well (you can hear anything whats going on in the hall - people locking their rooms etc). food for the breakfast was absolutely splendid, couldn't wish more or better choice.

Room Tip: nice, clean tidy. would appreciate more room in bathroom and thicker walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated, less than 1km from the beach, 2 minutes from village that has everything you would need, a beautiful deli, fish restaurant, fab pizzeria. This area is perfect for cycling and the hotel rents out good bikes very cheaply. The advice the staff gave us on what to do and where to go was invaluable, as usual we never got around to studying up on the area before arriving so for the local knowledge was great. We never eat in the hotel for lunch or evening but the buffet breakfast was good. Would recommend this hotel however if the rooms and decor were updated the hotel would the be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TnTexplosive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is probably the best deal in the area.
We have visited the Forte dei Marmi earlier, an area that is among the most exclusive in Italy.
The plan this time was a longer stay, searched, therefore, little out of the city where the prices are very high.
The hotel is well located, close to beach and five minutes by bike to Forte dei Marmi with all offers. Cinquale is also a good close range with many offers.
It has a nice garden for outdoor dining, a good kitchen where you can get a 3 course dinner for a nice price, recommended.
The rooms are clean and according to 3 star standard.

Nicola and Valentina, (managers) lifts this place to a special experience.
I have visited more than 100 hotels for business and vacation over the last ten years, but have not seen
staff like them.
They can provide everything you want and have great knowledge of Tuscan, excursions, etc.
Our little daughter had an accident and we had to seek emergency care, Valentina went with us to the hospital and were invaluable assistance in this regard. Because of this, our stay would be extended by another week.
After three weeks with these guys, it felt like family.
They have a great sense of humor and we had a lot of fun with them.
We can definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly come back.
See you next summer.
Svein & Hana & Jakub & Anna :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sveinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuringia, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a lovely time at this hotel.
The staff were very eager to meet all our needs. They were very nice and accommodating. The house is very clean, breakfast very good. It is a good 3 star hotel in a typical Italian features, the bathroom a little small, but still very usable.
We would use this house definitely be back when we were driving in this region.
The place is not a typical tourist hot spot, but a nice friendly place manageable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor with air conditioning, forward it a little louder on the road, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achim05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cinquale
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Undulna Terme della Versilia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 6 in Cinquale
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Pleiadi
Le Pleiadi
#10 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nedy
Hotel Nedy
#18 of 39 in Marina di Massa
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manuela
Hotel Manuela
#4 of 6 in Cinquale
58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Storyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Storyville

Property: Hotel Storyville
Address: Via Gramsci 51, 54030 Cinquale, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Cinquale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cinquale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Storyville 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Storyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storyville Hotel Cinquale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing