We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfortable, the best!”
Review of Il Patriarca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Patriarca
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chiusi
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, the best!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews, my husband and I booked a room for 3 nights. Gianluigi Giglioni, at Reception, was so warm and welcoming from the day I booked the reservation, that I just knew it would be a wonderful stay. But it was beyond any expectations. The hotel is so beautiful--truly like staying at a private villa. The rooms are luxurious and ultra-comfortable; location--ideal for visiting dozens of locales in southern Tuscany (Pienza, Montalpulciano, Montelcino, Siena...). The staff is warm, welcoming and ever-so-helpful. We highly recommend this hotel! We plan to return and stay a week--as often as we can get back to Tuscany.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Federico Fellini suite! It was gorgeous, and such a kick to be there--but we looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeG770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    167
    20
    10
    1
See reviews for
82
402
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had such high hopes for this hotel that I booked for 3 nights but ended up only staying 1. It is indeed a fabulous building, but right off the main road opposite a bowling alley and there is road noise. We booked the best suite in the house and yes it was beautiful with stunning views but the hotel felt simply soulless. We walked down to the swimming pool which was in lovely grounds (not great if you can't manage steps) but filthy dirty and with a hot tub that doesn't work. The sides of the pool are crumbling and therefore the floor of the pool is covered in gravel. The reception staff are lovely and very knowledgeable but not overly friendly to children. Breakfast was grim to say the least and allowing dogs into the restaurant I found a little off putting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Underwoodfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa_Patriarca, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Il Patriarca, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ms Alison

We come to know with much regret your unpleasant experience at Villa Patriarca. Of this we are very sorry but at the same time surprised and shocked by the words used and concerning the descriptions, completely non correspond to what each dear guest can find in our hotel.
For this reason, we inform you that we have taken steps to submit your comment at trip advisor managers as it contains descriptions that do not represent in any way the state of our villa and the quality of services offered.

Apart from the fancy tale of a hotel without a soul, honestly only makes us smile, we come to the inaccuracies that you have reported:

• The infinity pool on the beautiful valley is not dirty and is in a constant state of cleanliness and sanitation, our Jacuzzi is fully functional and used every days by our customers. (Everybody can see hundred pictures of the pool and Jacuzzi recently posted: this is it!)
• The pool is in an excellent state of preservation and maintenance, and the sides aren’t crumbling, but has been made by a high-quality natural travertine stones coming from the quarries in the Val d'Orcia (UNESCO world heritage)
• You didn’t book the best room in the hotel, but at your arrive we were glad to pay an homage to you with a free upgrade in the private Suite residence of Federico Fellini.
• The front desk staff is always lovely with the hundreds of children staying here. They and their parents are always happy in the pool, in the park, in the villa, with the receptionist and the whole staff.
• Breakfast is not sad, but plentiful and sophisticated and satisfy every request of our guests
• Turning now to the dogs! That’s the part of your speech that hurts us more. We take really care of our kind guests and for those who make the holiday with their little friends Villa Patriarca is always pet friendly! and we rejoice, because we love pets and all nature.
Finally, we remember you we didn’t apply any penalty fee at your bill, despite your premature departure.

Anyway we will try to treasure even from your considerations and we hope to have you as our kind guest again in order to make you appreciate the wonders of a family holiday at Villa Patriarca

Sincerely
our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rooms ready upon check-in. We upgraded to a superior room (Room #242) and it was large for European standards. Bathroom was spacious and all marble. Wi-Fi was free, but spotty in room - only got it to work in the bathroom. Television had several American stations available, and movies to rent. Taverna Restaurant was wonderful and staff was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

My name is Jessie and my husband Anthony and I stayed there in October to celebrate our honeymoon. We are from Chicago and traveled to Chiusi with the help from a family friend who recommended this villa to us. We stayed for 7 nights in the Fellini Suite and the days and nights we spent just at the villa when we weren't out exploring were the absolute most amazing days of our lives. The people that work at this place are the most friendly and accommodating people we have ever met. Mostly everyone spoke great English which helped because we definitely do not speak Italian although my husband tried his very best. I unfortunately got the flu while I was there and the receptionist with the dark hair (we unfortunately forgot her name) called the pharmacy in town for us to explain my symptoms in italian to them and called my husband a cab and when he got there they had the medicine ready for us. So sweet that she went out of her way to help us. Aside from the amazingly friendly staff, the restaurants there were just amazing... And the WINE! We had a welcoming dinner in the restaurant on the first floor with many courses and champagne and wine and just top of the line food. The La Taverna that is located in the old wine cellar had the most delicious authentic food. The pici pasta was just amazing, the chef gave us some to bring home, we cannot wait to make it! The villa we stayed in ... Omg. When we first got there the man who brought our luggage up pushed open the window shutters and the view was absolutely breath taking. We have never seen anything so beautiful it looked like a picture! The whole experience there was just so awesome, we will definitely be back!!!! Thank you Patriarca for your amazing service, friendliness and for making our honeymoon unforgettable! Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nashross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent experience at this hotel. The room is very comfortable, medium size, with nice amenities and comfortable bed. The bathroom is big ( surprising for European standards ), full of amenities and beautiful marble tile. Breakfast that is included in room rate is outstanding with a huge selection of options, including eggs, cheeses, cold meets cuts, juices, fruits, and a huge assortment of pastry. Parking in site. The service is excellent at all level. The girls at the front desk very helpful and willing to advise you on directions and tips of sites to visit.
Since the hotel is in the middle of Tuscany you can easily drive to different medievel villages each day and retur to your base home.
Avoid rooms with connecting doors since will hear noise from the adjacent room. From the highway which is like 2 km distance you will not hear any noise. The restaurant is a must to visit.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with connecting doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fechavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at Il Patriarca was a real treat, so very special. We stayed for one night in the Fellini suite and it was simply wonderful. On arrival, Gianluigi from reception, kindly showed us around the hotel and grounds. His enthusiasm for the hotel and it’s history was infectious. We fell in love with the hotel through his commentary and knowledge. The room was incredibly beautiful, with modern facilities but decorated in a style in keeping with the period. The view from our window was simply breathtaking. I took so many photos of the view! The white marble bathroom was also photographed! The room has everything you could need, including Sky and surround sound system. The control panels beside the bed work everything in the room – my advice is do not play with them whilst your companion is in the shower as they also operate the bathroom lights as my sister found out!!! The hotel is beautiful, but it is not pretentious and you feel instantly at ease. After afternoon tea we wandered through the trees down to the swimming pool. It looked so appealing, and the view across the adjoining nursery was idyllic but in the heat of the day and a sudden need to eat(!) we decided to head back to our room for a siesta and light snack. As this was a special treat we ordered room service and had mozzarella and tomatoe, a fruit salad and bottle of white wine. We did not expect such lovely fresh food or generous portions. The hotel has a Michelin star restaurant and Taverna. We decided to go to the Taverna and sat outside on the terrace as the evening was so warm. The chef cooked the meat in the roaring flames of the oven in the taverna. The food was delicious. Simple food, cooked very well. We slept soundly after our delicious meal. The bed was so comfortable and huge! We went for breakfast at 9am and were disappointed that there was no hot breakfast or bread left. We mentioned this to the waiter and he said that he would get some. We got a bit confused by the long wait as we thought he would simply replenish the main counter, but as we were the only people left to eat he brought out freshly cooked bacon, eggs and baked bread just for us. It was very enjoyable. We were sad to check out and very much hope to be able to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifestooshortnottoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Villa 11 Patriarca in Chiusi Tuscany was the oldest but one of the most beatiful hotels we stayed at in Italy several weeks ago. I felt I was in the guest room of a castle with high vaulted ceilings, nice bathroom fixtures, double doors leading to a balcony, fine drapery etc. The beautiful shaded courtyard behind the hotel was the perfect retreat from the heat - deep cushioned lounge chairs and excellent service from the bar. Continue past the courtyard and you come to the stone steps that take you down to a awesome infinity pool overlooking the vineyards below. Very nice continental breakfast included. Great value !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusi
18.8 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
641 reviews
16.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
716 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
755 reviews
18.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
787 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#5 of 28 in Montepulciano
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Patriarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Patriarca

Property: Il Patriarca
Address: Strada Statale 146 | Localita Querce al Pino, 53043, Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chiusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Patriarca 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa il Patriarca, antica residenza nobiliare del XIX secolo, e oggi, dopo un'accurata ristrutturazione, un elegante hotel quattro stelle e sede di ben due ristoranti: la conviviale Taverna e il pluripremiato I Salotti, guidato dalla giovane e talentuosa chef Katia Maccari, che dal 2003 e insignito di una Stella Michelin. La villa, di antichissime origini, poggia le fondamenta sull'originale costruzione di epoca etrusco-romana, della quale, all'interno, sono visibili, attraverso degli oblo, gli antichi granai perfettamente conservati, che contribuiscono a creare un'atmosfera davvero suggestiva. Tutt'intorno si distende il parco di pini e cipressi, visibile anche dalla piscina in travertino, direttamente affacciata sul panorama naturale. Il nostro hotel dispone di 22 camere, dotate di ogni comfort; alcune rispecchiano fedelmente lo stile tipico toscano, altre sono piu eleganti e ricercate negli arredi. Per chi desideri l'atmosfera magica di stucchi e damaschi, puo trovarla nelle due esclusive Suites dedicate alla celeberrima coppia Federico Fellini e Giulietta Masina, che erano soliti trascorrere lunghi periodi di relax e "dolce vita" avendo eletto Villa il Patriarca a loro dimora privilegiata in Toscana. E' qui che Fellini ha immaginato e ambientato "8 e 1/2", il suo piu grande capolavoro. Le camere sono dotate di tutti i comfort: aria condizionata, tv lcd, minibar, servizi privati, connessione internet WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Patriarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Patriarca Hotel Chiusi
Hotel Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca Hotel
Il Patriarca Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing