We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike Tours Direct”
Review of Albergo La Sfinge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo La Sfinge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Chiusi
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Cycled with Bike Team Keymove, through Tuscany. This was one of the hotels we stayed at. It was well located, clean and quiet. We had a nice room with a view and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here for four nights for a friends wedding. Our room (22) was a nice size, bright and clean, good comfortable furnature and a nice wetroom style bathroom.
Pro's are Price, Location, and very clean.
Con's are that the owner's accomidation is on the second floor and he is a smoker. unfortunatly that carrys into the hall and is off putting when you step out of the room... Breakfast is not included, but that is fine as there is a lovely cafe just around the corner.

I would return here again but maybe to the first or third floor

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solo_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

My wife and I and our teenage daughters just stayed three days with Roberto and Laura in Chiusi ("Q-C"). We had a suite of two bedrooms, each with queen bed, and a lovely full bathroom, with views out across the Tuscan hills, plus breakfast, all for just 100 euros a night! Antique furnishings, A/C, and plenty of storage was only outshined by the location - a two minute walk from the old town's restaurants, museums, and shops. We especially liked Il Bucchero for fresh pesto gnocchi and mixed grill skewers of local sausage, lamb, and pork, not to mention very reasonable local wines. Roberto offered to drive us to nearby Lake Trasimeno for swimming at the lovely public beach - warm shallow water, fine sandy beach, lots of shade - the market across from the hotel had everything we needed for a picnic. The train is a convenient return to Chiusi, but if the day is hot, call for a taxi from the beach to the station, as it's ~2 mile walk with little shade.
We didn't have a car, but the bus to Montepulciano (2.4 Euros/person) leaves several times each day just down the street from the hotel, ~45 minute ride. We had a great day exploring and shopping there, not crowded at all despite Montepulciano's reputation and fame, then bussed back to take in the Chiusi museums - the "all in one" pass from the information center is a deal - our girls loved the two underground tours included: "Porsenna's Labryinth", the warren of ancient Etruscan water tunnels under the city, now partly excavated and restored, the Roman cistern under the chucrh belltower, and the Town Museum underground tour of wine storage, tomb relics, and the underground lake over 75' below the surface. Great to be cool underground when the afternoon is hot.
Roberto and Laura were charming and helpful, and the town quiet and picturesque, a welcome break from so many touristy towns we had been to. This was our next to last stay on our month-long trip through Europe, and Hotel Sfinge was one of our favorite accomodations. We want to come back in the fall some year for the harvest!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsnake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We chose Chiusi because we wanted a quiet place as our base for seeing Tuscany. We travelled by train from Florence, hired a car in Chiusi, then again trained it to Rome.
From Chiusi we managed the driving quite well. It's the wrong side of the road for us Aussies, so we didn't want to have the extra hassle of navigating in heavy traffic to start off, so Chiusi was easy !
We loved Montepulciano, Cetona and Citta della Pieve.

The Albergo La Sfinge hotel is a great place to stay ! It's easy to find in the old part of Chiusi, with magnificent views of the surrounding area, and an easy stroll through the charming township to restaurants, shops and Catacombs. Rooms are very comfortable and clean and full of character.
Robert is an excellent host, he helped us with directions, dropped us to the car hire office and provided assistance with gentlemanly style.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RHONDALOUISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This is a gem of a hotel. Run by Robert and Laura who are charming and helpful. Chiusi is a wonderful Etruscan town, with an excellent restaurant, Zaira, great views, few tourists. Our room at the hotel was a nice size, well lit, and had a great balcony with stunning view.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanjgreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Each room is distinctive. The double that has a big bathtub on the second floor has a great view of the green hillside across the valley. The triples on the third floor have big wooden beams and a rustic feel.
Roberto is as accommodating as they come. He tells you how to catch the town bus that picks up right outside the entrance, then when morning comes, it's "So would you like a ride to the station?" (maybe he won't appreciate this post).
We chose little known Chiusi as a four-night base for our day trips around Umbria and Tuscany. It's a small, quiet town with good eats and mostly locals milling about the ancient streets. The restaurant just next to the hotel is pricey but delicious. Cheaper places in the center of the old town (a short walk), and in the new town down by the station.
I would avoid the 5euro breakfast and catch a roll and a cappuccino at the station bar or across the street from the station at the cafe (1Euro for capp.-standing) on your way to Orvieto, Siena, Assisi, etc.
Friendly taxi drivers took us from station to hotel for 6Euro.

Stayed: May 2006
6  Thank nomimashoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We just returned from a two week holiday in Italy which included driving through Tuscany for four days. We started in Florence and ended in Chiusi. We chose Chiusi because of it's convenient train departure to Naples and because our Avis rental car could be returned there. Based on the previous review, we booked a triple room at the Albergo La Sfinge, and we were not at all disappointed. The accomodations met our expectations at a very reasonable rate, and the staff were so accomodating. Their English wasn't so great, and our Italian was worse, but we communicated perfectly. Because we couldn't get the directions properly to the Avis return, the owner personally drove us there, then loaded his car with our luggage, and drove us the short drive to the train station. Wonderful people - great service!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denada78us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusi
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rosati
Hotel Rosati
#2 of 10 in Chiusi
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
644 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Locanda della Ribollita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ismaele
Hotel Ismaele
#3 of 10 in Chiusi
136 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Hotel del Sole
Villa Hotel del Sole
#6 of 10 in Chiusi
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Al Poggio dei Papi
Hotel Al Poggio dei Papi
#3 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo La Sfinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Sfinge

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 2 | angolo via Porsenna, 53043, Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Chiusi
Price Range: $63 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo La Sfinge 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo La Sfinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Sfinge Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing