We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel in a great little town”
Review of Albergo La Sfinge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo La Sfinge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Chiusi
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This is a gem of a hotel. Run by Robert and Laura who are charming and helpful. Chiusi is a wonderful Etruscan town, with an excellent restaurant, Zaira, great views, few tourists. Our room at the hotel was a nice size, well lit, and had a great balcony with stunning view.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanjgreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Albergo La Sfinge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2006

Each room is distinctive. The double that has a big bathtub on the second floor has a great view of the green hillside across the valley. The triples on the third floor have big wooden beams and a rustic feel.
Roberto is as accommodating as they come. He tells you how to catch the town bus that picks up right outside the entrance, then when morning comes, it's "So would you like a ride to the station?" (maybe he won't appreciate this post).
We chose little known Chiusi as a four-night base for our day trips around Umbria and Tuscany. It's a small, quiet town with good eats and mostly locals milling about the ancient streets. The restaurant just next to the hotel is pricey but delicious. Cheaper places in the center of the old town (a short walk), and in the new town down by the station.
I would avoid the 5euro breakfast and catch a roll and a cappuccino at the station bar or across the street from the station at the cafe (1Euro for capp.-standing) on your way to Orvieto, Siena, Assisi, etc.
Friendly taxi drivers took us from station to hotel for 6Euro.

Stayed: May 2006
6  Thank nomimashoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We just returned from a two week holiday in Italy which included driving through Tuscany for four days. We started in Florence and ended in Chiusi. We chose Chiusi because of it's convenient train departure to Naples and because our Avis rental car could be returned there. Based on the previous review, we booked a triple room at the Albergo La Sfinge, and we were not at all disappointed. The accomodations met our expectations at a very reasonable rate, and the staff were so accomodating. Their English wasn't so great, and our Italian was worse, but we communicated perfectly. Because we couldn't get the directions properly to the Avis return, the owner personally drove us there, then loaded his car with our luggage, and drove us the short drive to the train station. Wonderful people - great service!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denada78us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2005

L’albergo “la Sfinge” is a very fine, small family-run hotel perfectly situated in the wonderful old Etruscan city of Chiusi (ancient Clusium). The bedrooms were spacious, quiet, well appointed, and immaculately clean. The beds were extremely comfortable; the bathrooms were large, modern, and very clean; and the view from our room over the Tuscan hills was breath-taking. Our hosts were the very epitome of graciousness, courtesy, and helpfulness. (In fact the same could be said for many of the citizens of Chiusi we had the pleasure to meet during our stay there.) There was ample free parking in a municipal parcheggio very close by (a minute or two away by foot). The value offered for price is outstanding. The city of Chiusi is itself fascinating and also an excellent point from which go out on day tours to other locations in central and eastern Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank gggren_eyesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la nr 12 è ampia
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusi
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rosati
Hotel Rosati
#2 of 10 in Chiusi
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
641 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ismaele
Hotel Ismaele
#3 of 10 in Chiusi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Locanda della Ribollita
2.8 mi away
Villa Hotel del Sole
Villa Hotel del Sole
#6 of 10 in Chiusi
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Al Poggio dei Papi
Hotel Al Poggio dei Papi
#3 of 5 in Citta della Pieve
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo La Sfinge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Sfinge

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 2 | angolo via Porsenna, 53043, Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Chiusi
Price Range: $63 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo La Sfinge 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo La Sfinge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo La Sfinge Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing