We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tuscan Hotel”
Review of Poggio Piglia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poggio Piglia
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan Hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in four different places in Italy and Poggio Piglia was by far the best hotel we visited (and this is compared to some five star hotels in Rome as a reference).

The beauty of the property, attention to detail, friendly and helpful staff, delicious and fresh food (they picked figs from their garden for breakfast for me!), gorgeous views, and proximity to interesting places in Tuscany make this the best choice. Their house made wine was also very delicious and reasonably priced. I highly recommend their light lunch as well!

Paolo and Barbara went ABOVE AND BEYOND for us during our trip, helping coordinate transportation to other cities to which we were traveling, suggesting activities during our stay in Tuscany as well as our future destinations, while working non-stop to make all the guests feel welcome and comfortable.

As far as the hotel itself is concerned, the rooms are HUGE (especially for Europe) and the amenities are very impressive. The shower was beautifully done and the decour in the room and throughout the hotel was modern and rustic and so lovely.

We are already planning our trip back to Italy just to return to this hotel. Can't express how much we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliennaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
159
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I liked everything about the Poggio Piglia! The grounds and hotel are absolutely beautiful! Our room was very roomy which is not the norm in Europe and it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom... Oh the bathroom. Gorgeous! We had a whirlpool tub and a very large rain shower. There is also an infinity pool which overlooks the Tuscan countryside.

Breakfast is included and I see other people have complained about the size of it. I think they complain because American's expect a large breakfast, but this is not the Italian way. I think the breakfast was perfect and actually included more than most hotels would. The dinners are fantastic! We tried something different each night and every meal was better than the last. You also have a chance to meet some of the other guests (you are not forced to) and socialize if you want to. Make sure you ask to taste their wine and olive oil. It's delicious and and available for sale.

The location is perfect. You definitely need a car to get there and to get around. It's a great spot for exploring and driving around the region.

The staff is very warm, friendly, and helpful. Especially Paolo. He certainly made us feel welcome.

We cannot wait to head back to Tuscany and we will definitely be back at the Poggio Poglia!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank technogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The house is really very nice - looks just like the pictures, interestingly designed and beautiful landscaping. But we didn't love our stay, mainly because of the lack of privacy. It felt like we were staying in a room in someone's house. I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before so I think it's just not for me, but if you are into it, then you may really enjoy it here. It also seemed a little pricey for a guest house to me.

Also, to see the really beautiful view of Tuscany, you do have to drive further. If you just get off the A1 autostrada/highway and only stay here, you will miss some of the gorgeous views, like if you drive towards Montalcino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDIC60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. Although I'd been to Italy twice before, never to Tuscany. We were a little nervous about how to get there - flew into Rome, train to Chiusi then rented car to Poggio Piglia. While it was an exhausting trip, it was worth it. The grounds are impeccable, Paolo and staff are helpful, especially the waiter (whose name I never got!). All of these details make Poggio Piglia a magical place to spend your vacation. The food was some of the best we had in Tuscany, and the Poggio Piglia wine and olive oil were delicious. I did a lot of researching before booking our honeymoon here and was not disappointed in the slightest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The venue itself is stunning as you come down the drive and see the house appear in front of you. The Tuscan views from the house and the pool area are breath taking. We stayed there for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. The food and wine served were great. However we found the special touches for this level of hotel were really missing. No slippers, dressing gowns, no free teas and coffee's and overall we did not feel that welcomed given the cost of the rooms. We felt the staff did not really go out of their way to promote or recommend the local area as we had experienced in other hotels. The first night we stayed in a standard room which was ok, clean but the shower leaked everywhere. We then moved to a Super Deluxe room for 2 nights. This room had lovely view, was clean and spacious. Despite the beautiful views and food we were disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsFu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found this hotel to be outstanding. The hotel is finished to an incredible standard and attention to detail impressive. Paola and his team were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We were given two great recommendations for dinner in the nearby town of cetona. If You plan on eating in the hotel try the chocolate souffle, it's amazing. We will certainly return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Poggio PIglia for 3 nights in early August. The property is very clean and modern. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are outstanding. We stayed in the triple, deluxe room on the second floor and were lucky enough to have a private terrace and staircase entrance to our room. The terrace doesn’t have furniture, but if we were outside, we were by the pool or dining patio so this wasn’t an issue. The room provided beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside. The grounds and gardens are picture perfect and very well maintained. We have so many pictures from the property that we could frame for our home b/c the scenery makes every shot great! The infinity pool is amazing and a great spot to relax. We hung out by the pool during the day and then would head into one of the towns in later afternoon to do some sightseeing. The location makes it easy to explore as it is right off the A1. As we learned while driving through Tuscany for a few weeks, a town could be 15 miles away, but if all local country roads, it could take 45 mins to get there. Having the A1 right there, cut down on travel time and maximized sight-seeing time. We went to Montepulciano (25 mins) one day and Siena (50 mins) another. I would recommend doing both if you have time. We did half day visits so we could still spend time at the pool.
A few prior reviews mentioned the food was just ok, we thought it was some of the best we had during our 2 week trip. The menu was creative and the food was very fresh. I am still thinking about the chocolate torte we ate every night after deliciously made pastas! Good wine at reasonable prices and great salads for lunch. Good continental breakfast and coffees. Tip – there is a supermarket about 1 mile away and we stocked up on waters, sodas and a few snacks since it was so convenient and we had a fridge in the room.
Since there are only 9 rooms at the property, this can be a plus or drawback. You get the feeling of a modern B&B with high end amenities, but you also see a lot of your fellow guests. We liked that we were able to chat with other couples from many different countries, but there was also a large family/group staying while we were there with a newborn and 2 year old and they were not always considerate of the other guests on a whole. Nothing the property manager could really do about it, but it does put a different spin on your stay if you are not traveling with kids (we left ours at home) 
Overall, I would recommend staying here for a relaxing Tuscan getaway that provides an easy option to explore is you can pull yourself away from the pool. We experienced excellent accommodations and good service. Paulo, the property manager, was helpful and friendly; he found us bug spray the first night, gave good directions and traveling tips and was available when needed. I will admit that I became a bit obsessed with Trip Advisor when planning our 2 week travels and after many of late hours surfing accommodation options and travel sites, I believe that this property is a very good value. Many comparable countryside options were about $50-$150 more USD/night. A good sight compare options is Kiwi Collection. Happy travels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusi
1.0 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
18.2 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
18.5 mi away
Villa Fontelunga
Villa Fontelunga
#1 of 4 in Foiano Della Chiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
2.9 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Santa Chiara
7.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio Piglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Piglia

Property: Poggio Piglia
Address: Macciano | Provincia Siena, 53043, Chiusi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Chiusi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Piglia is a unique new Tuscan Hotel, designed to complement the historic beauty of this famous area. Painstakingly planned over a seven year period, the Poggio Piglia embodies the imagination and scrupulous attention to detail its owners have bestowed on the entire project.The location is unbeatable, specifically chosen to bring the entire Tuscan, Umbrian and Lazio areas within easy reach. The Poggio Piglia invites guests to revel in stunning landscapes and the legendary Tuscan atmosphere whilst being treated to legendary hospitality and pampered with every comfort imaginable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Poggio Piglia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Piglia Hotel Chiusi
Poggio Piglia Chiusi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing