We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual and romantic place among wines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Semivicoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

it is very original and distinctive place. We stayed in the Baroness room, which is connected with church through the small door. You can entrance directly to the church from you room! It is only room furnished original, but other rooms are cosy as well. Catelo Semivicli is a good sample of synthesis modern and original things.
There is also wine tasting space for super wines from Masciearlli winery, one of the best winery from Abruzzo. Breakfast room is so nice that you can spend there all day.
It is a pity that we spent just one night at Semivicoli

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolantaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Awesome job by the Masciarelli family. The castle was superbly refurbished to very high standards (including high-tech!), while keeping the original feel untouched. Rooms are gorgeous, breakfast is great and, to add to the whole experience, five or six wine tasting options are run by competent and friendly staff in a sleek bar area. Estate wines can be bought directly at the castle.

I highly recommend a stay in this beautiful place to anyone wanting to visit a wonderful landscape from a superb boutique hotel. Restaurants nearby are top notch too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this baronial home which belongs to the Masciarelli family who also own the vineyards and produce some great wines and olive oil. Gary and Penny Marshall (Masciarelli) of Holywwod fame, ancestors come from this area. The property is in a small town of Semivicoli just 18 miles from Chieti. The atmosphere is magnificent and gives a great feel of 19th century baronial life.
This is what Abruzzi is all about. This is great for a fly and drive vacation. Just few miles away is Guardiagrele with great dining. Visit the Grotta Raselli and Villa Maiella for incredible meals rivaling those experiences only found in Europe's great capitals at a fraction of the cost with better and more attentive service. Also close-by is Lanciano, Pescara and plenty of small towns overlooking the Majestic Maiella Mountains. Impressive Views right from your hotel window.
This place is a must for Bon Vivants.

Room Tip: All 11 rooms are different. Take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Castello Semivicoli last week, and were blown away by the views from there. We stayed in the master suite which has 360 degree views, a big jacuzzi and very slick design features. The castle is tucked away in a tiny village perched on top of the hillside, not the easiest place to find, but that just makes it more impressive when you get there. Clearly this recent renovation has been managed by a very skilled interior designer, as the whole castle is filled with high end design features, plus well chosen antiques and old furniture. The staff were great, and the wines that this castle produces and distributes were very high quality. All in all a very unique and magical way to experience Ubruzzo!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Damon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night and we absolutely loved it. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer.

The rooms are very cool, modern and chic - which is a great contrast to the historical castle. The views are immense and all around is peaceful bliss. If you are touring around the area, I can't recommend this hotel enough. It's the nicest hotel that we stayed in Italy.

The thick walls of the castle also keep the rooms cool in summer - but there is air con too for very hot days.

The staff are very friendly and keep the hotel to as high a standard as any decent 5 star hotel.

Breakfast is simple but good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GRomaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank zupholaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieti
15.9 mi away
Castello Chiola Hotel
Castello Chiola Hotel
#1 of 3 in Loreto Aprutino
409 reviews
11.6 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel & SPA
Villa Maria Hotel & SPA
#2 of 7 in Francavilla Al Mare
635 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Parco Paglia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Castello di Septe
Hotel Castello di Septe
#1 of 1 in Mozzagrogna
206 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
6.8 mi away
Nuovo Albergo
Nuovo Albergo
#3 of 12 in Chieti
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Semivicoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Semivicoli

Address: San Nicola, 24, 66010 Chieti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Chieti > Chieti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Chieti
Price Range: $133 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Semivicoli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Semivicoli's castle with its 11 rooms and charming suites now ready to welcome our guest providing the highest quality levels a wonderful setting for your holiday or honeymoon all the rooms have a fireplace and are equipped with tv, minibar free, wireless, heating, hair dryer, air conditioner the superior suite has an attached sitting room and kitchenette it is equipped with a jacuzzi king size and offer an amazing 360° overview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Castello di Semivicoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Semivicoli Italy/Chieti, Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing