We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Lanterna Hotel”
Review of Hotel La Lanterna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Lanterna
Canterbury
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Lanterna Hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just returned from a ski holiday during February half term in Chiesa. We stayed at La Lanterna hotel. The food was absolutely amazing, we have a very picky child when it comes to food, yet she ate everything for the whole week and enjoyed it. The food was also plentiful and everyone in the restaurant was offered a second or third helping of the starters and the main at each meal time! The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and they made all the guests feel at home and extremely welcome. There is a ski/boot store at the hotel plus a bar and a snug with a TV and games. The hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have stayed @ La Lanterna many times over the last 15 years. We have always been made very
welcome by the family who run the hotel, nothing is too much trouble.
The food is always good and plentiful with good local wines.
We always look forward to our next visit, which cannot come soon enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Lanterna at least 10 times over the years, always in the February school holidays along with many other return guests and although we have not visited for a few years, we still long to return. Gianfranco and Marisa and their family are really lovely hosts and cannot do enough for you. We totally agree with the other reviews, the food is to die for, authentic Lombardy cuisine and the best we have had in any restaurant/hotel anywhere. You will find a friendly welccome every time you go to Chiesa, we loved it and we still do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casablanca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed here with my daughters soccer team and had a terrific experience! Food was absolutely delicious, views amazing...can't say enough, wish we were still there.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkbocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2009

we went there for the first time as part of a group who have gone there for many years. we had a great time, the staff were great, they accommodated all of our requests even the karaoke night. there was plenty to eat, the prices were good and we will go again next year.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury England
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Hotel La Lanterna, Chiesa Italy
Date February 2008
Reviewer Colin Hampson
We have being going back to Chiesa and the hotel each year for over ten years either just after the Christmas period or in February for the skiing.
Gianfranco and his family have always made us very welcome and the room rates and bar tarrif very reasonable.
The recommendation cannot come any higher than the amount of people who return each year to the Hotel despite it not being in any uk package tour companies itinary.
Do not be put off by the limited number of ski runs on the slopes; each run is different with a different view. Being at 2000m with plenty of snow cannons in recent years we have not had a problem with snow. Advanced skiers may find it limiting but it is ideal for beginners and those who like to take in the scenery at the same time.
Will be back again next year

  • Liked — Friendly staff and price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed there for a futbol(soccer) tournament with 16 year old girls and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The food was amazing, the town was great (lots of walking up hills). The rooms where a good size and the view was amazing. Would definitely recommend it to all.

  • Liked — The view was amazing and the staff was great
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katievic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiesa In Valmalenco
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tremoggia
Hotel Tremoggia
#1 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roseg
Hotel Roseg
#4 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
75 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Gembro
Hotel Gembro
#3 of 9 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
La Brace Hotel Ristorante
0.0 mi away
Residence Pizzo Scalino
Residence Pizzo Scalino
#4 of 6 in Chiesa In Valmalenco
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Biancospino
Hotel Biancospino
#1 of 2 in Lanzada
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Lanterna

Property: Hotel La Lanterna
Address: Via Bernina 88, 23023, Chiesa In Valmalenco, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Chiesa In Valmalenco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Chiesa In Valmalenco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Lanterna 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing