We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Hotel in Chiavari”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Rosa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel in Chiavari”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed here for one night in September, 2009. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was ok in that it was fairly simple but clean and more than fine for the one night. Our room and some of the hotel's open spaces felt a little dated but others could argue that it had charm. We didn't eat here so can't judge that but we did have breakfast which was "ok".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    133
    51
    10
    1
See reviews for
79
125
8
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, Herts, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

I have just returned from a one week stay with my wife and three children (1, 11 and 15). The age spread and the need to be within school holiday time posed a problem. We plumped for Chiavari as my wife and I had been before. It is a small/medium coastal town a little to the east of portofino and just before the Cinque Terre. And therein lies its charm as it has such 'tourist trap' neighbours, Chiavari can remain 'Italan' and low profile.

So what does this mean?, well for starters a lovely old town that holds daily markets ranging from antiques to food to straight old only fools and horses type carry-on. The restaurants are always within budget and serve fresh, local food. The people are very kid friendly and if you make the effort with speaking italian - always accommodating.

We stayed at the Monte Rosa based on the reviews on this site.

Don't stay here if you want a pool. Don't stay if you want lots of modern furniture. Don't stay if you want air conditioning!.

Do stay if you want a warm welcome. Do stay if you want good honest local food. Do stay if you want to see the real Italy.

The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, organising food for our one year old to sorting out loungers at the local beach to dropping us off wherever it is (local) we wanted to go. There are biked available for working your way around the old town thrown in also.

Olga on reception is a rare find, super helpful and always a smile.

If you want some real italy and are considering Chiavari there is no alternative.

Got to go

D

  • Liked — The authentic Italian feel
  • Disliked — Get a pool!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Blow-Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

We recently spent 2 nights in Chiavari at the Monte Rosa. We saw the hotel on several of the booking sites, but showed full. I sent an email to the hotel from their web site - and was able to book directly - at 30Euro less.
The hotel is on a fantastic small street, close to everything. It is a short walk to the beach, just around the corner from an open air market, numerous very nice restaurants, and several medevial churches - an excellent location to explore this town.
The hotel itself is a 3 star hotel. The room is adequate, fairly large by European standards, recently renevated, very clean, with a good size bathroom, but the furnishings are rather stark. No air conditioning, but hte windows open & the fan worked (once we found the switch...) and kept the room very comfortable. The bed was VERY firm, as were the pillows. There is parking in an underground garage - and they were vey attentive. (Cost ~10Euro/day).
The staff was very helpful. They spoke excellent English, helped us plan walks around town & to a Rappel, Santa magharita, & Portofino. The breakfast buffet (included) was good.
Overall, I would go back... good value for a beach resort town - and the city is beautiful...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

I stayed in "Monterosa" hotel for two nights in June.
The personnel was very kind and ready to give an help kindly and professionally.

Our room was dirty (hair in the bed and in the toilet). Fortunately they gave us suddenly another room.

The structure is a little old but in a very quite place.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeterMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

My husband and I spent one night at the Hotel Monterosa in late May 2007. It is a quiet hotel located off the charming walking/shopping street in Chiavari which has a fine medieval center, beautiful art nouveau buildings and magnificent 17C baroque cathedral (don’t miss the interior).

Although the hotel appeared to be more of a business than a tourist hotel, it was newly renovated and nicely decorated with hand painted murals on the walls of the hallways. Our room was clean and comfortable, but rather small and lacked air conditioning, although a ceiling fan kept it cool.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an excellent buffet. We ate a delicious Ligurian dinner at the tiny family run restaurant, Vino e Cucina, a few blocks away.

  • Liked — Newly renovated
  • Disliked — Small room lacking air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

The Hotel Monte Rosa is an absolute gem in the wonderful city of Chiavari, near Portofino. Situated by the best shopping and open air morning market, you can walk to the gorgeous promenade on the ocean. This is the best kept secret in Liguria and the city has incredible restaurants and a heavenly gelateria called DeFilla that cannot be missed. The train station is a short walk and convenient for visiting other towns on the coast. The service at the Monte Rosa is first class, led by the delightful and helpful Olga at the front desk. The front desk staff speaks perfect English and is always available to help make your stay memorable. Olga helped us map out or stops to Rome, and suggested a beautiful town to stop along the way. To us, Chiavari is a real Italian town, not overly touristy. We look forward to returning to this special place.

  • Liked — Location..walk to shopping, beach, train station, restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hightechlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2005

Our stay at the Hotel Monte Rosa was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The staff is wonderful and so helpful by helping us to plan a day trip to a small village in the area. The rooms were exceptionally clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent. We would love to return for another visit.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Boredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiavari
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#2 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ferrari
Hotel Ferrari
#4 of 8 in Chiavari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella del Mare
Hotel Stella del Mare
#3 of 8 in Chiavari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#6 of 8 in Chiavari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ancora Riviera
Hotel Ancora Riviera
#3 of 17 in Lavagna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Rosa

Property: Hotel Monte Rosa
Address: Via Monsignore Luigi Marinetti 6, 16043 Chiavari, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Chiavari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chiavari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Rosa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monte Rosa is the "Secret Dream", the fruit of love and constant dedication of two young newlyweds, grandparents of the present proprietors, who in 1909, with passion and sacrifice gave life to this establishment, transforming it over the years from a small restaurant to a 4 star hotel with 62 rooms, Restaurant, Banqueting Hall and Swimming Pool. It's located in the beautiful historical porticoed town centre of Chiavari, immersed in the heart of this vibrant small medieval city, and only a few minutes from the promenade. Chiavari moreover is situated at the centre of an area rich in natural beauty: from the uncontaminated Cinque Terre to Portofino, from Genoa, with its aquarium and beautiful historical centre, to Camogli and Sestri Levante. The hotel is the destination chosen by those who have a passion for trekking, tourism, cycling and mountain biking, those who want to forget the car and choose either the train or the boat as an alternative mode transport or those who simply want to relax and be pampered away from the hustle and bustle of stressful living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monte Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Rosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing